Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Monday, 4 January 2021

Master Mariner Huntley Osborne Giffin—Perished at Sea January 19, 1942

Huntley Osborne Giffin was born at Isaac’s Harbour, Guysborough County, on January 9, 1890. Huntley’s parents, Theodore Harding Giffin and Martha Elizabeth Lintlop, were also Isaac’s Harbour natives. Theodore was the son of Edward and Rachel (Langley) Giffin, and a Master Mariner by occupation. His wife Martha was the daughter of William and Isabel Lintlop. The couple raised three sons and six daughters in their home, Huntley being both the middle child and middle son.

Master Mariner Huntley Osborne Giffin
According to the 1911 Canadian census, Huntley was still residing in the Isaac’s Harbour family home while earning a living as a “seaman.” His older brother, Edward Stanley—more than 10 years his senior—also lived there, having achieved the rating of “Master Mariner.” Sadly, the family suffered a major loss before year’s end, when Martha passed away at Halifax on August 29, the result of acute nephritis and a cerebral haemorrhage. She was laid to rest in Camp Hill Cemetery, Halifax.

Around the time of his wife’s passing, Theodore moved the family household to Halifax, where he found employment as an insurance agent, presumably in the shipping business. A second tragedy struck the family on December 6, 1917, when Huntley’s older sister, Mabel Lulu, her husband Edward Hugh Beiswanger, and their two young sons, Kenneth and Everett Allister, perished in the Halifax explosion. Officials recovered their remains from the family home at 47 Union St. and Theodore accompanied the bodies to Goldboro, where they were laid to rest in Bayview Cemetery.

On December 31, 1919, Theodore married Violet Richardson, a native of Halifax, and spent the remainder of his life in the city. Following his death in 1932, he was laid to rest in Camp Hill Cemetery, alongside his first wife Martha.

Meanwhile, Huntley pursued a career at sea. Unfortunately, details on his early years are sparse. Later documents indicate that he went to sea between the ages of 15 and 20. His 1914 marriage license identifies his occupation as “Marine Officer,” indicating that he had begun his progression through the merchant marine ranks. By the late 1920s, he had achieved the rating of Master Mariner, a position that required at least a decade of service at sea and entitled the bearer to command vessels of any tonnage.

While employed full-time in the merchant marine, Huntley also enlisted as a Lieutenant with the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve on December 5, 1924, and was promoted to Lieutenant-Commander on January 9, 1935. By the time Canada’s entry into the Second World War, however, he had been placed on the Royal Canadian Naval Reserve’s list of “Retired Officers.”

The years after 1911 also saw several important milestones in Huntley’s personal life. On June 3, 1914, he married Winifred May Davidson, daughter of Robert G. and Marcella “Mercy” (Langley) Davidson, Isaac’s Harbour, in a ceremony held at Stellarton, NS. The newlyweds established residence at Halifax, where Winifred gave birth to a daughter, Winifred Marcella “Winnie,” on December 20, 1920. Tragically, Winifred fell ill several months after her daughter’s birth and passed away from “acute septicaemia” on February 23, 1921.
 
Two-month-old Winnie was taken in by her maternal grandparents and spent her formative years in their New Glasgow home. She later married J. Gerald Belliveau and resided at Halifax, where she and her husband raised their only child, a son. Winifred Marcella (Giffin) Belliveau passed away at Halifax on October 26, 2011.

By the early 1930s, Huntley had ascended to the position of Master of Canadian National Steamship Lines’ SS Prince Henry. Launched in 1930, the vessel initially serviced ports along the coastline of British Columbia and the United States Northwest. The Great Depression’s impact on commerce resulted in its transfer to the eastern seaboard, where the vessel commenced regular service on the company’s Montreal - Bermuda route.

A December 1931 Port of Boston crew list identifies Huntley as the Master of the Prince Henry. According to the document, he had been “engaged” at Vancouver, BC, on November 12, 1931, suggesting that he commanded the ship as it made its way from the Pacific to the Atlantic Ocean. Huntley made regular stops at Boston aboard the SS Prince Henry over the ensuing six months.

Huntley’s name next appears on a Port of Boston crew list dated February 3, 1936, where he is listed as the Master of RMS Lady Drake. He had joined the vessel’s crew at Halifax in late December 1935, and stopped at Boston on the vessel’s return journey from Bermuda and the British West Indies. A second visit to the port took place late the following month, on the way to Bermuda. The documents are the first record of Huntley’s service aboard one of the five vessels that constituted Canadian National’s famous “Lady Boat” fleet.

Master Mariner Huntley Osborne Giffin

Canadian National Steamship Lines first established a Canada - West Indies freight and passenger service in 1927. Prior to that time, a number of privately owned vessels had serviced the route, with little commercial success. Canadian National assumed responsibility for the route, with the support of the Canadian government and several of its West Indies destinations. Five new vessels were constructed at Cammell Laird Shipyards, Birkenhead, United Kingdom, to conduct the service. The ships were named after the wives of British Admirals with historical connections to the region.

Three vessels—Lady Nelson, Lady Hawkins and Lady Drake—serviced an eastern route, sailing from Halifax to Bermuda, St. Kitts, Nevis, Antigua, Montserrat, Dominica, Barbados, St. Vincent, Grenada, Trinidad and British Guyana. The ships then made return calls at each location, stopping at St. John, NB, before returning to Halifax. The two other ships—Lady Somers and Lady Rodney—travelled a western route, providing monthly summer service from Montreal through the Strait of Canso to Halifax, then on to Bermuda, Nassau, and Kingston, Jamaica. During the winter months, the ships departed from Halifax, due to the winter closure of the St. Lawrence River.

