Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Monday, 4 July 2022

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris "Burt" Jost, DFC—Killed in Action June 25, 1943

 Burton Norris “Burt” Jost was born on August 2, 1911, the son of Dr. Arthur Cranswick and Carrie Victoria “Tory” (Martin) Jost, Guysborough, NS. The Jost family traces its European roots to Johann Georg Jost, who was born at Strasbourg, Bas-Rhine, Alsace, France, in 1727. Johann immigrated to Nova Scotia in the early 1750s as part of a British initiative to attract “German Protestants” to counter-balance the colony’s predominantly Roman Catholic, Acadian population.

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost
In 1753, Johann married Susanna Catherine Morash (1735 - 1811) at Halifax. The couple lived in Lunenburg for several years before returning to the capital, where they raised a family of eight sons and three daughters. Johann passed away there in 1775.


One of Johann and Susanna’s sons, John Casper Jost, was born at Halifax in 1763 and married Mary Catherine Hirtle/Hartel at Halifax in 1791. The couple raised a family of nine children. In the summer of 1822, John (1797 - 1883), one of John Casper and Mary Catherine’s sons, arrived in Guysborough with his cousin, William Moir. Both men were shoemakers by trade and had travelled to the area in search of work.

Impressed by the community’s business prospects, John returned the following year with a supply of mercantile goods, purchased in a silent partnership with his brother George. A third brother, Christopher Francis (1805 - 1884), accompanied John. Throughout the summer of 1823, the brothers sold their stock and purchased fish from local fishermen for sale in the Halifax market.

The brothers operated the seasonal business for several summers, initially in a space rented from local property owners. By 1827, the venture proved profitable enough to persuade John and Christopher to permanently relocate to Guysborough, where they purchased waterfront property on the village’s Main Street.

Christopher and John bought out George’s share of the business, built a store on the waterfront lot, and established a mercantile operation known as “J & C Jost.” The brothers remained partners until 1838, when Christopher purchased his sibling’s share of the business. “C. Jost” continued to operate in the original location, while John launched a new venture, known as “The British House,” only a few buildings away.

The year prior to purchasing his brother’s share, Christopher married Harriet Hart in a ceremony held in nearby Manchester. Over the ensuing years, seven children—five boys and two girls—joined the Jost household. Cranswick (1838 - 1927), the couple’s eldest son, entered the ministry and served congregations in several New Brunswick and Nova Scotia communities.

Two of Christopher and Harriet’s younger sons, Burton A. (1842 - 1916) and George Edward (1848 - 1939), eventually purchased the business from their father. Renamed “B & G Jost,” the business operated on a cash and barter basis, often exchanging goods for a wide variety of local products, such as butter, eggs, meat and fish.

Burton and George also owned and operated several vessels that engaged in the Grand Banks fishery and coastal trade. In 1890, the brothers built a four-storey structure to replace the original store. Tragically, the building was destroyed by fire in December 1927, only to be replaced by a more modest structure, owned and operated by Burton’s son, Christopher Arnaud Jost. The family name remained on the business until its sale in 1990.

Burton and George raised their families in houses located on the hill above Main Street. While George moved to Ottawa, ON, in his later years, Burton was a lifelong Guysborough resident. On April 27, 1869, he married Sarah Ann Mercy Norris, daughter of George—also a merchant—and Hannah Norris, Canso. The couple raised a family of 12 children—eight boys and four girls—three of whom died in childhood.

Arthur Cranswick Jost, Burton and Sarah’s fifth child and third son, was born on October 17, 1874. While his younger brother, Christopher Arnaud, eventually assumed operation of the family business, Arthur chose a different career path. After completing secondary school studies at age 15, he attended Acadia University, Wolfville, where he completed a Bachelor of Arts degree.

In the autumn of 1893, Arthur enrolled in the Medicine program of studies at Dalhousie University, Halifax. He subsequently transferred to McGill University, Montreal, QC, where he graduated with a medical degree. Dr. Jost then returned to Nova Scotia, practising medicine at Neil’s Harbour and Advocate before returning to Guysborough.

On July 23, 1906, Arthur married Carrie Victoria “Tory” Martin, daughter of Joseph and Henrietta Martin, Sand Point, in a ceremony held in Guysborough. The couple’s first child, Clyde, was born on September 18, 1907, but died three months later. A second son, Victor Arthur, was born on March 5, 1910. The couple’s youngest child, Burton Norris, joined the family on August 2, 1911.

While operating a medical practice in the Guysborough area, Arthur also served with the Canadian Corps of Guides. The organization was established in 1903 for the purpose of providing intelligence information to the Non-Permanent Active Militia, in the event of war on Canadian soil. A Company operated in each of the country’s 12 military districts and was responsible for providing information to its units. The detachment responsible for Military District No. 6 (Nova Scotia) established its headquarters in New Glasgow, NS.

