Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Wednesday, 6 April 2022

Corporal Howard Nightingale Strople—Died of Illness May 9, 1943

 Howard Nightingale Strople was born at North Intervale, Guysborough County, on July 4, 1887, to James Robert and Mary Eliza (Lipsett) Strople. James was the son of William and Hannah Strople, Intervale, while Mary Eliza was the daughter of John and Mary Lipsett, Clam Harbour. The couple married at Manchester, Guysborough County, on September 28, 1875, and raised a family of 14 children—nine sons and five daughters—in their North Intervale home.

Howard Nightingale Strople (c. 1900)
 

 At age 18, Howard left home for the United States, crossing the border at Rumford Falls, near Vanceboro, Maine, on August 5, 1905, on his way to Boston, Massachusetts. By 1910, he was working as an “electric lineman” while residing in a Mattapan boarding house. On April 15 of that year, Howard completed a “Declaration of Intention,” an official application for American citizenship.

On September 21, 1914, Howard married Laura E. Stanley, daughter of Henry Stanley and Emeline Adams, at Newburyport, MA. Laura, a Quebec native and “shoe worker,” was living in Reading, MA, at the time of the marriage. The couple established residence in Reading, where their first child—a daughter, Mabel Edith Strople—was born on June 23, 1916.

It appears that Howard’s occupation as a lineman occasionally took him far from home. In October 1916, for example, he crossed the American border at St. Albans, Vermont, on his way home from Biggar, Saskatchewan. The following year, available documents indicate that the Strople family returned to Canada and established residence in Montreal.

Howard and his younger brother Guy (c. 1914)

The family’s relocation may have been prompted by the United States’ April 6, 1917 declaration of war on Germany, which led to the introduction of a military draft. On June 14, 1917, Howard enlisted with the 2nd Reinforcing Company, 5th Royal Highlanders of Canada, at Montreal. He spent four months in uniform before he was discharged as “medically unfit” due to “flat feet” on October 19, 1917. A note in Howard’s service file provided further details:


“Left foot is quite flat. Arch is completely broken down. Man suffers pain in left leg. Right foot is partially flat and man suffers some pain in his right leg after marching. Man has had to be taken off P. T. [Physical Training] exercises on account of his feet being so painful.”

Several weeks before his discharge, Howard and Laura’s infant daughter Mabel Edith died at Montreal, QC, on October 2, 1917, and was laid to rest in Cimetière Mont Royal, Outremont, QC.

Two of Howard’s brothers also enlisted with the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War. An older sibling, Chester Alvin Strople (DOB December 28, 1885), also spent time in the United States prior to the war. Chester returned to Canada in October 1912, crossing the border from South Dakota to Fort Frances, Ontario. The brothers may have been in touch with one another after Howard’s enlistment, as Chester attested for service with the same unit—2nd Reinforcing Company, 5th Royal Highlanders of Canada—on August 6, 1917.

On October 3, 1917, Chester was transferred to the 1st Depot Battalion, 1st Quebec Regiment, one of numerous similar units established across the country following the introduction of conscription in Canada. A combination of age and health issues meant that Chester remained in Canada for the duration of his time in uniform.

Promoted to the rank of Corporal on July 22, 1918, he was diagnosed with a “hernia” on December 9, 1918, and discharged from military service nine days later. A note in his service file states that Chester suffered from a “reducible left hernia” prior to enlistment and there was “no aggravation due to service.”

On April 30, 1919, Chester married Elodia Sybil Stanley—possibly a relative of Howard’s wife Laura—at Montreal, QC. Chester was working as a shoemaker at the time of the ceremony. The couple settled at Mercier, QC, where Chester passed away in 1960.

Whitfield Raymond Strople, a younger brother of Howard and Chester, also enlisted during the First World War. Born on September 26, 1895, Whitfield left Nova Scotia in March 1915 for the United States, where he joined his oldest brother Ralph, who was residing at Cambridge, MA.

Whitfield was likely motivated to enlist by the military draft implemented in the United States. Many Canadians living there at the time preferred to serve with the Canadian Expeditionary Force and made their way back to Canada to enlist. While Whitfield completed a draft registration card at Cambridge, MA, shortly afterward he travelled by train to Fredericton, NB, where he attested with the 236th Battalion (New Brunswick Kilties) on July 3, 1917.

Whitfield’s age made overseas service much more likely than his older brothers. On October 30, 1917, he departed for the United Kingdom with the 236th and disembarked on November 19. When the 236th was dissolved in early 1918, Whitfield was transferred to the 1st Canadian Reserve Battalion, Seaford. One week later, he was assigned to the 72nd Battalion (Royal Highlanders of Canada), a unit that was recruited by the same Montreal regiment his older brothers had joined.

On the same day as his transfer, Whitfield crossed the English Channel to France. He joined the 72nd in the field on March 23, 1918. Exactly two months later, he was admitted to No. 13 Canadian Field Ambulance, having been exposed to poison gas from an artillery shell. On July 25, Whitfield was admitted to No. 14 General Hospital, Wimereux. Five days later, he was discharged to a Convalescent Depot, where he remained for a month.