The Lady Nelson—the first vessel to enter service—commenced its maiden voyage on December 14, 1928. All five vessels were in operation by April 1929 and continued to sail throughout the following decade, despite the Great Depression’s impact on human and commercial traffic. By the spring of 1939, Huntley was the Master of the Lake Hawkins, and made regular stops at the Port of Boston throughout the year on his way to and from the West Indies.

Lady Hawkins dockside at Halifax, NS

Following the outbreak of the Second World War in September 1939, Canadian National made several modifications to its Bermuda and West Indies voyages. The entire fleet was repainted grey from mast top to waterline. The colour provided camouflage at dusk and dawn, the times when U-boat attacks were most likely. Vessels also followed a timed zigzag pattern, changing course every five to 10 minutes, and enforced a strict blackout order after sunset.

In October 1940, the Canadian government requisitioned the Lady Somers into naval service, making it the first Canadian merchant vessel to enter wartime operations. The ship was converted into an armed cruiser at a Bermuda dock, at which time Canada chartered the vessel to the British government. The Lady Somers entered active service as a patrol vessel enforcing a naval blockade of Nazi-occupied Europe in the late spring of 1941, only to be sunk by an Italian submarine in the Bay of Biscay on July 16, 1941.

By late 1941, German U-boats had made their way into the waters along the North America’s Atlantic coast in large numbers, making the Lady Boat fleet’s West Indies voyages increasingly perilous. In response, the Hawkins, Drake and Nelson were outfitted with one four-inch, low angle gun, and assigned a Navy gun layer responsible for the weapon’s deployment. While crew members were also trained in its operation, in reality the stern-mounted gun offered little protection from submarine attack.

Naval gun mounted on Lady Drake's stern

On January 16, 1942, the Lady Hawkins departed Halifax for Boston, once again under the command of Master Huntley Giffin. The ship left secretly in the middle of the night, and cautiously made its way southward. At Boston—its first port of call—a large group of American workers came aboard, destined for Trinidad, where they were to assist with the construction of a new American naval base. Several American army and British naval personnel also boarded, bound for special training at the same location.

The Lady Hawkins then proceeded along the Massachusetts coastline, through the Cape Cod canal and into Vineyard Sound, then southward to New York Harbour. A US destroyer escorted the vessel out of Brooklyn Navy Yard, turning back at the Statue of Liberty as the Lady Hawkins entered open waters. The ship remained as close to American shore as possible until it reached Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, at which point it veered southeastward toward Bermuda, its next port of call.

The Lady Hawkins was now on its own as it crossed the open sea. Its radio operators received numerous calls from other unescorted ships, warning of torpedo attacks close to the Lady Hawkins’ planned route. In response, Master Giffin ordered the vessel to follow a zigzag course at a speed of 15 knots.

The following day—Sunday, January 18, 1942—was calm and sunny, prompting some crew members and passengers to sit on the deck and enjoy the fine weather. As night fell, Chief Officer Percy Kelly ensured that no lights were visible and checked that the ship’s lifeboats were ready for deployment if required. At 10:30 pm, Kelly reported to Master Giffin that all was well and headed to bed.

Less than three hours later, Kelly was awakened by an explosion, followed shortly afterward by a second blast. A later news report described the incident in detail:

“The Lady Hawkins…was steaming through a smooth sea on a perfect, moonless night when at 1:05 am January 19 a torpedo exploded against the hull at a point almost under the bridge. So violent was the concussion that the ship heeled over, sweeping virtually every one who was on deck into the sea…. The mainmast toppled and fell with a crash, adding to the confusion and excitement. Within a minute or two a second torpedo crashed into the engine room…. Every light on the ship was put out of commission by the torpedoing, but the passengers and crew groped their way along slanting companionways and decks to the [life]boats. Several boats were launched in the 25 minutes before the Lady Hawkins plunged to the bottom.”

A surviving crew member, ship’s carpenter William Burton of Hamilton, ON, later recalled seeing the submarine in the waters near the vessel immediately prior to the incident:

“It was a great big one and it came up about 100 yards from us and just lay off there with two white lights on us…. A torpedo hit Hold No. 2 about one minute later. The second torpedo hit Hold No. 3 and probably reached the Engine Room bulkhead. I think all of the 2-to-4 watch was drowned. The same torpedo blew up the No. 6 Lifeboat. I believe that three boats got away but we know nothing of the others.”

A later assessment indicated that three lifeboats were damaged or destroyed in the initial blast, while a fourth broke apart as it was lowered into the water. Most crew members and passengers were forced to jump into the surrounding waters as the vessel listed and began to sink. Chief Officer Kelly was among them, looking around in the darkness and fortunately spotting a lifeboat. He managed to swim to it and clung to the grab lines until he was pulled on board.

In total, 76 crew members and passengers were either in the lifeboat as it was lowered, or able to clamber aboard in the minutes following the attack. The surrounding waters were filled with others calling out for help. Kelly immediately took charge of the lifeboat, ordering crew members to deploy the oars and row it clear of the Lady Hawkins. The vessel disappeared beneath the surface less than 30 minutes after the torpedoes struck its hull.

Once clear of the site, Kelly took stock of their situation. Unknown to the group at the time, they were the only survivors, 76 souls crowded into a lifeboat designed to accommodate 63 people. A wireless operator had rushed to the radio room prior to abandoning ship, only to discover that all of the portable sets were damaged and thus unable to issue an SOS. The survivors’ only hope was to deploy the lifeboat’s sail and make their way toward the American coast.