At the time of the outbreak of war in Europe, Arthur had risen to the rank of “Officer Commanding” (OC), No. 6 Detachment, Corps of Guides. While his age and family obligations presented significant obstacles to active military service, he eventually enlisted with the Canadian Army Medical Corps (CAMC) at Halifax, NS, on March 6, 1916. At that time, a wave of recruitment campaigns were sweeping across the province as representatives of three infantry battalions canvassed rural communities, in search of personnel for the Nova Scotia Highland Brigade.

Almost 42 years old at the time of his enlistment, Arthur volunteered to serve as the 64th Battalion’s Medical Officer and received the commissioned rank of Major. The unit, recruited across the three Maritime Provinces, departed for overseas aboard SS Adriatic at the end of March 1916 and set foot in the United Kingdom on April 9.

When the 64th was dissolved several months later, Arthur was briefly assigned to the 40th Battalion (Halifax Rifles), which soon suffered the same fate as the 64th. Arthur’s age made service on the continent unlikely. As a result, he was transferred to the CAMC Training School, Cheriton Camp, Folkestone, Kent, England, on July 13, 1916.

Before month’s end, Arthur was “detailed for duty as Senior Medical Officer, 6th CTB [Canadian Training Battalion].” During his time at Cheriton Camp, he made a four-day trip to France in late September, probably to visit CAMC facilities in the Étaples area.

In late October, Arthur was posted to the office of the Assistant Director of Medical Services, London Area.  Initially “detailed for duty” at Seaford Camp, Arthur relocated to nearby Brighton on November 19 and assumed the position of ADMS [Assistant Director of Medical Service] Canada for the area. He served in that capacity until early January 1917, when he became ADMS at nearby Shoreham.

The Brighton-Seaford-Shoreham area was dotted with military camps that contained thousands of Canadian soldiers awaiting orders to cross the English Channel to the continent. In addition to providing personnel with routine medical services as required, the CAMC operated Medical Boards responsible for assessing the fitness of wounded or ill soldiers for combat.

As spring approached, unexpected events at home brought Arthur’s overseas service to an abrupt end. In early March 1917, his 43-year-old wife wife Tory suffered an embolism that resulted in paralysis. She passed away on March 25. Six days later, Arthur was granted leave to Canada and departed the United Kingdom aboard a troop transport on April 4. Before month’s end, he was “permitted to resign” his commission.

Arthur remained in Guysborough for six months, during which time his younger sister Bessie (1876 - 1970) agreed to care for his sons, Victor and Burton. On October 15, 1917, he re-enlisted with the CAMC and was appointed Assistant Director of Medical Services for Military District No. 7 (New Brunswick), Saint John, NB. Promoted to the rank of Temporary Lieutenant Colonel in late March 1918, Arthur supervised the provision of medical services to departing and returning soldiers. On August 1, 1919, he was formally discharged from military service and returned to Guysborough.

While Arthur was residing in Guysborough at the time of the 1921 Canadian census, his two sons were living nearby with their aunt Bessie. Arthur eventually relocated to Halifax, where he assumed the duties of public health officer for the province of Nova Scotia. In December 1928, he accepted a position as Executive Secretary, State Board of Health, for the state of Delaware, and established residence in Dover City, Delaware. Arthur became an American citizen in 1934. That same year, he married Mrs. Clara Delene “Dell” (Bastian) Reed in a ceremony that took place in Denton, Maryland, on July 30.

Arthur’s sons spent their formative years in Nova Scotia. Burt commenced his schooling at Guysborough Academy, where he completed Grades I to V. Following his father’s appointment as public health officer for Nova Scotia, Burt relocated to Halifax, where he attended the Morris St. School and went on to complete his high school education at Halifax County Academy. In the autumn of 1928, just prior to his father’s departure for the United States, Burt commenced post-secondary studies at Dalhousie University and graduated in the spring of 1931 with a Bachelor of Science and Diploma in Engineering.

On May 15, 1931, Burt and his brother Victor crossed the United States border by rail at Vanceboro, ME, on their way to visit their father. Six weeks later, Burt completed a Declaration of Intention at Dover, Delaware, stating that he intended to seek American citizenship. In the autumn of 1934, he commenced Mining Engineering studies at Pennsylvania State College, known today as Pennsylvania State University.

Burt had shown an interest in geology while attending Dalhousie University. During one of his summer breaks, he worked as an assistant with the Geological Survey of Canada. While attending Pennsylvania State College, he completed two work terms as an “assistant right of way engineer” with the Delaware State Highway Department. Burt graduated from Penn State College with a Bachelor of Science in Mining in the spring of 1934 and returned to Canada to pursue a career as a mining engineer.

In August 1934, Burt commenced work as a miner with Buffalo-Ankerite Gold Mines, Deloro Township, Timmons, Ontario. Two months later, he accepted a position as a mine engineer with nearby Marbuan Gold Mines. In May 1936, Burt was promoted to chief engineer and mine captain. After three years at the Marbuan operation, he returned to the Buffalo-Ankerite mine, which had purchased Marbuan in 1936.

