Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Monday, 4 October 2021

Merchant Seaman Roderick James Gillis—Perished at Sea November 7, 1942

 Roderick James “Rod” Gillis was born at Mulgrave, Guysborough County, on August 7, 1913, the sixth of Neil McLean and Mary Elizabeth “Eliza” (Hayes) Gillis’s 10 children. Neil, the son of Roderick and Catherine (McLean) Gillis, was born at McPherson’s Ferry, Richmond County, on December 5, 1873. The small community was the Cape Breton terminus for one of three ferries crossing the Strait of Canso by mid-19th century, with its mainland terminus located at Steep Creek, near Mulgrave. Each operation consisted of a small barge capable of transporting a horse and wagon across the Strait.

Brothers Rod (left) and Alec Gillis
 
Rod’s mother, Eliza Hayes, was born at Lower River Inhabitants, Richmond County, on September 24, 1883, the daughter of John William and Catherine Anne (Cloake) Hayes. Neil and Eliza were married at St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic Church, Port Hawkesbury, on October 27, 1901.

The couple’s four oldest children were born in Richmond County. Around 1911, the family relocated to Mulgrave, where Neil initially worked as a deck hand on the SS Scotia, the first steam-powered train ferry to cross the Strait and the mainstay of the operation during the last century’s early years.  

By 1921, Neil had advanced to the position of CNR ferry operations manager at Mulgrave. According to that year’s Canadian census, the Gillis household consisted of five girls—Annie, Ida, Tena, Stella and Margaret—and two boys—Rod and his younger brother, William Alexander “Alec,” known to friends as “Sam.” Three years later, the couple's sixth daughter, Nora Bernadette, joined the family. Sadly, two of Neil and Eliza’s children—a son, Harold George, and a daughter, Hilda Catherine—had passed away in infancy in 1919 and 1920 respectively.

Rod attended school in the local community and according to a later news item was active in the local sports scene. Family sources recall that he initially worked on the railway, a major employer in the local community. However, born and raised in a small port with strong connections to the ocean, Rod eventually settled on a career at sea.

Mulgrave Hockey Club—Alec (far left) and Rod (goalie)

Following the outbreak of the Second World War, Rod enlisted with the Canadian merchant marine. A report at the time of his passing claimed that he “had sailed on a number of ships[,]… visited many distant parts of the world and had been torpedoed a number of times” during his first three years at sea aboard merchant vessels. Unfortunately, no documentation is available to support these statements.

The war overseas also had an impact on Rod’s younger brother Alec, who enlisted with the Royal Canadian Artillery and served at Halifax for a period of time. By late 1942, Alec had relocated to the United Kingdom, where he continued to train in preparation for an eventual Allied invasion of the European continent.

By the autumn of 1942, Rod was serving as a “fireman and trimmer” aboard SS Roxby, a 4,252-ton steam merchant vessel built at Stockton-on-Tees, UK, in 1923. Around that time, an undated article from an unidentified Nova Scotian newspaper reported “the safe arrival at a Scottish port after an uneventful voyage of Rod Gillis, son of Mr. and Mrs. Neil Gillis, Mulgrave….” The item went on to note that Rod’s brother Alec was also “in the old country, and Rod hopes to meet up with him, when and if opportunity offers.” In fact, the two brothers did meet and posed for a photograph before Rod set out on the perilous voyage back to Canada.

The Roxby departed the British Isles as part of Convoy ON-142 (outward, northbound) in early November 1942. As convoys proceeded across the North Atlantic, it was not uncommon for older, slower vessels to lag behind the main group. These “stragglers” were prime targets for German U-boats. In the case of Convoy ON-142, two vessels—SS Glenlea and SS Roxby—were unable to keep pace with their counterparts as the convoy proceeded westward.

At 14.46 hours November 7, 1942, the German U-boat U566 surfaced and struck the Glenlea with a torpedo north of the Azores. The vessel sank and its crew abandoned ship. The U-boat surfaced, took its Master prisoner, and transported him to Brest, France, where he became a prisoner of war. While three crewmen and one gunner were rescued by a Norwegian merchant vessel three weeks later, 39 crew members and five gunners from the Glenlea perished during or after the vessel’s sinking.