Many of the survivors were wet and cold, having jumped into the water to escape the ship. About one-third lacked adequate clothing, as they were asleep at the time of the incident. The overcrowded boat was riding low in the water, the waves splashing over its sides. Crew immediately began the incessant process of bailing out the bottom of the boat. Chief Officer Kelly ordered the survivors to sit as low as possible, while he assessed the situation. As it was dark, the boat sat idle until daylight, when Kelly ordered the crew to rig the lifeboat’s sail and begin the arduous journey westward, in hopes of encountering a passing ship.

The survivors were approximately 200 kilometres from shore, a distance that would require approximately two weeks to traverse. According to later reports, “some other lifeboats were sighted in the first day or two after the Lady Hawkins went down,… but gradually they separated” and were never seen again. Whether they carried any survivors is not known. There was a limited supply of water and biscuits on board, along with a small quantity of canned milk. Chief Officer Kelly established a strict rationing protocol, providing survivors with a small portion of biscuit and water at the beginning and end of the day, and a small amount of milk at noon.

On the first day, darkness engulfed the boat at 6:00 pm and lasted until 7:00 am the following morning. While the survivors made steady progress westward, their greatest fear was that their supplies would soon expire. On the fifth day at sea, crew members spotted the Puerto Rican merchant ship Coamo. Shining their flashlights on the lifeboat’s sail, they managed to make their presence known. Hesitant at first, the Coamo’s captain fearing they were being lured into a U-boat trap, the vessel’s crew soon recognized the mystery object and came to the rescue.

During the four days the lifeboat spent at sea, five survivors died of shock or exposure and were buried at sea. The Coamo’s crew hauled the remaining 71 survivors aboard and transported them to safety at San Juan Puerto Rico, on January 28. Master Huntley Osborne Giffin, 86 crew members, one gunner and 163 passengers perished at sea in the sinking of the Lady Hawkins.

Before war’s end, two more Lady Boats fell victim to German U-boats. The Lady Nelson was sunk at a St. Lucia Harbour dock on March 22, 1942, with the loss of 17 lives. The vessel was later salvaged and converted into Canada’s first Second World War hospital ship. The Lady Drake was torpedoed 90 miles south of Bermuda on May 8, 1942, with the loss of 12 lives.

The Lady Rodney, the only “Lady Boat” not to fall victim to a German U-boat during the war’s early years, was requisitioned by the Canadian government in June 1942 and entered service as a troop transport, conveying military personnel from Montreal, Quebec and Halifax to Newfoundland and Labrador. The vessel always sailed with a corvette escort or as part of a convoy. While the ship had a few “close calls” with German U-boats, it served without incident for the duration of the war. After the conclusion of hostilities, the Nelson joined the Rodney in bringing war brides and their children from Britain to Canada before returning to their West Indies routes.

Master Mariner Giffin's name on the Halifax Memorial

Master Huntley Osborne Giffin and the 86 crew members who perished aboard the Lady Hawkins are commemorated on the Halifax Memorial, erected in Point Pleasant Park, Halifax, in memory of the 3,257 Canadian merchant marine and military personnel lost at sea during the two world wars. Huntley’s second wife Mathilda spent the remainder of her life in Montreal, where she passed away on January 18, 1972, one day shy of the 30th anniversary of her husband’s tragic death.

Wednesday, 2 December 2020

Rifleman Henry Andrew “Harry” Surette—Killed in Action December 25, 1941

Henry Andrew “Harry” Surette was born at Round Hill, Annapolis County, on June 2, 1908. Harry’s father Nicholas was a native of Surette’s Island, Yarmouth County, while his mother, Mary J. Saulnier, was born at nearby Tusket. At the time the 1911 Canadian census, the family was residing in the town of Yarmouth, where Harry is listed as the second youngest of the couple’s six sons. Two more boys joined the household prior to the outbreak of the First World War.

Rifleman Henry Andrew "Harry" Surette

 The Surette family experienced a crisis in 1915, although its exact nature remains a mystery. While the 1921 census lists Nicholas as a widower, there is no formal record of Mary’s passing and subsequent military documents indicate that she was alive as late as 1917. Whatever the circumstances, in 1915 Harry was placed in the Home for Delinquent and Neglected Children, Halifax, where superintendent Ernest Blois became his legal guardian. Before year’s end, Harry was adopted by John Samuel and Nancy Jane (Keizer) Taylor, Port Bickerton.

During the First World War, several members of Harry’s family enlisted for military service. Louis John, his oldest brother, joined the 25th Battalion at Halifax on November 12, 1914. He crossed the English Channel to France with the unit in September 1915 and served in Belgium’s Ypres Salient for almost one year. Louis saw combat at the Somme in September and October 1916, and was wounded above his right eye at Vimy Ridge, France, on April 9, 1917. He was invalided to England shortly afterward, and subsequent health issues prevented his return to the front. According to his service file, Louis married while overseas and returned to Canada in the spring of 1919.

Peter Kenneth, the second-oldest of the Surette boys, enlisted with a local militia unit and officially became a part of the Canadian Expeditionary Force as an “active militiaman on duty” on June 22, 1918. He formally attested with the Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery at Halifax on November 8, 1918, having logged almost two years of service with the unit. Discharged at Halifax on June 16, 1919, Peter returned to the Yarmouth area, where he married Mary Jane Surette on June 16, 1919.