Whitfield reported to the Canadian Infantry Base Depot on September 2, 1918, but did not return to the forward area until after the November 11, 1918 Armistice. On May 4, 1919, he crossed the English Channel to the United Kingdom and departed for Canada aboard SS Adriatic on July 8, 1919. One week later, Whitfield was discharged from military service at Halifax, NS.

While Whitfield appears to have returned home to North Intervale after his discharge—his British War and Victory medals were delivered to that address in March 1922—he eventually returned to the Boston area, where he worked as a “servant” in the household of Herbert Nelson, Sharon, MA. Other documents indicate that he spent time in Seattle, WA, as well.

Whitfield Strople passed away at Montreal, QC, on May 4, 1929. While genealogical sources claim that he died “from the effects of poison gas,” the information in his service file suggests that his exposure was mild. He spent only five days in hospital and no after-effects were detected in a medical examination prior to his discharge. There is no documentary evidence in his file to support a conclusion that his death was connected to his overseas service.

Some time after his military discharge, Howard and Laura Strople returned to the United States. The 1920 census for Manchester, New Hampshire, completed on January 5, 1920, lists Howard Strople, age 31, as a boarder in the household of Mary Adams, a 61-year-old nurse. Howard’s occupation is listed as “electrician at box factory.” Also in the home are his wife Laura, age 28, and  a daughter Doris Florence, age four months.

The family remained in the United States for a short period before returning to Guysborough County. At the time of the June 1, 1921 Canadian census, Howard, Laura and Doris were living with Howard’s parents, James and Mary. Some time afterward, the family travelled to Ontario, where Howard obtained employment as a lineman with the Toronto Hydro-Electric Company.

Howard (back) with children Bud (left), Gus, Phil & Doris (May 1931)

In the ensuing years, at least four sons—Philip (c. 1923), William Augusta "Gus" (c. 1929), John Allen (November 27, 1935) and Howard "Bud" (year of birth unknown)—joined the Strople family. Despite his age and family obligations, a year and a half after the outbreak of the Second World War, Howard decided to enlist with the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals (RCCS) at Toronto on April 30, 1941.

Considering his age—Howard was 54 years old at the time—overseas service was out of the question. However, his skills as a lineman proved useful to the RCCS’s home defense efforts. Two weeks after his enlistment, Howard was transferred to Fortress Signal Company, Atlantic Command, Halifax, where he completed a training program. On June 1, he was awarded trades pay as a “Lineman’s Helper, Group C.”

During the war, No. 6 Fortress Signal Company assisted with the defence of Halifax and its eastern approaches. One of several similar units established across the country, its personnel were responsible for erecting and maintaining communication systems—telephone and/or telegraph lines—required by units conducting home defence operations. The Atlantic Command focused on strategic locations along Canada’s east coast.

On September 1, 1942, Howard was transferred to No. 1 Company, Atlantic Canada Signals. Two months later, he was promoted to the rank of Lance Corporal and awarded trades pay for “B Lineman.” Howard remained with No. 1 Company throughout the winter and spring of 1941-42. On July 1, 1942, he was attached to the Headquarters Gaspé Defences for pay and assigned to AA [Anti-Aircraft] Battery, Burnside, Dartmouth, NS.

At the beginning of the war, Canada’s meagre anti-aircraft defences consisted of eight four-inch guns. Military authorities initially focused on key ports along the Atlantic coast—Halifax and Sydney, NS, and Saint John NB—distributing the limited resources available to these three locations as protection from a possible German naval attack.

Halifax was second only to Liverpool, England, in the volume of Allied supplies that passed through its port. The Bedford Basin provided an important convoy assembly area. The harbour also contained an Imperial Oil refinery, established in 1918, a large ammunition magazine, a naval dockyard and troop transport berth facilities.

The strategic value of these resources prompted military authorities to locate two anti-aircraft guns at York Redoubt to guard the harbour entrance. In late August 1939—only days prior to Canada’s official declaration of war on Nazi Germany—No. 4 AA Battery arrived at Halifax from Kingston, ON, with four three-inch anti-aircraft guns. Two were deployed at the Imperial oil facility, while the other two were deployed at Burnside to protect the magazine.

In early 1940, four modern 3.7-inch anti-aircraft guns arrived from Britain. Three were assigned to the Burnside battery, while a fourth was placed at Hartlen Point, across from Devil’s Island, for training purposes. Despite the increase in the number of guns, the Fortress Commander in charge of the area’s defences noted a significant shortage in personnel required to operate and maintain these facilities.

Arrangements were later made for the guns of British naval vessels docked in the harbour for refitting  and the AA armament of other naval units in port to be placed under the tactical control of the Fortress Commander. Telephone communications were established from the GOR [Gun Operational Room] at the Halifax Citadel to the various berths where naval vessels were docked, and all AA guns on board were manned for emergency use.