Burton Norris Jost (civilian photograph)

A passage from a letter of recommendation in Burt’s RCAF service file described the scope and quality of his work at Marbuan and Buffalo-Ankerite:

“His duties are to shape the policy of the underground workings and also to supervise all employees underground…. Mr. Jost is recognized as one of the best mine captains in this district. He is very well liked by all the miners at the mine and is well regarded by the staff there…. He presents a good appearance at all times and has a very good personality. Mr. Jost lives at the property in company-provided quarters and he mixes with the best people in the district. He belongs to the best clubs and is active in local sports…. He is well recommended by his employer for any position of trust.”

On June 10, 1940, Burt applied for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). The following day, he sat for an interview at Sudbury, ON. The interviewer noted that Burt was “well educated” and “”keen,” and rated him an “above average” candidate. Perhaps considering his age and educational background—Burt was almost 30 years old at the time—the interviewer judged him an excellent candidate for “Navigation Instructor.” A second assessment, dated four months later, mentioned the initial recommendation but commented that Burt had “no teaching experience.”

Burt formally enlisted with the RCAF at North Bay, ON, on December 20, 1940. He commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class and was placed in the “Pilot/Observer Standard” stream. At the time of his enlistment, he signed an “Air Crew Enlistment Agreement,” acknowledging that he would be called upon to perform “other than Air Crew duties” until such time as the RCAF “was in a position to commence” his training.

In mid-January 1941, Burt was assigned to No. 17 Flight Training School, Stanley, approximately 35 kilometers northeast of Windsor, NS. As the facility was still under construction—it did not open its doors to trainees until mid-March 1941—Burt was assigned to “guard duty” at the facility. On March 24, he commenced the first stage of flight instruction at No. 3 Initial Training School (ITS), Victoriaville, QC.

At the end of the three-and-a-half week program, Burt placed 17th in a class of 370 cadets and was recommended for the “Pilot” stream. An instructor observed that he was “quick on the trigger and has a mind of his own - should do well.” Promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on April 20, Burt was assigned to No. 2 Elementary Flight Training School (EFTS), Fort William, ON, the following day.

Over the next two months, Burt logged more than 90 hours flying time in a Tiger Moth trainer, earning the highest possible pilot’s rating of “AA.” A comment on his assessment record described him as “a good steady pilot…. Keen and willing.” Burt’s ground training performance was also impressive—he placed 2nd in a class of 23 pilots and was described as possessing “exceptional ability.” Instructors recommended “bomber squadron training (twin engine),” as well as consideration for a commissioned rank.

On July 3, Burt report to No. 6 Service Flight Training School (SFTS), Dunville, ON. Once again, he logged more than 90 hours’ flying time—dual and solo, daytime and night-time—over the summer months. While his instructor rated Burt “an average pilot,” he noted that he was “above average in navigation. This pilot is very smooth on controls, will improve greatly with more time.”

Burt received an Officer’s Commission and promotion to the rank of Pilot Officer on September 13. the same day on which he received his Pilot’s Flying Badge. Two weeks later, he departed for overseas. Shortly after arriving in the United Kingdom, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth, on October 13 and was immediately assigned to No. 12 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Chipping Warden, Banbury, UK.

Formed in April 1940 to train light bomber air crew, No. 12 OTU was part of No. 1 Group, Royal Air Force (RAF) Bomber Command. OTUs offered air force personnel the first opportunity to train aboard the aircraft they would operate on active service. Burt’s new unit operated two-engine Fairey Battle I aircraft. OTUs also provided the first opportunity for establishment of air crews and their development into cohesive combat units.

Burt spent three months with No 12 OTU, honing is pilot skills. On January 25, 1942, he was assigned to No. 419 Squadron. Formed at Mildenhall in mid-December 1941, the unit became known as the “Moose” Squadron, after the nickname of its first Wing Commander, John “Moose” Fulton.  The unit initially operated two-engine Wellington bombers, but later converted to Halifax (November 1942) and Lancaster (March 1944) aircraft.

On February 16, 1942, Burt flew his first mission with 419 Squadron as “2nd pilot” aboard a Wellington bomber. The aircraft set off on “a nickel raid”—dropping leaflets over Lille, France—but “had to land shortly after taking off as the inter-com failed.” Two nights later, the same crew completed a successful “nickel raid” over the French city.

On February 23, the Squadron became “non-operational” as personnel “commenced intensive training for conversion to Mark III’s, the latest Wellington model to enter combat service. Burt’s missions resumed in early April, at which time he completed seven flights as 2nd pilot in a Wellington piloted by the Squadron Leader. On one occasion, the starboard side of the fuselage was “hit by heavy flak,” but the aircraft safely returned to base.

Burt piloted his first mission on May 17, flying a Wellington bomber on a planned raid on Boulogne, France. Unfortunately, heavy cloud cover meant that the aircraft was not able to drop its bombs. His crew carried out a successful second mission—a bombing raid on the German city of Cologne—in late May.