Douglas Charles, the fourth of Nicholas and Mary’s sons, attested with the 256th Battalion (Canadian Railway Troops) at Yarmouth on January 22, 1917. At the time, the 17-year-old exaggerated his age by two years. When officials discovered the deception, Douglas was discharged at Yarmouth on March 31, 1917.

Perhaps the most surprising enlistment was Harry’s father Nicholas, who joined the 256th Battalion three days after his son Douglas’s enlistment. Although 44 years old at the time, Nicholas managed to pass the required medical examination and departed for overseas on March 28, 1917. Following the unit’s arrival in the United Kingdom, it was re-designated the 10th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops (10th CRT). While Nicholas was treated for arteriosclerosis in England, he was deemed fit for service at the front and proceeded to France with 10th CRT in mid-June 1917.

Before month’s end, the unit made its way to Koksijde, Belgium, where it commenced work on rail lines in the area, amidst intermittent German artillery fire. On July 20, 1917, Nicholas suffered a fractured rib and a shrapnel wound to his back when an artillery shell exploded near his work party. The injuries proved to be minor and he returned to duty in mid-August.

Nicholas served at the front without incident for the remainder of the war and returned to England with 10th CRT on February 1, 1919. He departed for Canada in mid-April and was discharged at Halifax on May 1, 1919. The 1921 Canadian census lists Nicholas as a “widower,” residing at Yarmouth with his son Douglas and 22-year-old Susie Hayes, a “female servant.” No other individuals are present in the household. Douglas later died of pulmonary tuberculosis at Wedgeport, Yarmouth County, on December 6, 1936, while Nicholas passed away from the same illness at Yarmouth on February 14, 1939.

According to the 1921 Canadian census, 14-year-old Harry Surette was residing at Port Bickerton, the “adopted son” of John and Nancy Taylor. He remained in the community into adulthood, earning a living in the local mines and inshore fishery. On June 20, 1934, Harry married Dola Marie Josey, a resident of Spry Harbour, Halifax County, in a ceremony held at Holy Trinity Church, Tangier.

Harry and Dola established residence at Goldboro, where three boys soon joined the family—Victor Austen (DOB June 10, 1935), Henry Frederick “Fred” (DOB June 30,1936) and Percy Samuel (DOB May 24, 1938). Nine months after the outbreak of the Second World War in Europe, Harry enlisted with the West Nova Scotia Regiment at Camp Aldershot, near Kentville, NS, on June 10, 1940. He listed his occupation as “gold miner” and identified his wife Dola as his next of kin.

Within one week of his attestation, Harry was transferred to the Infantry Training Centre, Camp Aldershot, where he was assigned to Company “A.” While he received brief furloughs in July and August, there is no indication that he travelled to Goldboro. Subsequent events, however, suggest that there may have been ample reason to do so.

On September 1, Dola passed away at St. Martha’s Hospital, Antigonish, the cause of death identified as pulmonary tuberculosis. According to her death certificate, Dola had been under medical care since early May 1940. On the day of her passing, Harry received a six-day furlough that was later extended by four days. Presumably, the leave allowed him to travel home, make final arrangements for his late wife, and arrange care for his three sons. Dola was laid to rest in Hillside Cemetery, Port Bickerton, and Harry returned to Camp Aldershot, where he resumed military training.

Harry and his three sons (date and location unknown)

On November 28, 1940, Harry was transferred to the Royal Rifles of Canada (RRC), which was training at Sussex Camp, NB, at the time. Upon assuming in camp, he was assigned to the unit’s “D” Company. Harry’s new unit was one of Canada’s oldest, tracing its roots to 1862, when the 8th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles was established at Quebec, QC. As a “rifle regiment,” its soldiers received the rank of “Rifleman” upon enlistment. Officially re-named the Royal Rifles of Canada on March 29, 1920, the regiment was called out for service on August 26, 1939, and placed on active duty at the first of the following month.

Shortly after Harry’s transfer, the RRC departed for Botwood, a small town in north-central Newfoundland. While the island was still a British colony at the time of the war’s outbreak, Canada assumed responsibility for its defence in September 1939. In subsequent months, Canadian infantry, artillery, air force and navy personnel were deployed at strategic locations across the island and along the Labrador coast.

Botwood is located on the shores of Bay of Exploits, a deep natural harbour, and an airfield had been constructed near the town in 1920. In the late 1930s, Pan American and the British Overseas Airways Corporation (BOAC) made the airfield a regular stop on their trans-Atlantic flights. Following the outbreak of war, Botwood became an RCAF patrol and bombing seaplane base that housed two squadrons of PBY Canso flying boats, equipped with torpedoes and depth charges.

Canadian infantry units established a garrison in the town, constructing a barracks, water system and full-scale military hospital. The soldiers were deployed at two gun batteries that defended the harbour’s entrance, and manned several anti-aircraft batteries located throughout the community. Approximately 10,000 Canadian and British personnel were stationed at Botwood during the war.

While serving at Botwood, Harry met Marie Esther Noseworthy, a native of St. Johns, NL. With the permission of his commanding officers, Harry and Esther were married on June 4, 1941. Their time together, however, was short-lived. On August 18, the Royal Rifles departed Newfoundland and returned to Canada. Sometime afterward, Esther made her way to Port Bickerton, where she assumed responsibility for Harry’s three boys.

Harry and his second wife Esther

Meanwhile, the Royal Rifles prepared for a second garrison assignment in a distant part of the British Empire—Hong Kong. On October 27, 1941, having made its way by train to the west coast of Canada, the unit departed for the British territory aboard the Awatea, accompanied by the Winnipeg Grenadiers. Altogether, approximately 2,000 soldiers were crammed aboard the vessel. HMCS Prince Rupert escorted the Canadian battalions to their destination.