While this system was already in place at the time of Howard’s arrival in Halifax, communication lines between Fortress Command, the dockyards and AA batteries no doubt required regular maintenance and repair, a task that was assigned to Royal Canadian Corps of Signals personnel. During the time Howard spent in the Halifax area, he no doubt was part of these efforts.

On October 19, 1942, having spent almost 18 months in Halifax, Howard was attached “for all purpose” to Arvida Defences, Quebec. Located 240 kilometres north of Quebec City, near the banks of the Saguenay River between Chicoutimi and Jonquière, the “industrial city” of Arvida had been established in 1927 by the Aluminum Company of Canada (Alcoa) as the site for its first aluminum smelter.

An abundant supply of hydro-electricity from nearby power plants at Isle Maligne, Chute-à-Caron and Shipshaw provided the smelter with the resources required to process South American bauxite into aluminum. The plant’s location close to the Saguenay River, a tributary of the St. Lawrence, provided water access for importing the required raw materials and exporting finished products to market.

During the Second World War, the operation became the Western world’s largest aluminum production facility. Such a valuable resource was a tempting target during wartime. Military authorities feared possible sabotage of the local power grid, an aerial attack on the plant, or a submarine attack on the nearby Port Alfred facility.

In response, a detachment of the Chaudière Regiment was stationed in the area in June 1940 and assigned the task of defending the smelter, dams and power plants. When the unit headed overseas, a Company of the Veterans Home Guard took their place. Military authorities, however, were concerned with defending the location from possible sabotage attack.

In response, on June 11, 1941, four three-inch guns previously located in Halifax were re-assigned to the Arvida area. No. 14 AA Battery, which had provided the required manpower in Nova Scotia, accompanied them to their new home. One section of two guns protected the Isle Maligne power plant, while the other two were positioned west of the Arvida plant.

In January 1942, No. 17 AA Battery, a newly-formed French-speaking unit, assumed responsibility for the anti-aircraft guns in the Arvida area. Three months later, eight new 40 mm guns were deployed in the area, in addition to the four older weapons. The commencement of the “Battle of the St. Lawrence”—a German U-boat campaign that resulted in the loss of 23 vessels from May 1942 to November 1944—further heightened concerns of a possible attack on the facility.

One week after his October 19, 1942, transfer to Arvida Defences, Howard was granted a 14-day furlough and quite likely returned home to Toronto for a visit. During that time, he was promoted to the rank of Acting Corporal with pay on November 1. Three and a half weeks later, he was attached to No. 17 AA Battery, Isle Maligne.

Howard’s time in the Arvida area was brief. On December 4, 1942, he was admitted to St. Vallier Hospital, Chicoutimi, were he was diagnosed with stomach cancer. Medical staff soon determined that, due to his illness, he was “unable to meet the required military physical standards,” due to his illness. Discharged from hospital on December 21, he was granted a five-day special leave of absence on Boxing Day and once again likely returned home to Toronto.

On January 3, 1943, Howard proceeded to Quebec, where he was once again admitted to hospital. At month’s end, he was officially “struck off strength” by RCCS and assigned to No. 5 District Depot, Quebec. Howard was formally discharged from military service on March 17 and returned to his home at 553 Dufferin St., Toronto.

Cpl. Howard Strople's grave marker, Prospect Cemetery, Toronto, ON
 
Corporal Howard Nightingale Strople passed away at Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, ON, on May 9, 1943. He was interred in Prospect Cemetery, Toronto. A comment in his service file noted that his “death was due to service.” On October 22, 1946, military authorities dispatched Howard’s Canadian Volunteer Service Medal, War Medal 1939-45, and a Memorial Bar to his widow, who was residing at 765 Josephine St., Windsor, ON, at the time. Laura Esther (Stanley) Strople passed away at Windsor on October 15, 1972, and was laid to rest in Windsor Memorial Gardens Cemetery.
 
Thanks to Eric Strople, S. Woodslee, ON, for providing the portrait of Howard Nightingale Strople in his 20s; a photo of Howard and his brother Guy, taken sometime between 1913 and 1915; and the May 1931 picture of Howard with four of his five children.

Friday, 4 March 2022

Flight Sergeant William John Ross Davies—Killed in action over Europe March 5, 1943

William John Ross Davies was born in Baltimore, Maryland, on January 24, 1918. His father, James William, was a native of Saltsprings, Pictou County, the son of Duncan Cameron and Mary M. (MacLeod) Davies. His mother, Eva Muriel Williams, was born in the United States.

Flight Sergeant William John Ross Davies

The Davies family placed great importance on education. All three of Duncan and Mary Davies’ sons pursued post-secondary studies. John Angus Davies (1887-1964), the oldest, completed Grade XI studies at Pictou Academy. He enrolled in the Bachelor of Arts program at Dalhousie University in 1911 and went on to graduate with a degree in medicine.