During June and July 1942, Burt and his crew completed 17 missions without serious incident. While the vast majority were bombing raids on German cities, the air crew also carried out several “gardening” operations, planting “vegetables”—mines—along the approaches to several ports. Burt’s record was quite remarkable, considering the perils involved—the aircraft he piloted suffered no damage during any of its summer missions.

Flt. Lt. Jost (2nd from right) meets King George VI (2nd from left)—June 12, 1942

Over the next two months, Burt logged only two additional missions—August 6 and September 1—as he completed his “operational tour.” Altogether, he logged a total of 31 missions over a six-month span. As a result, Burt was “struck off strength” on September 22 and assigned to No. 22 OTU, Wellesbourne Mountford, Warwickshire, where he used his flying expertise and combat experience to instruct trainees in the operation of Wellington bombers.

On November 2, 1942, Flight Lieutenant Burton Jost was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross, in recognition of the “courage and determination [displayed] in his operational sorties against the enemy….[W]hile acting as flight commander, [he] has set an inspiring example to those subordinate to him.”

Burt served as an instructor with No. 22 OTU throughout the winter of 1942 - 43, enjoying 10 days of personal leave in mid-March 1943. At some point after returning to duty, he volunteered for a second operational tour. On May 21, Burt was assigned to No. 1659 Heavy Conversion Unit, Topcliffe, Yorkshire, which trained air crew in the operation of four-engine Halifax and Lancaster bombers. He spent three weeks with the unit before returning to No. 419 Squadron on June 12.

One week later, Burt flew his first mission as pilot of a Halifax II aircraft—a successful bombing raid on the Schneider Works, an iron and steel mill located at Le Creusot, France. Two days later, his crew completed a successful mission over Krefeld, near Düsseldorf, Germany. It appeared that Burt’s second operational tour was off to a successful start.

At 10:40 pm June 24, 1943, Burt and his crew departed from No. 419 Squadron’s base at Middle St. George aboard Halifax JD147 on their third mission since Burt’s return. The bomber was one of 16 aircraft assigned to a 600-plane bombing raid on Wuppertal, approximately 35 kilometres east of Düsseldorf, Germany. Aboard the aircraft with Burt was Sergeant Ernest Bailey Pope, RAF, navigator; Flight Sergeant Ashley William Bruce, Royal New Zealand Air Force, bomb aimer; Flight Officer Robert Oscar Goodwin, Niagara Falls, ON, wireless operator/air gunner; Sergeant Julius Bjorn Johnson, Kirkland Lake, ON, flight engineer; Flight Sergeant Lesley Barker, RAF, second gunner; and Sergeant Robert Edward Austin, RAF, rear gunner.

While the 600 bombers shared a common target, the aircraft travelled in small groups and followed different routes to avoid detection. Based on information later provided by surviving crew members and civilian witnesses on the ground, a narrative of the eventful flight was later assembled.

As Halifax JD147 crossed Belgian air space and headed northeastward toward the border with the Netherlands, a German Luftwaffe Messerschmitt Bf 110 night fighter, piloted by Obw. Reinhard Kollak, made contact with the aircraft north of Maastricht, Netherlands. Kollak opened fire on the plane, his first volley missing its target. Managing to avoid return fire from tail gunner Austin, the German pilot brought his aircraft around and below the bomber for a second round of gunfire.

Shells from Kollak’s cannon struck the bomber’s starboard wing, causing its outer engine to burst into flames. The fire quickly spread to the wing, prompting Burt to put the plane into a nose dive in an attempt to extinguish the flames. The maneuver proved unsuccessful and the fire quickly spread to the aircraft’s fuselage. As the incident unfolded, the bomber crossed into Dutch air space.

Realizing that the aircraft was disintegrating, Burt gave orders to jettison its bombs and instructed the crew to exit the plane. He and Sgt. Johnson wrestled with the controls, attempting to maintain an altitude and level flight path to allow the crew to safely evacuate. Bomb aimer Sgt. Bruce jumped out of the burning fuselage near Maastricht, while rear gunner Sgt. Austin left the plane near Leropperweg. As the bomber continued its descent, navigator Sgt. Pope and second gunner Flight Sgt. Barker jumped out.

From his vantage point in the cockpit, Burt could see that the aircraft was heading toward a settled area—the town of Roermond. He fired several flares in a desperate search for open ground where he could make a crash landing. By this time, only three crew members remained on board—Burt, flight engineer Sgt. Johnson and bomb aimer Flight Officer Goodwin. The aircraft was flying at a low altitude, heading directly for the town.

At a height of approximately 900 feet, Goodwin made his way out of the burning plane. Burt and Sgt. Johnson, however, remained aboard, managing to steer the aircraft away from Roermond as it disintegrated in the air. What remained of the bomber struck the ground in a field known locally as Hammer Feld, located between the village of Herten and Roermond. Local firefighters located the separated cockpit section and, after extinguishing the flames, recovered Burt’s and Johnson’s remains.