Harry (centre) and two unknown companions

As Hong Kong was considered a safe deployment, the two infantry units had received only minimal training. At that time, Allied forces did not anticipate any Japanese aggression in the Pacific region. Rather, military authorities expected the soldiers to carry out routine garrison duties in the British territory and assessed the likelihood of combat as extremely low.

The Awatea arrived in Hong Kong on November 16, at which time the two Canadian units co-ordinated with a third British battalion in establishing defensive positions throughout the territory. The Royal Rifles and Grenadiers were assigned to Hong Kong island, where they focused on defending its southern coastline from invasion. The soldiers engaged in intensive training and familiarized themselves with the local geography, information that later proved valuable.

Altogether, a total force of 14,000 military personnel—Canadian, British, Hong Kong and Singapore—faced the challenge of defending the territory, should it come under attack. Indian and Chinese soldiers comprised approximately 35 % of the entire force. The territory, however, lacked significant aerial and naval defences, relying almost entirely on the infantry units for its security.

The situation in Hong Kong changed dramatically in the early morning hours of December 7, 1941, when Japanese forces launched a surprise attack on the American military base at Pearl Harbour, Hawaii. That same day, as Japan entered the war on the side of Axis Powers Germany and Italy, its forces commenced a series of attacks on British and American territories and military bases in the Asia-Pacific region.

Hong Kong was high on the list of Japanese targets. As soon as news of the Pearl Harbour attack reached the British territory, the entire garrison was ordered to assume battle stations. The two Canadian units immediately left their barracks on Hong Kong island and were in position along its southern shores before day’s end.

The anticipated attack commenced at 8:00 am December 8, when Japanese forces damaged or destroyed the few British Royal Air Force planes on the ground at Kai Tak Airport. Later that morning, Japanese ground forces moved across the northern border on the Hong Kong mainland and engaged British forces. By the following day, the invaders had captured a strategic area of high ground along the northwest section of the territory’s mainland border.

In an attempt to strengthen the British line of defence, military commanders dispatched the Winnipeg Grenadiers’ “D” Company to the mainland on December 10. The following day, the unit made contact with Japanese forces, thus becoming the first Canadian soldiers to engage in combat during the Second World War. However, their efforts alongside their British comrades proved futile and all mainland forces retreated to Hong Kong island on December 12.

The following day, the commander of the invading Japanese forces issued the first of several surrender demands. British military and civilian leaders refused and set about organizing their Hong Kong island forces into two groups. The Royal Rifles of Canada were assigned to the East Brigade, while the Winnipeg unit was attached to the West Brigade. Both units retained responsibility for defending the island’s southern approaches from an amphibious attack.

Shortly afterward, Japanese units launched a heavy artillery and aerial bombardment of the island, systematically destroying defensive structures along its northern shore. While British commanders rejected a second surrender demand on December 17, their circumstances were becoming increasingly grim. It was obvious that there was no hope of relief from outside forces, placing the defenders in an impossible situation.

At midnight December 18, Japanese forces launched four simultaneous amphibious assaults along a three-kilometre stretch of the island’s northern beaches. Once ashore, the invading units fanned out to the east and west. The Royal Rifles’ “C” Company, in reserve at a location close to the landing, counter-attacked during the early morning hours, inflicting heavy casualties on the attackers while suffering heavy losses.

Other RRC platoons entered combat on the western side of Mount Parker, located in the island’s northeastern corner. Their ranks suffered considerable losses from Japanese forces that had established well-entrenched positions along the hilly terrain. By December 20, the invaders reached Repulse Bay on the southern coast, effectively cutting the island in two.

Exhausted, sleep-deprived and lacking sufficient supplies, the remaining Royal Rifles soldiers nevertheless attempted to push northward over rugged terrain, in an effort to dislodge the enemy and establish contact with their West Brigade counterparts. Despite the riflemen’s determined effort, Japanese forces held their ground.

During the evening hours of December 23, the remaining East Brigade forces received orders to retreat to a barracks located on Stanley Peninsula, the island’s southernmost tip, for a rest. Their time out of the line was brief, as Japanese forces continued to press the attack. The remaining Royal Rifles personnel returned to combat the following day, as the situation grew increasingly dim.

By midnight December 24, the Royal Rifles found themselves in a precarious situation, pushed back to the tip of Stanley Peninsula. Despite their hopeless situation, the men fought on along a narrow line near Stanley Village, stretching from the western to the eastern side of the peninsula. With no hope of victory, the unit prepared to resist to the last man.

On the morning of December 25, “D” Company received orders to launch an attack on a concentration of Japanese forces at nearby Stanley Village. The operation commenced at noon, on a hot, sunny day. Despite constant enemy fire, the soldiers managed to reach the designated assembly point and prepared to attack.

Japanese forces held the higher ground, forcing the attacking forces to quickly close on the enemy or suffer heavy casualties. The riflemen fixed their bayonets and charged, yelling loudly as they approached the enemy line. Taken by surprise, Japanese forces were overrun and the Canadians managed to enter several of the houses on the high ground. Fierce fighting soon developed as Japanese reinforcements arrived in the area.

With the support of artillery fire, enemy forces launched a counter-attack on “D” Company’s position. In danger of being cut off from retreat, officers ordered the men to withdraw in small parties. Within minutes, Japanese forces turned the tide of battle, forcing the remaining riflemen to withdraw toward the barracks. In total, “D” Company recorded 16 fatalities and 78 wounded during the attack, which lasted into the early evening hours. A total of 44 able-bodied men and walking wounded made their way back to Stanley Barracks.