The U-boat “wolf pack” continued to pursue the second straggler. At 15.40 hours November 7, 1942, U-613 surfaced and fired two torpedoes at the Roxby. One of the missiles struck the target, approximately 670 miles north of the Azores. Within 30 minutes, the vessel slipped beneath the water. Its Master, George Robison, 10 crew members and two gunners were rescued by the merchant vessel Irish Beach after two weeks at sea and safely transported to St. John’s, NL. The remaining members of the Roxby’s crew were not so fortunate. A total of 28 men and five gunners perished in the sinking, while the ship’s first radio officer died of exposure in a lifeboat and was buried at sea on November 11, 1942.

Roderick James Gillis was among the 28 crew members lost at sea. According to a family source, the ship’s Master later wrote to his parents, stating that Rod was asleep below deck when the torpedo struck. A contemporary news report indicated that the majority of fatalities occurred “when an explosion shook [the crew’s] quarters.” The article went on to state that Rod had perished on his 12th voyage across the Atlantic since joining the merchant marine.

Rod’s name is inscribed on the Halifax Memorial, Point Pleasant Park, Halifax, erected in memory of the 3,267 Canadian and Newfoundland sailors and soldiers who perished at sea during the First and Second World Wars and have no final resting place. Several years prior to the war, Rod had a son, Francis Jerome Gillis MacIsaac, the result of a non-marital relationship. Throughout his lifetime, locals referred to Francis as “Roxy,” an altered reference to the vessel on which his father had perished.

Rod’s brother Alec served as an artillery gunner with 1 Canadian Corps during the Italian campaign, from the initial invasion of Sicily in July 1943 to late February 1945. At that time, the Corps commenced “Operation Goldflake,” a clandestine operation that transferred all units to the Western Front for the final stages of the Netherlands liberation and Allied push into western Germany.

Alec's souvenir of the Netherlands liberation

After the conclusion of hostilities in Europe, Alec safely returned home to Mulgrave. He took up residence with his mother, as his father Neil had passed away from carcinoma of the bladder on April 13, 1943, five months after Rod’s tragic death. Alec worked as a stevedore on the local docks and never married. He passed away at 49 years of age, the result of pancreatic cancer, on August 20, 1965. The disease was a common affliction among the Gillis clan, also claiming the life of Neil and Eliza’s oldest child, Annie Bell Aikins, on December 10, 1964. Eliza outlived her husband, two sons and daughter, passing away at Mulgrave on April 20, 1966.

Special thanks to Neila (Carter) MacDonald, Mulgrave, and Iain Murray Brown, Fredericton, NB, for contributing photographs and information about Rod, Alec and the Gillis family.

Monday, 6 September 2021

Leading Aircraftman Marshall Douglas Fleming—Accidentally Killed November 3, 1942

 Marshall Douglas Fleming was born at Wine Harbour, Guysborough County, on September 24, 1920, to David Charles and Eva May (Langille) Fleming. Douglas’s father David was born at Wine Harbour January 16, 1898, the son of Archibald J. “Archie” and Phoebe (Rood) Fleming. According to her marriage license, Eva was born at Port Hilford, the daughter of Zeba and Mary (McKenzie) Langille. 

LAC Marshall Douglas Fleming's headstone
 
David and Eva married at Port Hilford on December 10, 1918. Their first child—a daughter, Mabel Florence—was born the following year. Douglas was their second child and oldest son. At the time of the 1921 Canadian census, the Flemings were residing at Port Hilford with Eva’s parents, Zeba and Mary Langille. David’s occupation was listed as “lumberman in woods.”

Sometime after the 1921 census, David and Eva welcome a third child, Russell Charles. Around 1925, the family relocated to St. Catharines, ON, where David eventually secured employment as a machine operator with General Motors Canada, a position he held for 32 years. Douglas attended Robertson Public School, completing his “high school entrance” in 1935-36. He then commenced a “machine shop” program at St. Catharines Collegiate, but left to enter the work force after one year.

From 1937 to 1939, Douglas drove a truck for Ivan D. Buchanan, who operated a fruit-growing operation in the St. Catharines area. He then landed a job as an “operator” at Specks Service Station, a position more in keeping with his interest in auto mechanics. In 1940, he returned to his previous occupation, working as a truck driver with Standard Ice & Coal Co.

On July 29, 1941, Douglas applied for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force. He cited mechanics experience as a relevant skill and requested consideration for a “Ground Duties” position. He formally enlisted at Hamilton, ON, on August 18 and commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class.