On January 24, 1917, John Angus enlisted with the Canadian Army Medical Corps at Halifax, NS. Awarded the commissioned rank of Lieutenant, he departed for overseas in late March 1917. Shortly after arriving in the United Kingdom (UK), John Angus was posted to the Canadian Forestry Corps Base Depot, Sunningdale, where he served as a Medical Officer.

In January 1918, John Angus was promoted to the rank of Temporary Captain. Like many personnel stationed in the UK, he was eager to serve on the continent. In early September 1918, he proceeded to France and was posted to No. 8 Stationary Hospital (University of Saskatchewan), which was operating near Camiers at the time.

John Angus served on the continent for six months. Shortly after returning to the UK in mid-April 1919, he was hospitalized for treatment of kidney stones. He departed for Canada in June 1919 and briefly served at Camp Hill Hospital, Halifax, prior to his August 31, 1919 discharge. At that time, he gave his proposed residence as the Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal, QC.

John Angus later relocated to Windsor, Ontario. When his father Duncan fell ill with neuropathy, John Angus took him into his home, where Duncan spent his final months, passing away there on December 16, 1931. Duncan’s youngest son, Edward Ross, accompanied his remains to Salt Springs, where he was buried beside his wife Mary, who had predeceased him. At some point after his father’s death, John Angus moved to Hong Kong, where he passed away on April 14, 1964.

Edward Ross Davies (1893-1960) graduated from Pictou Academy in May 1914 and also enrolled at Dalhousie University. On October 5, 1916, he set aside his studies to enlist with the Canadian Signal Corps at Halifax, NS. Edward departed for overseas in the spring of 1917 and proceeded to France for service with the 3rd Canadian Divisional Signal Company in mid-July 1917. He served on the continent without incident for the remainder of the war and returned to Canada in March 1919.

Sapper Edward Ross Davies

Edward resumed his studies at Dalhousie University and graduated with a medical degree in 1924. He then returned to the Salt Springs area, where he planned to establish a medical practice. On an unknown date, Edward married Irene Jeanette MacLeod, daughter of John A. and Anne (MacDonald) MacLeod, Salt Springs. Before the end of the decade, the couple relocated to Londonderry, Colchester County, where Edward established a family practice.

On February 12, 1931, Edward crossed the American border at Niagara Falls, New York, destined for Indianola, Mississippi, where he completed a Public Health training course at Rockefeller Institute. He then obtained a public health position in West Virginia, where his wife Irene Jeanette joined him. The couple’s only child, Edward Ross Jr., was born there in 1934.

By 1940, the family was living in Ellicott City, Maryland, where Edward Sr. worked for the Howard County Health Office. Edward Jr. graduated with honours from Baltimore Polytechnic Institute in June 1952 and received a three-year Westinghouse scholarship to Johns Hopkins University, where he planned to study electrical engineering. Edward Ross Davies Sr. died at Baltimore in 1974. His remains were transported to Nova Scotia, where he was buried in Gladstone Cemetery, Four Mile Brook, Pictou County.

James William “Bill” Davies also attended Pictou Academy, completing his third year of studies—equivalent to Grade XI—in 1909 - 1910. His whereabouts for the following two academic years are unknown. However, Bill was accepted into the University of Maryland School of Dentistry for his third and final year of dental studies on September 27, 1912. Admission required successful completion of two previous years of study at a recognized dental school. Unfortunately, available documents do not provide a school name or location.

Dr. James William "Bill" Davies' Graduation Portrait

Bill graduated from the University of Maryland School of Dentistry at the end of the 1912 - 13 academic year and remained in Baltimore for several years. During his time there, he met Eva Muriel Williams. The couple married on April 5, 1915, and William John Ross—the couple’s only child—was born at Baltimore on January 24, 1918.

At some point after William Jr.’s birth, the family returned to Canada. An undated next of kin “change of address” entry in Captain John Angus Davies’ service file requests that military authorities “also notify J. W. Davies DSS, 362 Laurier Ave., W. Ottawa [Ontario],” in the event of an emergency. Based on available census documents, the family’s stay in Ottawa appears to have been brief.

At the time of the 1921 Canadian census, which took place on June 1, the Davies family was living at Clark’s Harbour, Cape Sable Island, NS, where Bill had opened a dentistry practice. Based on information in William Jr.’s service file, the family moved around the province several times over the ensuing two decades. William Jr. first attended Westville Common School in 1924 and moved on to Le Marchant St. School, Halifax, in 1926. By 1930, the family was residing in the Strait of Canso area, where William Jr. attended Mulgrave Common and High Schools. He finished his secondary education at Halifax County Academy, graduating in 1935.

After completing a Banking course at Shaw Business College, Halifax, William Jr. secured a ledger keeper position with the Royal Bank of Canada, Halifax. In 1939, he was transferred to the bank’s Guysborough branch. Before year’s end, he relocated to its Shubenacadie office, where he worked as a teller and accountant.