Unbeknownst to the Royal Rifles, the fighting had officially ended almost four hours previously. Heavy losses on the western flank, where Japanese units had steadily advanced southward, forced the British Commander, Major-General Christopher Maltby, and the British Governor of Hong Kong, Sir Christopher Young, to officially surrender to Japanese forces at 3:15 December 25, 1941.

The severely outnumbered British and Canadian forces had endured almost 18 days of fighting before succumbing to the invaders, a tribute to their determination, despite their lack of combat training, experience and reinforcements. In the aftermath of the surrender, the Royal Rifles organized working parties to bury their dead comrades. The two Canadian infantry units lost a total of 290 men during the Battle of Hong Kong, while another 493 were wounded. In Harry’s 17th Platoon, 17 men were killed in action, while another 19 were wounded.

The survivors—almost 1,700 soldiers from the Royal Rifles and Winnipeg Grenadiers’ ranks—became prisoners of war, enduring almost four years of interment in Japanese camps under horrendous conditions. More than 200 died in captivity before war’s end. Today, with the benefit of hindsight, we know the names of those who lost their lives in combat during the Battle of Hong Kong and afterward in Japanese POW camps. As news of the territory’s capture spread around the world, however, none of the Canadian soldiers’ relatives knew their loved ones’ fate.

For months, there was no word from Canadian authorities. On December 15, 1942, Harry’s second wife Esther wrote to National Defence Headquarters from Port Bickerton, requesting “any information regarding my husband since the fall of Hong Kong…. It will be one year [on] the 25th of this month since I heard from my husband[,] so you see 12 months have been trying ones for myself and my three little boys.”

On January 8, 1943, the Department of National Defence sent Esther an “Official Canadian Army Overseas Casualty Notification,” informing her that her husband, Rifleman Henry Andrew Surette, RRC, had been killed in action at Hong Kong “between 8th and 25th Dec. 1941.” Five days later, Esther responded that the news of her husband’s death “has left me and his three little children broken-hearted…. I would like to know the date on which my dear husband was killed[,]… if he died instantly or from wounds[,] and how he was buried.”

Unfortunately, Canadian authorities were unable to provide further details on Harry’s death until several months after fighting in the Pacific ceased. On November 21, 1945, an official letter informed Esther that her husband was killed at Hong Kong on December 25, 1941, meaning that his death took place during “D” Company’s heroic final attack on Stanley Village.

Initially laid to rest in Stanley Hospital Cemetery, Harry’s remains were re-interred in Sai Wan Military Cemetery, Hong Kong, on June 16, 1947. Three months later, the Department of National Defence informed Esther of her husband’s reburial. The following spring, authorities forwarded a photograph of Harry’s grave and marker. On April 16, 1948, Esther wrote to the Department of Veterans Affairs, expressing her thanks “for the photographs of my late husband’s grave…. [L]ooking at them brings things fresh in my mind, because he was a dear husband to me and his three dear boys and we miss him terribly…. [W]e will always remember him while ever we live.”

Harry's wooden grave marker

Victor and Fred spent their formative years in the Sherbrooke area of Guysborough County. Victor later relocated to the Halifax area. He never married and passed away at Dykeland Lodge Retirement Home, Windsor, NS, on January 26, 2017. Victor was laid to rest in Hillside Cemetery, Port Bickerton.

Fred moved to Pictou County, where he married Margaret Ross, whose family had immigrated to Nova Scotia from Scotland. The couple settled in Trenton, where they raised a family of two boys. Fred worked for Maritime Tel and Tel for more than three decades and spent his retirement years in the drapery business. He passed away at Aberdeen Hospital, New Glasgow, on December 12, 2018, and was laid to rest in Heatherdale Memorial Gardens, Westville.

Percy remained at Pouch Cove, NL, throughout his entire life. He married and raised a family of five children—two daughters and three sons, one of whom was named after his paternal grandfather Harry. He eventually established contact with his Nova Scotia siblings, particularly Fred, who made regular trips to the island for visits. Percy passed away at the Health Sciences Centre, St. John’s, NL, on May 4, 2014.

Special thanks to Margaret (Mrs. Fred) Surette, Trenton, NS, who provided the photographs displayed in this post and verified the information on the Surette family.

Wednesday, 11 November 2020

Sergeant (Observer) James Edward "Jimmy" Jamieson—Died in the Line of Duty July 1, 1941

 James Edward “Jimmy” Jamieson was born at Canso, Guysborough County, on August 17, 1913. Jimmy’s mother, Helen “Nellie,” was the daughter of James and Annie “Nan” (Mitchell) Reid, Lossiemouth, Scotland, where Nellie was born. According to Canadian census records, she immigrated to Canada in 1905. Jimmy’s father, Roy Edward, was the son of Edward and Lucinda (Myers) Jamieson, Canso.

Sgt. (Observer) James Edward "Jimmy" Jamieson
Roy and Nellie married at Port Mulgrave, NS, on October 13, 1905. While the couple’s marriage license lists Roy’s occupation as “carpenter,” the Jamieson family had a lengthy history of involvement in the Canso fishery. Roy’s grandfather John was a fisherman, while his father Edward was a master mariner and “wharfinger” (commercial wharf operator).