The day following his enlistment, Douglas completed a “Driver (2) Std.” course. He then reported to No. 6 Standard Flying Training School (SFTS), Dunnville, ON, where he commenced training for ground crew duty. Located on the shores of the Grand River, a short distance inland from Port Maitland and Lake Erie, the community was also close to his home, only 50 kilometres from St. Catharines.

Promoted to the rank of Aircraftman 1st Class on November 18, 1941, Douglas completed his training  at Dunnville during the winter of 1941-42. He advanced to the rank of Leading Aircraftman (LAC) on February 18, 1942, and commenced regular grounds crew duty at the busy RCAF airfield.

No. 6 SFTS was one of 28 similar “standard flying” facilities established across Canada during the Second World War as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan (BCATP). The safe air space allowed personnel from Canada, New Zealand and Australia to develop the required skills before proceeding overseas for active service. The Dunnville facility was a “single engine” school that opened its doors on November 25, 1940, and operated for four years. A total of 2,436 British Commonwealth airmen trained at its airfield during that time.

As with most BCATP bases, Dunnville’s airfield and hangars were located in a rural area with a small population, close to rail and road services, with a small town nearby. Similar facilities were scattered across southern Ontario, providing ample opportunity for landing if a mechanical problem occurred or a novice pilot became lost. It also made for considerable air traffic at times.

A Standard Flying Training School represented an “intermediate” step in the training process, located between the Elementary Flying Training School (EFTS) that provided basic instruction and an Operational Training Unit (OTU) overseas that focused on advanced training in the aircraft in which personnel would actually serve. Cadets at an SFTS received instruction in a variety of advanced techniques—formation and low altitude flight, bombing and gunnery, night-time and instrument flying, and radio work. Classroom sessions focused on aircraft operation and maintenance.

Initially, recruits spent nine weeks at an SFTS. By 1943, instruction time had expanded to 16 weeks. At its peak of operation in 1943, the Dunnville facility hosted approximately 1,500 cadets, instructors and ground crew. Its air fleet consisted of 64 Harvard Mk II, 36 Harvard Mk. IIB, and eight Mk. II Anson aircraft, with an additional six Harvards in storage. A total of 47 lives were lost during its operations—25 trainees, 18 instructors and four other personnel.

Douglas commenced regular ground crew duties at Dunnville in mid-February 1942. With the exception of leaves in mid-March, early June and September, and one week’s sick leave in mid-April, he remained on duty into the autumn of the year. On October 27, his superiors completed documentation for a promotion to the rank of Acting Corporal, an action that indicated considerable satisfaction with his performance.

On the evening of November 3, 1942, Douglas was on duty as a “runner” on Runway No. 3, under the direction of Pilot Officer (PO) Richard B. Klintworth. During that time, pilot trainees completed “night circuits,” taking off and landing after flying a short designated route. To guide pilots onto the runways at night-time, a flare path consisting of electric lights was installed along each side of the landing strip.

As the exercise continued, PO Klintworth instructed Douglas to assist him in repairing a light on the flare path. The pair walked along the side of the runway as aircraft continued to take off and land. At 2130 hours [7:30 pm], a Harvard Wasp operated by Flight Instructor Pilot Officer J. B. Nall and pupil LAC N. J. MacLean was preparing for take-off when the aircraft swerved to the left. Its wing struck Douglas and PO Klintworth in the head and neck area, “causing death to both.”

Neither of the pilots were injured in the incident, nor were they held responsible for the mishap. A Court of Inquiry held at No. 6 SFTS the following day identified the cause as the “failure of PO Klintworth to stop all aircraft traffic on [the] runway whilst repairs were being made to the flare path.” The report recommended that, while any future repairs were underway, “landing permission is to be cancelled by the Control Officer, unless he is sure that all obstructions or aircraft on the ground are at least 100 yards clear of the landing runway, or have been clearly marked and are not such as to constitute a hazard to landing aircraft.”

Victoria Lawn Cemetery, St. Catharines, ON (CWGC photo)
 

LAC Marshall Douglas Fleming’s remains were transported to St. Catharines, where he was laid to rest in Victoria Lawn Cemetery. His parents spent their remaining days in the Ontario community. David retired from General Motors in 1966 and passed away at Hotel Dieu Hospital, St. Catharines, on April 2, 1977, after a three-week illness. Eva outlived her two remaining children, passing away at Hotel Dieu Hospital on April 29, 1997, in her 96th year. Both parents were laid to rest in Victoria Lawn Cemetery, near their beloved son.