German soldiers on the ground eventually located and detained Flight Sgt. Bruce, Sgt. Austin, Sgt. Pope and Flight Sgt. Barker. Flight Officer Goodwin’s parachute failed to properly deploy and he was severely injured when he struck the ground. While local residents later recounted hearing his cries for help, he was not located that evening. His remains were found several weeks after the crash, as German authorities removed debris from the site.

At the time of the crash in the early hours of June 25, 1943, the fate of Halifax JD147 was a mystery. No 419 Squadron’s operational record noted that the bomber was one of three aircraft that failed to return to base. Until further details on the crew’s fate surfaced, for official purposes the crew was considered to be “missing.”

On June 30, No. 419 Squadron wrote to Dr. Jost, informing him that Burt was “missing” after an operation on the night of June 24, 1943:

“He was Captain of an aircraft detailed to attack a target in Germany on that night and unfortunately has been unreported since take-off, and I am afraid his loss can only be through enemy action. There is, of course the possibility that he may be a prisoner of war, but news of this could not be expected for some time yet. Burt as you know finished his first tour of operations with us and after a period of rest at a Conversion Unit came back to his old Squadron as Flight Commander of ‘A’ Flight. I had recommended him for Squadron Leader rank…. Your son and I were old and fast friends and I can assure you that I had great respect for his ability as a pilot and Captain of aircraft as well as for his many fine qualities. His happy carefree manner was a real tonic to all who came in contact with him and his knowledge of Bomber tactics was a great assistance to the newer lads on the Squadron. The news of his being missing has certainly thrown quite a cloud over his flight and the Squadron as a whole.”

The news of Burt’s fate reached Arthur at a difficult time. Only days earlier—June 19, 1943—his second wife Dell had passed away at Dover, Delaware. The two incidents may have persuaded Arthur to return to his roots. A note in Burt’s service file, dated December 8, 1943, noted a change in Dr. Jost’s address to Guysborough, NS.

As the months passed, RCAF officials gradually began to assemble information on the fate of Halifax JD147’s crew members. Flight Sgt. Bruce and Flight Sgt. Barker were transported to Stalag Luft L6, Heydekrug, Lithuania, while Sgt. Pope and Sgt. Austin were detained at Stalag 357, near Fallingbostel, Germany. The fate of Flight Lieutenant Jost, Sgt. Johnson and Flight Officer Goodwin, however, remained a mystery.

A statement from Flight Sgt. Barker, obtained on May 7, 1944, through Red Cross channels, indicated that both Sgt. Johnson and Lt. Jost were aboard the aircraft when it crashed. Barker stated: “I don’t know whether they were killed or wounded. I was unconscious for 10 days in a Dutch hospital and don’t remember what happened.”

A second statement, obtained from Sgt. Pope on May 15, 1944, corroborated Flight Sgt. Barker’s recollections:

“Our machine was attacked by enemy fire and set on fire. None of the crew were hit by gun fire. After a futile attempt to put the fire out F/Lt. Jost gave the orders to bale out, which were received by all members as far as I know. The plane was still flying at good altitude in an easterly direction, and F/Lt. Jost was still at his post when I baled out. I was second out of the plane which was by then a mass of flames.”

Sgt. Pope also recalled that the incident occurred near Venlo, Netherlands, which proved to be an important piece of information.

Following the end of hostilities in Europe in May 1945, the search for missing RCAF crew members intensified. RCAF investigators spread out across France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany, gathering information on lost aircraft and attempting to locate missing airmen.

Through a family connection, Dr. Jost was able to do some detective work on his own, in hopes of locating his missing son. On August 3, 1945, RCAF officials in Canada forwarded correspondence they had received from Arthur to the Canadian Casualty Branch, London, England. An excerpt from the letter contained specific information about the crash of Burt’s aircraft:

“Two bodies were found in the wreckage of the plane at once. The person first on the scene was C. Van Dyck, a Dutch Police Constable… One injured man, Sgt. Barker, was then found, he being an RAF man. The body of the third airman [Goodwin] was not found for several weeks when the wreckage of the plane was being removed. The first two bodies are in a cemetery, one marked the grave of an unknown RCAF airman, the other as the grave of an unknown RAF airman. This is an error as it is known that all the RAF men were accounted for otherwise. I have other addresses, the Hospital, the address of the physician who looked after Barker, etc. Just now the locality where the third body was buried is not yet known. And I believe that it is yet impossible to identify the individual graves. I still think it is damnably little to your credit that you are only now commencing to trace your missing men.”

An additional letter in Burt’s file, dated September 14, 1945, noted that four of Halifax JD147’s crew—former prisoners of war—were now safely in the United Kingdom. Flight Officer Goodwin’s grave had been located in a Roermond cemetery. The two remaining crew members—Flight Lieutenant B. N. Jost and Sgt. J. R. Johnson—were presumed to have been killed in the crash but the whereabouts of their graves was unknown. The letter concluded with a recommendation that “an investigation be carried out in the vicinity of Venlo in an effort to find out if the above noted officer and airman are buried there.”