On May 24, 1941, William Jr. applied for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). By that time, his father and mother had established residence in Sherbrooke, Guysborough County, where Bill provided dental services to the local community. Two weeks later, William Jr. completed a preliminary interview, and was judged “suitable for pilot” and commissioned rank with the RCAF.

William Jr. formally attested with the RCAF at Halifax on June 12, 1941. After a two-week leave, he reported to No. 1 Military District, Toronto, ON. Upon completing basic training, he proceeded to No. 31 Radio School, Clinton, ON, on August 4. Established earlier that year to address a shortage of trained radar technicians, the facility was the only one of its kind in North America and a closely guarded secret.

After completing the radio school’s program, William Jr. was transferred to No. 3 Initial Training School (ITS), Sherbrooke, QC, on September 13 for the first stage of pilot training. Instructors were impressed by his “serious, dependable, responsible [and] capable” demeanour. A mid-October medical examination described William Jr. as an “alert, quick lad, definite in opinions.”

Promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on October 19, William Jr. remained at No. 1 ITS until November 7. He then proceeded to No. 17 Elementary Flight Training School, Stanley, NS. Located approximately 15 kilometres east of Windsor, the small facility had opened in March 1941 and was equipped with Fleet Finch and De Havilland Tiger Moth aircraft.

Over a two-week period, William logged approximately six hours of flying time aboard a Finch II aircraft. While instructors commented that he was “progressing favourably,” on November 22 William informed his superiors that “he did not like flying and asked [for his pilot training] to be discontinued.” A “training cessation report” in his service file states:

“This airman says he does not like being in control of aircraft but denies being nervous in the air. He is definite in his opinion that he would like to remain in aircrew. He does not appear emotionally unstable.”

William Jr. requested “that he be recommended [for service as] an Observer.” His supervisors agreed that he “has [the] ability, intelligence, and initiative required.” William Jr. was granted two weeks’ special leave while RCAF authorities decided his future.

On December 8, 1941, William Jr. was assigned to the Composite Training School, Trenton, ON, where he “re-mustered” as an Air Observer. Before month’s end, he commenced training at No. 7 Air Observer School (AOS), Portage La Prairie, MB. Over a period of three months, he logged almost 78 hours flying time as a navigator and nine hours’ flying time as a bomb aimer.

In late March 1942, William Jr. proceeded to No. 3 Bomber & Gunnery School, MacDonald, MB, where he spent more than 30 hours aboard a Fairey Battle aircraft. He achieved an overall grade of 71.1 % in his course work and earned an “average” rating in both bomber and gunner skills. A comment on his evaluation form described him as a “good average type.”

On May 9, 1942, William Jr. received his Air Observer’s Badge and was promoted to the rank of Temporary Sergeant. That same day, he was transferred to No. 1 Air Navigation School, Rivers, MB, for the final phase of his Canadian training. Over the ensuing four weeks, he logged 31 hours of flying time aboard an Anson aircraft. Instructors described him as a “studious” individual with a “serious[,] quiet nature” who “needs more experience” before commencing active service.

On June 9, William Jr. received the standard two-week pre-embarkation leave. In late June, he reported to No. 1 Y Depot, Halifax, and was transferred to the Royal Air Force Trainees Pool in mid-July. Shortly afterward, he proceeded overseas, where he re-mustered as “Navigator B.” On July 29, William Jr. reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth, where he waited for a posting to a training unit for the final phase of his combat preparation.

On August 7, 1942, William Jr. was assigned to No. 10 (Observers) Advanced Flying Unit, Dumfries, Scotland, for a three-week program or instruction. On September 1, he was assigned to No. 22 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Mountford Airfield, Wellesbourne, Warwick, England. OTUs provided personnel with the first opportunity to train on the aircraft in which they would conduct active missions. Flight crews were also assembled at this stage, providing members with an opportunity to form cohesive units.

During the next two months, William logged over 40 hours of daytime flying and 53 hours of night-time flying as a wireless operator/air gunner. While an evaluation sheet rated his performance as “average,” his instructor noticed “great improvement toward end of course.” On November 9, William Jr. was promoted to the rank of Temporary Flight Sergeant and awaited assignment to an active air unit.

On November 20, William  Jr.was posted to 428 (RCAF) Squadron. Formally established only two weeks previously, 428 was a night bomber squadron that operated Vickers Wellington aircraft. Initially assigned to No. 6 Group Royal Air Force (RAF), the unit was re-assigned to No. 6 Group RCAF on January 1, 1943.

Prior to that time, RCAF squadrons had been attached to RAF groups. The newly created No. 6 Group consisted entirely of RCAF units and operated as a distinct Canadian unit under RAF command. No. 6 Group initially consisted of eight squadrons, later expanding to 14, all of which flew heavy bombers.

As the group’s formation required some personnel readjustments, William was transferred to 426 (RCAF) Squadron on January 3, 1943. Formed at Dishforth, Thirsk, England, in mid-October 1942, 426 Squadron officially became operational one week after William’s arrival. The unit’s Vickers Wellington bombers carried out their first bombing raid from its base at Uxbridge, England, on the night of January 14/15, dropping a mixture of high explosive and incendiary bombs on a German U-boat base at Lorient, France.