Photograph of LAC Marshall Douglas Fleming's headstone courtesy of Jo-Ann Johnston Wilson, Welland, ON.

Monday, 2 August 2021

Pilot Officer Franklyn Richard Pye—Killed in action near Köln, Germany, August 28, 1942

 Franklyn Richard Samuel “Frank” Pye was born at Ecum Secum Bridge, Halifax County, on December 5, 1916, to Archibald Alexander and Margaret Jane Florence (Jewers) Pye. Both of Frank’s parents were Ecum Secum natives. Archibald was the son of Samuel Pye and Emily Pace, while Margaret was the daughter of Isaac and Sarah Jewers.

Pilot Officer Franklyn Richard Pye
 

Archibald and Margaret married at Ecum Secum on November 11, 1914. Sadly, their first child—a son, Archibald Isaac—died shortly after birth in September 1915. Frank was their oldest surviving child and was joined in subsequent years by two sisters—Patricia Emily (October 8, 1918) and Dorthy Pearl (c. 1922)—and one brother, Percy George (January 1921).

Frank attended Ecum Secum Bridge Public School from 1923 to 1933. Upon completing his Grade XI year, he found work cutting pulpwood with Scotia Lumber Co., Sherbrooke. He moved on to identical positions with D. J. Turner, Moose River, and William Lowe, Sheet Harbour, before landing a job as an “edgerman and general mill work[er]” with the Sheet Harbour Lumber Co. in 1936. Two years later, Frank went to work for Anson Lively at his Sheet Harbour sawmill.

In May 1940, Frank relocated to Truro, where he continued to work as an “edgerman” in a sawmill owned and operated by William Taylor. In mid-August 1940, he submitted an application to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) and continued to work at the mill until December, when he received word of his acceptance.

On December 16, 1940, Frank attested for service with the RCAF at Halifax, NS, and commenced his military training with the rank of Aircraftman Class 2. Two days later, he reported to No. 1 Military District, Toronto, ON. On January 8, 1941, he was temporarily assigned to CFB Picton, ON. At month’s end, Frank received a transfer to Camp Borden, where he completed basic training.

Frank’s aviation instruction commenced at No. 1 Initial Training School, Toronto, ON, on April 22. For a young man from a small, rural Nova Scotia community, he performed remarkably well in his classroom courses, achieving an overall grade of 88 % and placing first in a class of 10 observer trainees. Instructors quickly recognized his potential:

“Very quiet, cool, methodical airman who appears to be very mature and… steady… appears to be excellent observer type. Will apply himself and give his best at all times on any job. Steady, reliable airman who is very serious about his work.”

Upon completing the ITS program, Frank was promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman in the Aircrew Observer trade. Assigned to No. 1 Air Observers School, Malton, ON, he logged 70.05 hours aboard an Avro Anson aircraft. His performance continued to be impressive—Frank placed “1st out of 39 [trainees]. An excellent man in the air, keeps busy and rarely makes a mistake. Has almost perfect plotting technique and keeps a neat log.”

In his ground training, Frank continued to perform well, achieving an overall grade of 83.6 % and placing fifth in a class of 39 trainees. Instructors commented that he was a “very high calibre student, [the] result obtained being as much due to hard work as brilliance.” Described as “reliable and conscientious,” Frank achieved an “excellent” rating in both air observer and air navigator assessments.

On August 17, Frank reported to No. 1 Bombing & Gunnery School, Jarvis, ON, for the next phase of training. Over the next six weeks, he logged 35.15 hours air time in a Fairey Battle aircraft. His bomb aiming results were rated “above average,” while he received an “average” assessment for his air gunner performance. Frank achieved a grade of 77.8 % in his course work, placing 10th in a class of 40 trainees.

Instructors commented that, despite a limited educational background, “he has been near the top in all subjects. He is most reliable and may be counted upon to carry out an assignment to the letter.” Furthermore, for the first time since his enlistment, instructors noted Frank’s leadership potential: “Further association in the service will no doubt improve him as a leader[,] in which event he will become fine officer material.”