The information led investigators to a cemetery in Venlo, where the two unidentified bodies from the June 25, 1943 crash had been buried. The remains, identified as Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost and Sergeant J. R. Johnson, were initially re-interred in Venlo Military Cemetery. As time passed, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission decided to consolidate the remains of soldiers and airmen buried in small cemeteries into larger military cemeteries. On October 2, 1947, Burt and his crew mate were re-interred in Jonkerbosch British Cemetery, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

During the years following the war, the residents of Roermond did not forget Halifax JD147’s crash landing in a nearby field. Determined to preserve the memory of the two crew members who remained aboard until impact, thus sacrificing their lives, the town named a local street “Burton Jostweg” in honour of the Canadian pilot who steered the burning aircraft clear of its boundaries. A plaque bearing the names of Flight Lieutenant Jost and Sergeant Johnson was also erected at the crash site. In Canada, a lake in the Northwest Territories was named “Jost Lake” in memory of Burt.

Burton Jostweg, Roermond, Netherlands (Google Maps street view)

Dr. Jost spent his final years in Guysborough. During that time, he researched and wrote several articles on local history and gathered genealogical information, all of which was compiled into a volume, Guysborough Sketches and Essays, published in 1950. Dr. Jost also provided funds for the establishment of the Burton Norris Jost Scholarship, awarded to a graduate of Guysborough Academy—now Guysborough High School. The scholarship is still awarded annually.

Dr. Arthur Cranswick Jost passed away on March 24, 1958, at the Nova Scotia Hospital, Dartmouth, where he had been a patient for seven and a half months. He was laid to rest in Guysborough, NS.

Arthur’s older son Victor became an American citizen on June 21, 1937, and later went to work as a draftsman with the Delaware State Highway Department’s engineering corps. He enlisted in the United States Army on February 27, 1942, and was stationed at Headquarters, 44 Division Army, Tacoma, Washington, at the time of his brother Burt’s death.

Victor served overseas as a T/4 [Technician 4th Grade] Sergeant with the 44th Division. Upon arriving home, Victor returned to his previous position with the Delaware State Highway Department. On June 3, 1950, Victor married Lillian R. Clarke, a native of Ohio. The couple had no children. Lillian passed away at Dover, Delaware, on May 15, 1972, while Victor died at Ocean City, Worcester, Maryland, on March 30, 1989. He was laid to rest in Odd Fellows Cemetery, Camden, Kent, Delaware, beside his wife Lillian.

Information on the Jost family’s arrival in Guysborough and the operation of the family business obtained from two sources: a) John N. Grant’s “Historic Guysborough—Images of Our Past” and Christopher Cook’s “Along the Streets of Guysborough,” Second Edition.

Tuesday, 7 June 2022

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron—Died of Illness June 20, 1943

 Allan Cantley Cameron was born in New Glasgow, NS, on October 16, 1921, the son of Alexander Christopher and Queenie Mae (Fanning) Cameron. Alexander was the son of Allan and Annie (Dort) Cameron, Canso, while Queenie was the daughter of Andrew and Isabella (Davidson) Fanning, Drum Head.

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron

According to census records, Alexander Cameron spent his early life in Canso, where his father Allan worked as a stone mason. Sometime after 1911, Alexander moved to Pictou County. He was working as a baker at the time of his December 24, 1920, marriage to Queenie Fanning in a ceremony that took place in the United Church Baptist Parsonage, New Glasgow.

Alexander and Queenie’s first child, Allan Cantley, was born at New Glasgow on October 16, 1921. Two more children—Cyril (c. 1925) and Isabelle (c. 1930)—later joined the household. At an unknown date, the family returned to the Canso area. Cantley left school at age 16, having completed Grade VIII. He was working for A. E. Cousins, Canso, as a “truck driver’s helper” when he enlisted with the 86th Heavy Battery, 6th Coastal Brigade, Royal Canadian Artillery, at Antigonish, NS, on October 11, 1939.

In fact, Cantley’s service record indicates that he joined the unit’s ranks on September 20, only 11 days after Canada’s declaration of war on Nazi Germany. He was five days shy of his 18th birthday at the time, which may explain the incorrect birth year of 1920 recorded on his attestation. Two later documents in Cantley’s service file indicate that he was born in 1921.

The 86th Heavy Battery, a Canadian militia unit, was officially established at Antigonish in 1920 as a field artillery battery. Its predecessor, the 18th Field Battery, had operated in the community since 1905 and was responsible for coastal defences in the Strait of Canso area. The 18th was dissolved in a post-war reorganization of Canada’s militia. Its replacement, the 86th, was a sub-unit of a newly created 16th Coastal Artillery Brigade, headquartered in Sydney. The battery consisted of two sections, each armed with three 18-pounder field guns.

In June 1938, the unit was redesigned the 86th Coastal Battery and was outfitted with a four-inch naval gun. At the same time, military authorities developed plans in the event of war to establish two batteries on the mainland side of the Strait of Canso. The rail terminals and ferry operation located there were considered vital transportation links, as coal and steel produced in Sydney would be critical wartime resources.