More than a month passed before William Jr. flew his first mission. On the night of February 19, he was part of a six-man crew that departed at 5:53 pm aboard a Wellington III bomber for a raid on the German port of Wilhelmshaven, Germany. One of the 11 participating aircraft failed to return. The following day, William’s crew participated in a mine-laying operation, described as “gardening” in air force parlance. The squadron’s Operations Records Book commented on the mission:

“[E]ight crews were selected, most of which had very little operational experience. They took off at 17.30 hours [and] cross[ed] the North Sea without incident and laid mines in enemy waters off the Frisian Islands. All a/c [aircraft] returned to base and reported good visibility in the gardening area.”

On the night of February 28, William’s crew logged its second bombing raid, an attack on the U-boat base at St. Nazaire, France. One of the nine participating aircraft was forced to return to base when its rear gun turret became inoperative. The remaining planes executed the mission and returned safely, although fuel shortages forced three bombers to land at other airfields.

After two days’ rest, William Jr. and his mates participated in a March 3 bombing raid on Hamburg, Germany. A total of 12 aircraft took part in the mission. While three were forced to return to base for various reasons, the remaining planes completed the attack amidst heavy anti-aircraft fire and safely returned to base. As the unit had suffered considerable losses in recent missions, its log stated that the successful return of all crews “gave [a] tremendous boost to Squadron morale.”

The following day, the Squadron “was given a stand-down from operations,” allowing personnel to cary out “routine training and maintenance.” On March 5, 1943, No. 6 Group “requested 12 A/C [aircraft[ for the night’s bombing operations on Essen [Germany].” The planes departed at dusk, in the company of a dozen aircraft from 425 Squadron. “Port engine trouble” forced one of 426’s planes to return to base, but the remaining bombers continued across the Netherlands toward the night’s target.

William Jr.’s crew was among the 426 personnel selected for the mission. As the aircraft dropped a mixture of incendiary and high explosive bombs on the city, “a great many searchlights and a lot of heavy flak were encountered.” The resulting explosions produced fires so large that “the glow… could be seen from the Dutch coast more than 130 miles away.”

By night’s end, 22 aircraft had safely returned to the squadrons’ airfields. Wellington III BK 401, Pilot Officer Clarence Randolph Trask, Meadow Lake, SK, at the controls, failed to return to 426’s Dishforth base. On board the aircraft were navigator Pilot Officer Chelmsford Edward Chapman, Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve; air gunner/bomber Sgt. William John Ross Davies, Sherbrooke, NS; wireless operator/air gunner Sgt. Norman Fraser Paterson, City View, ON; air gunner Sgt. Robert Earl Williams, Cynthiana, Kentucky; and wireless operator/air gunner Sgt. George Walen, Saskatoon SK.

In a letter dated March 10, 1943, Wing Commander S. Crooks, 426 Squadron, informed Eva that her son was officially listed as “missing” following the March 5 air raid:

“He was flying with his regular crew who were all good men and who had operated together several times previously. They took off at 5:10 pm and set course for the target. Nothing further has been heard from any members of the crew…. The loss of your son was sustained with regret by the Squadron as a whole and especially by his many friends here. He was very popular with his fellow Sergeants and with his own crew. He was a fine chap and an excellent Air Bomber and we all had complete confidence in his ability. I can say personally that he set a fine example to all ranks in every way and his loss is being felt very keenly.”

As official policy dictated, six months later, a telegram dated October 11, 1943, informed Dr. and Mrs. J. William Davies that their son was, for official purposes, “presumed dead 5 March 1943… after air operations (overseas).” In late February 1944, military authorities dispatched a Memorial Bar to Eva. Eight months later, a letter to William Sr., dated October 18, 1944, informed him of his son’s posthumous promotion to the rank of Flight Sergeant “with effect” from November 9, 1942.

After the conclusion of hostilities, Royal Air Force teams were dispatched to the continent, in the hope of locating hundreds of missing airmen. While the graves of many were located in cemeteries across Europe, there was no trace of Wellington III BK 401. A letter to Dr. Davies, dated April 4, 1952, informed him of an investigative team’s disappointing results:

“Their efforts to locate your son’s grave have been unsuccessful. Under the circumstances, therefore, it must be regretfully accepted and officially reported that he does not have a ‘known’ grave and will be commemorated on a memorial to be erected at Runnymede, England.”

Flight Sergeant William John Ross Davies’ name and those of his crew mates are inscribed on the Runnymede Air Forces Memorial, Englefield Green, near Egham, Surrey, England. The monument contains the names of more than 20,000 men and women from British and Commonwealth air forces who lost their lives during air operations over Europe and have no known graves.