Having completed the requirements for Air Observer Special, Frank received his badge and was promoted to the rank of temporary Sergeant with pay on September 27. He then proceeded to No. 2 Air Navigation School, Pennfield Ridge, NB, for an “advanced observers’ training” course. Frank logged a total of 30.55 hours flying time as an air navigator and placed 11th in a class of 42 trainees in his course work. Described by his instructors as a “good man, neat and concise,” Frank received an “Above Average” rating as an air navigator. Other comments described him as a “keen[,] hard worker” with “above average ability.”

Frank finished his course work at Pennfield on October 27, placing 8th overall in his class, with a grade of 81 %. Promoted to the rank of Pilot Officer, he was recommended for a commissioned rank following completion of his combat service: “Good officer material, will be a good man in Aircrew.” Having completed his training, he received three weeks’ embarkation leave and likely returned home for a visit before returning to duty.

On November 21, Frank reported to No. 31 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Debert, NS. During his brief stay there, he completed an application for a commission with the RCAF. On December 8, Frank proceeded to No. 1 “Y” Depot, Halifax, and departed for the United Kingdom. Upon arriving overseas 10 days later, he report to No. 3 Personnel Recruitment Centre, Bournemouth, and awaited further orders.

Frank was initially assigned to No. 2 (Observers) Advanced Flying Unit (AFU), Millom, Cumbria, Scotland, for additional training. He remained there for almost three months before receiving a transfer to No. 25 Operational Training Unit (OTU) on March 17, 1942. OTUs were the final stage in aircrew members’ preparation, providing them with the first opportunity to train in the actual aircraft in which they would serve active combat missions.

Established at Finningley, UK, in March 1941, No. 25 OTU initially trained night bomber crews aboard Handley Page Hampden aircraft. In April 1942, the unit transitioned to training aboard Vickers Wellington aircraft, a twin-engine, long-range medium bomber, and actually carried out several operational raids before year’s end. Frank spent five months with the unit before being assigned to No. 142 Squadron, Royal Air Force (RAF), on August 21.

No. 142 Squadron traced its roots to the First World War. Formed at Ismailia, Egypt, in early 1918 as part of the Royal Flying Corps, its personnel operated a combination of reconnaissance and bomber aircraft. Following the formation of the Royal Air Force on April 1, 1918, the Squadron transitioned to RAF ranks, operating in Palestine and the Suez until it was disbanded on February 1, 1920.

Re-established at RAF Netheravon on June 1, 1934, the squadron initially operated Fairey Battle light bomber aircraft and was deployed to France following the outbreak of war on the continent in September 1939. During the German invasion of Belgium and France in May 1940, No. 142 provided support to the British Expeditionary Force, but suffered heavy losses.

Upon returning to Britain after the Dunkirk evacuation, the squadron was reorganized and began the process of converting to the Vickers Wellington heavy bomber in November 1940. Throughout the next two years, its personnel flew night bombing missions over Germany and occupied Western Europe from several locations in England. In early July 1942, the squadron relocated to Grimsby, where it remained throughout the summer and autumn months.

On August 20, No. 142 Squadron’s operational records book recorded the arrival of Pilot Officer Franklyn Richard Samuel Pye (Air Observer) from No. 25 OTU, in the company of his crew mates—Pilot Officer Alfred Henry Paget (pilot), Sgt. Eric Tupholme (Air Bomber), Sgt. James Bellinger (Wireless Operator/Air Gunner), and Sgt. F. C. Weighill (Air Gunner). At the time of the crew’s arrival, the squadron “was stood down from operations” for several days while its personnel participated in flying and gunnery training, along with “all types of training for new crews.” Simultaneously, ground crews “were busily engaged endeavouring to obtain 100 % serviceability” for the squadron’s aircraft.

Regular operations resumed on August 24, when 12 aircraft participated in a bombing attack on Frankfurt, Germany. One crew returned early “owing to technical trouble,” while the remaining 11 bombers successfully executed the mission and return safely to base. Over the following two days. the squadron “stood by for operations” that were cancelled for unspecified reasons, while normal flying training and local night flying took place.

On August 27, the squadron received orders to attack Kassel, Germany. A total of 15 aircraft participated in the operation, one of which returned early “owing to starboard engine trouble.” Among the 14 planes that continued to the target was Wellington Z-1338, logging its first mission with the squadron. Aboard the aircraft were Pilot A. H. Paget, bomber Eric Tupholme, wireless operator/air gunner James Bellinger, air observer Frank Pye and air gunner F. C. Weighill.