While hostile surface vessels were not expected to enter the Strait of Canso in wartime, submarines posed a real threat. In response, following Canada’s September 12, 1939 declaration of war on Nazi Germany, military authorities responsible for home defence established two batteries on the mainland. Beacon Battery, equipped with two four-inch guns, was located at Auld’s Cove to defend the Northumberland Strait entrance and commenced operation on October 1, 1939. The second battery, located at Melford, overlooked the Atlantic entrance and entered service three days later.

To provide the required personnel, the 86th expanded its manpower to 180 men. Each battery also possessed two long-range search lights, while the Canadian Navy provided patrol vessels. Radar defence systems were also placed at Auld’s Cove and Sand Point to guard against air attack. While anti-submarine netting was discussed, military authorities considered its use in defending Sydney and Halifax harbours a higher priority. In any case, the strong currents passing through the Strait would have made installation difficult.

Following his enlistment, Cantley served with the 86th Battery in the Sydney and Strait of Canso areas. He spent several days in Sydney Military Hospital with influenza in early February 1940 and was granted two weeks’ furlough at Melford on April 30, 1940. He also spent several days in Port Hawkesbury Military Hospital in late June for treatment of influenza.

Cantley served in the Strait area until October 11, 1940, when he was transferred to No. 6 District Depot, Halifax. One month later, he departed for overseas and disembarked at Gourock, Scotland, on November 28, 1940. The following day, he was assigned to No. 1 Canadian Artillery Holding Unit (CAHU), Bordon, UK.

Established as reinforcement pools for active artillery units, holding units were not intended to function as training centres. However, many of the recruits arriving overseas were not ready for active duty. As a result, holding units established an “instructional wing” with “training batteries,” each connected to an active field unit.

Following a 10-day landing leave, Cantley was admitted to British Isolation Hospital, Bordon, on December 14. Documents in his service file provide no details as to the reason. Discharged after a two-week stay, Cantley remained with No. 1 CAHU until mid-February 1941, when he was transferred to No. 2 CAHU. Among its responsibilities was anti-aircraft defence.

On March 15, Cantley was attached to No. 1 LAA (Light Anti-Aircraft) Regiment, based at Colchester, UK. During the war’s first months, the unit had served in France and Belgium with the British Expeditionary Force. Its personnel saw combat during the German invasion of France and Belgium in May 1940 and were evacuated from Dunkirk in late May and early June. Following its return to the United Kingdom, No. 1 LAA re-formed with personnel from the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Light Anti-Aircraft Batteries and was assigned to “Home Defence Duties” during the Battle of Britain.

Cantley’s time with No. 1 LAA would have provided valuable instruction from experienced gunners. He received one week’s “privilege leave” in early May 1941 and once again was hospitalized for a week after returning to duty. His service file provides no information as to the nature of his illness. On September 20, 1941, Cantley was awarded a Good Conduct Badge, having completed two years of military service without a disciplinary infraction.

Throughout the autumn and winter of 1941-42, Cantley remained on duty in the United Kingdom. On July 1, 1942, he was issued an identification card for “Mechanical Transport Drivers,” indicating that he had completed a driver’s training course. In September, Cantley received a second Good Conduct badge. He spent almost three weeks in hospital in November, again for reasons that are not explained in his service file.

Following a week’s leave in late January 1943, Cantley returned to duty on February 4. One month later, he was admitted to Military Hospital, Reading. An entry on a later “Medical Report on Death” states that he was diagnosed with “ptosis left eyelid” on March 3, 1943. The medical term describes a “drooping” of the eyelid, caused by damage to the nerve that controls its muscles.

On March 24, Cantley was transferred to No. 4 Casualty Clearing Station (CCS). Two days later, he was admitted to No. 1 Neurological Hospital. A comment on his “Medical Report on Death” form states that medical staff had determined “involvement [of] both third, both fourth, both seventh cranial nerves” in causing Cantley’s eye condition.

Cantley spent six weeks at the neurological facility, departing the United Kingdom for Canada on May 13, 1943. Upon disembarking, Cantley travelled by train to Toronto, where he was admitted to Christie St. Hospital on May 23. An examination at the time of his admission “showed cranial nerves involved as above, with periods of drowsiness or lethargy of variable degree and duration.”

While Cantley’s condition initially improved, a June 14 entry on his medical records reported a “very obvious relapse, with increasing temperature and pulse rate, marked increase in drowsiness.” Over the next several days, his “condition rapidly progressed with marked morning temperature and increasing pulse rate.”

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron's headstone, Fourth Hill Cemetery, Canso, NS

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron passed away at Christie St. Hospital, Toronto, on June 20, 1943. His Ontario death certificate lists the cause of death as encephalitis (inflammation of the brain caused by an infection). Cantley’s remains were transported home to Canso, where he was laid to rest in Fourth Hill Cemetery. Queenie Cameron passed away at Canso in 1979, while her husband Alexander died the following year. Both were laid to rest in Fourth Hill Cemetery, near their eldest son’s grave.