According to the 1911 Canadian census, Roy and Nellie were residing at Canso, where Roy was employed at a “fish store” and “storage” facility, presumably operated by his father. Sometime after Jimmy’s 1913 birth, the family relocated to North Rustico, PEI, where Roy continued to work in the fish buying and processing business. The couple’s second son, Joseph Thomas “Joe,” was born there on September 8, 1916. Shortly afterward, the family returned to Canso, where a daughter, Jean Lucinda, joined the family on March 19, 1918.

According to available documents, Nellie and her two young sons made at least one trans-Atlantic voyage to Scotland, returning to Canada in June 1920. A later note in Jimmy’s service file indicated that he attended one year of public school at Lossiemouth. The trans-Atlantic passenger records suggest it may have been the 1919-20 school year, not 1920-21 as stated in military documents.

Nellie and her three children were residing at Port Hawkesbury at the time of the 1921 Canadian census, although Roy is not listed among the household’s members. According to his service record, Jimmy attended elementary school at Canso from 1921 to 1923, and completed his public and high school education—Grades 10 and 11—at Port Hawkesbury from 1923 to 1931. During his adolescent years, Jimmy played baseball and was captain of the “1st team” at Hawkesbury High. Family descendants recall that he was an excellent swimmer.

After his Grade 11 year, Jimmy worked as a foreman for his father’s Canso-based company, R. E. Jamieson Ltd. Family sources state that, among other ventures, the company pioneered in the export of live lobster to the United States, packing the crustaceans in barrels between layers of seaweed.

After four years’ employment in his home community, Jimmy decided it was time to broaden his horizons. In the spring of 1935, Jimmy departed for central Canada. According to a reference letter from Canso Mayor Leslie R. Croucher, he planned “to visit Toronto and other places on a vacation.” In the event that Jimmy should seek employment, Mayor Croucher assured prospective employers: “He is a young man of the highest character,… fully qualified to fill any position for which he may apply.”

A second reference from Rev. George E. Levy, United Baptist Church Minister, Canso, described Jimmy as “a young man of good character, temperate habits, worthwhile ideals and a good student. Furthermore, I should say that [there is] no need [to] have any fears in employing Mr. Jamieson in a position [where] honesty, industry and trustworthiness are expected.”

The letters of recommendation earned Jimmy a position as a salesman with White & Co. Wholesalers Ltd., Toronto. During his first four years in the city, he boarded at the Toronto YMCA, 40 College St. When he departed the facility for other accommodations in the spring of 1939, the YMCA’s Residence Secretary described Jimmy’s time there in glowing terms:

“It gives me great pleasure to state that at all times his conduct has been that of a gentleman. He can be trusted absolutely to meet his financial obligations, and he is the type of man whose presence is highly desirable in any Association building or elsewhere.”

Shortly after Canada’s September 10, 1939 declaration of war on Germany, Jimmy applied for a commission as a “provisional pilot officer” with the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). On October 9, he completed the required medical examination at Toronto. The resulting report included only common childhood ailments—measles and whooping cough—on an otherwise clear bill of health. Jimmy listed hockey and cricket as his sporting activities, while boating was a recreational hobby.

The RCAF application process stretched into the following year. On April 29, 1940, Jimmy completed an interview and personality assessment at the RCAF Toronto Recruiting Centre. At the time, he stood five feet six inches and weighed 145 pounds (66 kilograms). Documents related to the interview describe his appearance as “healthy, short, refined [and] clean,” and his dress as “conservative, clean and neat, smart.”

Jimmy’s personality assessment describes his demeanour as “very polite and gentlemanly,” his intellect as “quick, organized [and] accurate,” and his personality as “confident, mature [and] pleasant.” Overall, Jimmy received an “average” rating, his examiners recommending him for training as an “observer.” Considering his educational background, this was his likely RCAF path, as standards for the “pilot” training stream favoured at least partial completion of a post-secondary program.

On June 6, 1940, Jimmy formally attested for “air crew std. [standard]” service with the RCAF at Toronto. Before month’s end, he commenced “Course No. 3” at No. 1 Initial Training School (ITS), Toronto. Comments on his “Air Observer Pupil Report” describe Jimmy in these words: “Good reliable type. Will make a good observer.”

Jimmy completed his initial training on July 20 and enjoyed eight day’s leave before departing for No. 2 Air Observers’ School, Edmonton, AB. From August 5 to October 26, he completed Course No. 4, a program that consisted of two components. One portion involved daytime and night-time flights as 1st and 2nd Navigator in a Lockheed Anson. Altogether, Jimmy logged 52.5 hours of flight time, eight of which took place at night. His flight assessment report described him as “good material” for the role.

The second component—ground training—involved navigational and flight-related courses, covering such topics as compasses and instruments, signals, maps and charts, meteorology, photography and reconnaissance. Jimmy scored 758 out of a possible 1,000 points and placed 16th in a class of 40 air observer cadets. Comments on his final report described him as a “conscientious, careful worker.” While his Air Navigation rating was “average,” Jimmy earned an “above average” rating as an Air Observer.

On October 27, Jimmy reported to No. 2 Bombing and Gunnery School, Mossbank, SK, where he commenced Armament Training Course No. 1. Over the ensuing six weeks, he logged 8.45 hours of bombing drill and 2.30 hours of gunnery training, all daytime flights. Jimmy achieved a score of 204 out of 300 points in bombing, and 137 out of 200 point in gunnery. Overall, he earned a percentage mark of 77 and ranked fourth in a class of 36 cadets.