Friday, 4 February 2022

Flight Sergeant Harold Stanton MacPherson—Perished at Sea March 2/3, 1943

 Harold Stanton MacPherson was born at Halifax, NS, on August 1, 1921, the third and youngest child of John Charles and Margaret “Maggie” Belle (Ferguson) MacPherson. John was a native of Boylston, Guysborough County, the son of Charles and Mary Jane (McKay) MacPherson, while Maggie was born at Intervale, Guysborough County, the daughter of Donald and Mary Ferguson.

Flight Sergeant Harold Stanton MacPherson  

John and Maggie’s oldest child—a daughter, Florence Louise “Flo”—was born at Boylston, Guysborough County, on April 15, 1896. Flo married Fred McChesney, a native of Afton, Antigonish County, at St. James United Church, Antigonish, on March 29, 1930. The couple established residence at Afton, where they raised a family of four children—one son and three daughters. Flo passed away in 1992.

Harold’s older brother, Wesley Whitfield, was born at Intervale, Guysborough County, on May 15, 1897. Wesley enlisted with the 193rd Battalion at Guysborough on April 1, 1916, and spent the spring and summer months training with the unit at Guysborough and Aldershot. When a thorough medical examination in September 1916 uncovered respiratory issues related to a 1914 case of pleurisy, Wesley was discharged as “medically unfit” on October 20, 1916.

Wesley eventually relocated to Oxford Junction, where he worked as a lineman. On September 14, 1926, he married Jennie Evelyn Lowerison, a native of West Sackville, NB, in a ceremony held at Holy Trinity Church, Dorchester, NB. The couple settled in New Brunswick, where they raised a family of three sons and one daughter. Wesley passed away at Fredericton Junction, NB, in 1977.

Sometime after Harold’s birth, the MacPherson family settled at Afton Station, where John operated a farm. Harold attended the local Afton school from Grade 1 to 11, moving on to complete Grade 12 at Morrison School during the 1937 - 1938 school year. In September 1938, he enrolled in the teacher training program at Provincial Normal College, Truro.

Upon graduating from Normal College, Harold obtained a teaching position at Hadleyville, Guysborough County, for the 1939-40 school year. He was employed at Afton school from September to December 1940, and accepted a position at Meadowville, Pictou County, from January to June 1941. At the end of the school year, Harold submitted his resignation, as he applied to enlist with the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF).

On July 29, 1941, Harold completed a pre-enlistment RCAF interview at Halifax, NS. One month shy of his twentieth birthday, he was five feet and 11 inches tall and weighed 151 pounds at the time. The interviewer described Harold’s approach as “confident” and “easy,” his responses as “quick” and “deliberate,” and his manner as “alert” and “confident.” He received an “excellent” rating and was initially recommended for “pilot.”

The following day, Harold formally attested for service with the RCAF. One week later, he was “taken on strength” at Toronto, ON, with the initial rank of “AC2” [Aircraftman 2nd Class]. On August 21, he reported to Trenton RCAF Base, where he completed basic training and was selected for the “air observer” stream.

In late September, Harold commenced the first of several training programs at No. 5 Initial Training School (ITS), Belleville, ON. According to a Report on Pupil Air Observer, dated December 17, 1941, he achieved a grade of 86 % and ranked 30th in a class of 150 cadets. Four days later, Harold was promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman (LAC) and assigned to No. 9 Air Observers’ School, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, where he commenced specialist training for his assigned trade.

Over the following three months, Harold logged more than 80 hours in an Anson aircraft, the majority of the time as a navigator. He achieved an overall grade of 70.1 % and placed 18th in a class of 25. While his navigational work was rated “average,” his armament skills warranted an “above average” ranking and a recommendation for service as “air observer.”

On April 12, 1942, Harold reported to No. 6 Bombing and Gunnery School, Mountain View, ON, for the next phase of training. During a six-week course, he logged approximately 28 hours in Anson and Bolingbroke aircraft, during which time he received experience in bombing and gunnery duties. While his bombing skills were rated “average,” his air gunnery performance was “very satisfactory.” Harold completed the course with a mark of 72.9 % and a rank of fifth in a class of 26 cadets.

Harold received his Air Observer’s Badge and was promoted to the rank of “T[emporary]/Sergeant” on May 23, 1942. Two days later, he commenced the final stage of training at No. 19 Air Navigation School, Rivers, MB. Over the next five weeks, he underwent Advanced Air Observers’ Training in an Anson aircraft, logging more than 90 hours as 1st and 2nd Navigator in day-time and night-time conditions, along with an additional 26 hours of flight training in bombing and gunnery. While “carelessness” and “minor inaccuracies” negatively impacted his performance, instructors noted that Harold “can do excellent work when he applies himself.”

His performance in all three courses—air observer, bombing and gunnery, and air navigation—earned Harold an overall grade of 69.9%. While acknowledging his intelligence, instructors mentioned that Harold was prone to inaccuracy and lack of effort at times. Nevertheless, his performance warranted a passing grade and a pending overseas assignment.