Records indicate that the night was clear, but there was a considerable amount of ground haze over the target. Air crew later reported “many scattered fires” as the area was “well blitzed.” One plane reported “being subjected to intense heavy flak,” while several suffered damage but managed to safely return home. A total of five bombers failed to return. Wellington Z-1338 was among the missing aircraft. The operations record book commented: “This was an unfortunate night, the Squadron losing more aircraft than ever before in one operation.”

On August 29, Wing Commander D. G. Simmons, RAF Station Grimsby, wrote to Frank’s mother Margaret:

“Please accept my deepest sympathies on the sad loss of your son on the night of 27th August. We heard no more news of him after he left this aerodrome, but the target which he was attacking makes it very probable that he is safe as a prisoner of war. If I hear any new[s] to this effect[,] I will of course communicate with you immediately. Your son is a great loss to the Squadron. His vigour and enthusiasm will be hard to replace.”

A subsequent letter to Margaret from Canadian military authorities, dated September 12, 1942, confirmed that “your son, Pilot Officer Franklyn Richard Pye, is missing as the result of air operations on the night of 27th/28th August, 1942. Your son was air-observer of a Wellington aircraft which set out to bomb a town in western Germany and was not heard from again.”

The Pye family received no further news on Frank’s fate for several months. Finally, on January 5, 1943, a telegram from military officials addressed to Mrs. Archibald Pye informed her that Pilot Officer Franklyn Richard Samuel Pye, “previously reported missing 27-8-42 after air operations (overseas), and subsequently reported missing believed killed, [is] now ‘presumed dead’ 28-8-42, for official purposes.” Six weeks later, authorities dispatched a Memorial Cross to Margaret, in memory of her deceased son.

In the months following the end of the war, RAF authorities meticulously pursued the fate of hundreds of air crew members lost over occupied Europe and Germany. Some were located among the prisoners of war held in German camps. One of Frank’s crew members, F. C. “Tiny” Weighill, a native of Davidson, SK, was released from captivity in the months following the war’s end. He had survived the crash that claimed the lives of his four crew mates near Cologne [Köln], Germany. Authorities later located their remains in South Cologne [Köln] Cemetery.

As the graves of RAF and Commonwealth airmen were spread across much of western Germany, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) decided to consolidate their remains into several final resting places. One of the locations chosen was Rheinberg, Germany, where the present-day Rheinberg War Cemetery contains the graves of 3,326 Commonwealth airmen who were initially interred in cemeteries spread over an area between Dortmund, Dusseldorf and Köln [Cologne].

In December 1947, Canadian military authorities informed Margaret that Frank’s grave had been located and his remains exhumed for final interment in Rheinberg War Cemetery. On January 6, 1948, Margaret responded to the news:

“It is with deep sorrow that I learned through your letter… about the exhumation of my son’s body and positive identification…. I always hoped that he may yet turn up alive and well, but alas, now I know that he is really gone, as so many of our boys have.”


Pilot Officer Franklyn Pye's headstone, Rheinberg War Cemetery

An April 22, 1948 CWGC Final Graves Report lists the four crew members of Wellington Z-1338 who were reinterred in adjacent graves at Rheinberg War Cemetery. Beside Pilot Officer Franklyn R. Pye’s final resting place are the graves of his three RAF crew mates—Pilot Officer A. H. Paget, Sergeant J. Bellinger and Sgt. E. Tupholme.

Franklyn’s younger brother, Percy George, was stationed at the Royal Canadian Air Force’s No. 8 Depot, Souris, MB, at the time of his death. Percy went on to serve with the RCAF in the United Kingdom. While overseas, he met Doris Wickren Renshaw, a native of North Shields, UK, on the doorstep of a local bakery. Doris had enlisted with the Royal Air Force and was a bomb trailer driver at a nearby RAF base, transporting munitions to bombers on the tarmac.

The couple were married in 1944 while overseas, and their first child, Franklyn Arthur, was born before war's end. Doris was pregnant with their second child—a son Allan—as she made her way to Canada by boat in 1946. Two daughters—Sylvia Belle Avis (1948) and Florence (1949)—joined the family after Percy and Doris settled in Ecum Secum.

After returning to civilian life, Percy initially worked in the woods. He was later employed at a Decca navigation site established in the community, part of an international communication system established after the Second World War. Percy passed away at Ecum Secum in 1986.