An evaluation report made several comments on Jimmy’s performance. With regard to bombing, instructors stated: “Will be a very good bomb-aimer. Some inexperienced pilots. Bombs could not be plotted on B 6 exercises because of snow.” In reference to his air gunner training, “inexperienced pilots” meant that there was “insufficient time to complete [the] exercise.” Overall, Jimmy received a very positive assessment: “Thorough, studious[,] and at the same time, a very good, soldierly airman. Should be considered for commission[,] pending results of A. N. S. [Air Navigation School]. Air work above average.”

On December 9, 1940, Jimmy received his Air Observer’s Badge and was promoted to the rank of T[emporary]/Sergeant. That same day, he commenced Course No. 4 at Air Navigation School (ANS), Rivers, MB. Jimmy logged 32.50 hours in the air as 1st and 2nd Navigator, under both daytime and night-time conditions. His performance warranted a score of 185 out of 250 points and another positive assessment: “Keen worker, will improve with experience.”

In the ground training component, Jimmy completed a course in Astronomical Navigation (Plotting and Training), achieving 170 out of 250 points. While his rating was “average” and he placed 28th in a class of 36, written comments were once again impressive: “Hard worker, has grasped the subject well…. Resourceful. Should make a dependable air observer.”

While stationed at Rivers, MB, Jimmy completed his RCAF Officers’ Application, listing a total of 73 hours and 35 minutes of flying time. His final ANS assessment, dated January 13, 1941, stated that Jimmy had passed with an overall mark of 73.6 percent and a rank of 15 in a class of 36 cadets. Assessed as “above average,” his superiors recommended Jimmy for a Commissioned Rank, with the supporting comment: “Quiet and gentlemanly. Should make a good officer.”

On January 26, Jimmy was assigned to No. 3 Manning Depot, RCAF Station, Rockcliffe, located along the banks of the Ottawa River, east of the national capitol. Upon arrival, he was placed in the Embarkation Pool, which contained RCAF personnel destined for overseas service. On February 8, Jimmy was officially “taken on strength” by Eastern Air Command Embarkation. One week later, he departed for the United Kingdom, and was officially “taken on strength” overseas on March 2.

Jimmy was assigned to No. 15 Operational Training Unit (OTU) on March 15, 1941. As the name suggests, OTUs represented the final stage of training before assignment to an active squadron. All air crew trainees completed three months with an OTU before being assigned to an operational squadron. While OTUs training bomber crews occasionally participated in actual missions, their personnel usually performed more routine operations, such as coastal surveillance and home defence. Each OTU focused on training crews for a specific branch of the RAF—bomber, fighter or transport.

No. 15 OTU was formed in August 1940 and was based at Harwell, Berkshire, west of London, at the time of Jimmy’s arrival. The unit was part of No. 6 Group, RAF Bomber Command, and prepared its personnel for service with night bomber crews aboard Vickers Wellington aircraft. The planes flown by OTU personnel had been discarded by operational squadrons and thus were prone to various malfunctions, often resulting in precarious experiences for their crews. In fact, RAF OTUs lost more than 1,600 aircraft during the war, many due to accidental crashes over land and sea. The majority of the lost planes were Wellingtons.

On June 23, 1941, Jimmy was assigned to Middle East Command (MEC), which oversaw RAF aircraft operations in North Africa and the Mediterranean Sea. The major Allied focus at the time was the island of Malta, located south of Sicily. Controlled by the United Kingdom at the outbreak of the war, the small island’s strategic location was crucial to the Allies’ ability to attack Italian supply lines from the air and sea. The opening of a new front in North Africa in June 1940 enhanced Malta’s importance and resulted in a sustained German and Italian campaign to bomb the island into submission. The air assault continued until late 1942, when significant German losses in North Africa finally relieved the pressure.

One of the tasks assigned to RAF crews during the “siege of Malta” involved “ferrying” the required aircraft from the United Kingdom to the island. One week after Jimmy was assigned to MEC, he found himself fulfilling air observer duties aboard a Lockheed Hudson destined for Malta. The twin-engine, American-built plane was designed for light bomber, coastal reconnaissance, transport and maritime patrol duties.

On July 1, 1941, Jimmy’s aircraft was officially reported missing. Family sources state that crew members in an accompanying aircraft later reported observing it explode in mid-air, possibly the result of hostile fire. The aircraft and its crew were never located. A note in Jimmy’s service record states that he was presumed dead, due to a “flying accident [while on] ferrying duty, overseas, continent of Europe.”

Sergeant (Observer) James Edward Jamieson’s name is inscribed on the Malta Memorial, erected at Floriana, Malta, in 1954. The monument is dedicated to the memory of 2,298 Commonwealth air personnel who perished in the Mediterranean Theatre during the Second World War and who have no known final resting place.

Malta Memorial, Floriana, Malta
Jimmy’s younger brother Joe also enlisted with the Canadian armed forces during the war. He was later selected for the First Special Service Force (FSSF), a joint Canadian - American unit organized in 1942 that came to be known as the “Devil’s Brigade.” FSSF personnel served in the Aleutian Islands, Italy and France before the unit was disbanded in December 1944, its members dispersed to other existing units. During his time with the unit, Joe rose to the rank of Sergeant and was awarded the Bronze Star Medal in February 1945, “in recognition of distinguished services in the cause of the Allies.”

Sgt. Joseph Thomas "Joe" Jamieson

After the war’s conclusion, Joe returned to Guysborough County, where he married Sarah “Sadie” Feltmate, took up residence at Guysborough and raised a family of three sons. Joe Jamieson passed away at Guysborough Memorial Hospital on March 18, 2007, and was laid to rest in Fourth Hill Cemetery, Canso.

Photographs of Jimmy and Joe Jamieson courtesy of Paul Long, Guysborough, NS.