Meanwhile, Harold received a two-week pre-embarkation leave on July 4, after which he reported to No. 1 Y Depot, Halifax. On July 23, he was formally “taken on strength” by No. 31 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Debert, the final stage of his training in Canada. Formed in May 1941, No. 31 OTU’s crews conducted general reconnaissance operations over the western Atlantic Ocean in Lockheed Hudson and Avro Anson aircraft.

Harold spent two months with the Debert unit, after which he proceeded overseas. On October 10, 1942, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth, UK. One month later, Harold was assigned to No. 22 OTU, Wellesbourne Mountford, UK. Part of No. 6 Group Bomber Command, the unit specialized in training night bomber crews aboard Vickers Wellington aircraft.

Harold logged three months with No. 22 OTU, during which time he was promoted to the rank of “T[emporary]/Sergeant.” He officially completed his training on February 12, 1943, comments on his evaluation indicating a distinct improvement in both performance and effort: “Slightly above the average. Keen and conscientious. Consistently good bombing results.” Overall, his supervisors rated Harold “an above average bomb aimer.”

On February 25, 1943, Harold was assigned to No. 427 (RCAF) Squadron, RAF. Known as the “Lion Squadron,” a reference to its crest’s lion imposed upon a maple leaf. The unit, formed at Croft, Yorkshire, UK, on November 7 1942, was the eighth RCAF bomber unit and 25th RCAF squadron established at that point in the war.

On the night of March 2/3, 1943, Harold took part in his first active mission with No. 427 Squadron—“three [Wellington] aircraft…detailed for…mine-laying” near the Frisian Islands, along the northwestern coast of the Netherlands. Two of the aircraft completed the operation and safely returned to base. The third, piloted by Sgt. Leo M. Lymburner, Fonthill, ON, “did not return from this operation.” Harold was the “bomb aimer” on the six-man crew, all of whom were reported missing.

On March 6, 1943, Canadian officials wrote to Maggie Belle MacPherson, informing her that “your son was a member of the crew of an aircraft which failed to return to its base after air operations on the night of March 2nd and the early morning of March 3, 1942.” A subsequent letter from Wing Commander D. H. Burnside, No. 427 Squadron, dated March 15, indicated that the plane had departed at approximately six o’clock “and we have heard nothing from it or any member of the crew since take-off.” WIng Commander Burnside continued:

“We lost one of our best crews when this aircraft did not return for it had already been mapped out for a great future with this Squadron. Your son was very popular with this Squadron and fast becoming an ace Bomb Aimer. He is greatly missed in the Sergeant’s Mess, and his loss is regretted by all.”

An April 15, 1943 news item in The Casket informed local readers that Sgt. Observer Harold Stanton MacPherson was officially reported missing following an operational flight. “In a recent letter home[,] he told his parents that one of his [recent training] crew members was Joe Beaton, with whom he had gone to school at Nova Scotia [Normal College].”

Throughout the summer months, Harold’s family received no further word on his fate. Finally, on October 25, 1943, a telegram from Canadian authorities informed Maggie that T/Sgt. H. S. MacPherson and his crew mates, previously reported “missing” after air operations overseas, were now “presumed dead” as of March 3, 1943. In mid-February 1944, Maggie received “the Memorial Cross[,] a posthumous decoration to Sgt. Observer H. S. MacPherson.”

On October 27, 1944, T. K. MacDougall, RCAF Records Officer, wrote to John C. MacPherson, informing him that “your son, Harold Stanton MacPherson, has been promoted to the rank of Flight Sergeant with effect from November 23, 1942.” Almost five years passed before military authorities received any further news concerning the crew of Harold’s aircraft.

A “missing crew report,” dated March 12, 1949, provided an update on the crew of Wellington X3390, which crashed at sea on March 2/3, 1943: “Information on file shows one body of this crew washed ashore and buried at Cuxhaven now identified by Canadian Flashes and German docs. [sic—documents]” as Sgt. H. R. Millson, the navigator aboard Harold’s aircraft. The remainder of the crew was “assumed lost at sea.”

A letter from Wing Commander W. R. Gunn, RCAF Casualties Officer, dated September 20, 1949, informed Harold’s father of this development, adding:

“Nothing is known of the aircraft or any other member of the crew, and in view of the fact that they were engaged in a mine-laying operation, it can be accepted that the aircraft was lost at sea, and with the exception of Flight Sergeant Millson, your son and the remaining members of the crew have been registered as not having a ‘known’ grave.”

Two months prior to Wing Commander Gunn’s letter, Maggie had received a set of “operational wings and Certificate in recognition of the gallant services rendered by your son.”

Flight Sergeant Harold Stanton MacPherson’s name is engraved on the Runnymede Air Forces Memorial, officially opened at Englefield Green, Surrey, UK, On October 17, 1953, in memory of 20,456 British and Commonwealth air personnel lost during Second World War operations, all of whom have no known final resting place.

Flight Sergeant MacPherson's photo obtained from Betty M. (Kinney) Pettipas' book on Tracadie and area veterans, “We Remember Those Who Served, 1914 – 2002.”