Photograph of Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron courtesy of his niece, Sandra Beaumaster, St. Andrews, NB.

Thursday, 5 May 2022

Sergeant Raymond Francis Pelrine—Killed in Air Raid May 23, 1943

 Raymond Francis Pelrine was born at Port Felix, Guysborough County, on July 30, 1922, the oldest of Charles Martin and Clarice “Clara” (Fougere) Pelrine’s 11 children. Raymond’s father Martin was also a native of Port Felix, the son of Charles Vincent and Margaret (Bellefontaine) Pelrine, and grandson of Charles (1826 - 1901) and Magdalene (Mannette) Pelrine. The majority of available documents spell the family surname “Pelrine,” although it was recorded as “Pellerin” in several instances.

The Pelrine/Pellerin surname originates from the French “pelèrin,” which means “pilgrim.” It is believed to have originated from the large number of French pilgrims who completed the annual Way of St. James/St. Jacques/Santiago pilgrimage that began at various locations in France and ended in Santiago, Spain, close to the French border, a route often described as “Camino de Santiago.” The term was used to describe individuals who had completed the journey and over time became a surname.

Étienne Pellerin was the first of his family lineage to arrive in North America. A native of Bacilly, Normandie, Étienne was one of the French settlers who emigrated to the settlement of Port Royal, l’Acadie, established by Pierre Dugua and Samuel de Champlain in 1605. His grandson Paul was the first Acadian to settle at Tor Bay. All of today’s Guysborough and Antigonish County Pellerins trace their lineage to Paul and his wife, Marie-Louise Petitpas [Pettipas], a native of Port Toulouse (St. Peters). Marie-Louise’s  grandfather, Claude Petitpas, was the first of his lineage to settle at Port Royal, and is the progenitor of today’s Tor Bay and Tracadie Pettipas families.

Paul Pellerin’s son Hubert was born at Chezzetook around 1777. He married Anne “Nancy” David, and later settled at Port Felix. Paul and Nancy’s son, Simon (1803 - 1877), married Angelic “Jane” Lavandier at Guysborough, and passed away at Port Felix. Their son Charles (1826 - 1901) married Magdalene Mannette, a native of Havre Boucher. The couple later became Raymond’s great-grandparents.

On the Fougere side of the family, Clara was the great-great-grand-daughter of Jacques Fougere, one of three brothers who initially settled at Havre Boucher, Antigonish County, in the 1790s. Jacques subsequently relocated to Molasses Harbour, Guysborough County, the original name for today’s Port Felix.

Jacques’ grandfather, Jean Fougere (1684 - 1749), was a native of Poupry-en-Bouce, Orleans, France, who emigrated to Port Royal. Jean married Marie Bourg and the couple eventually settled at Port Toulouse (St. Peters). The couple raised a family of eight children, three of whom were born at Port Toulouse. Following Marie’s passing, Jean married Marie-Madeleine Belliveau, a union that produced another 10 children.

Joseph Fougere (1720 - 1790), one of Jean’s sons by his first wife, married Marie Marguerite Coste, a Port Toulouse native. Joseph is a common ancestor of all Havre Boucher and Guysborough area Fougeres. The couple initially resided at Port Toulouse, where seven of their 12 children were born, and later relocated to Arichat.  

Joseph and Marie’s son Jacques (1759 - 1836) was born at Port Toulouse around 1759, and married Marie Madeline Petitpas (1768 - 1836), a Chezzetcook native. In the 1790s, Jacques and two of his brothers relocated to Tracadie, where he and Marie Madeline raised a family of six children. Their fourth child, Joseph, was born around 1795, and married Marguerite Charpentier in 1819. The couple settled at Havre Boucher, where most of their eight children joined the family.

At least one of Joseph and Marguerite’s children was born at Molasses Harbour, where most of their offspring eventually settled. Originally named for a keg of molasses that washed ashore after a nearby shipwreck, the Guysborough County settlement was later renamed Port Felix, in honour of a Belgian missionary, Father Felix, who tended to the community’s spiritual needs for many years.

Joseph Jr. (1825 - 1920), one of Joseph and Marguerite’s sons, was born at Havre Boucher and married Felicité Boudrot at Molasses Harbour in 1850. Their son Joseph was born at Port Felix around 1869 and fathered three children by his first wife, Maria Costa. A second marriage to Marie Arsenault, a native of Saint Joseph du Moine, Victoria County, resulted in three more children, the oldest of whom was Raymond’s mother, Clarice “Clara.”

During the First World War, Raymond’s father Martin was conscripted into military service at Halifax, NS, on March 6, 1918, and departed for the United Kingdom one month later. Upon arriving overseas, Martin was attached to the 17th Reserve Battalion (Nova Scotia), Bramshott, UK. The unit provided reinforcements for Nova Scotia’s two front-line infantry units—the 25th (Nova Scotia Rifles) and 85th (Nova Scotia Highlanders) Battalions.

Unfortunately, health issues delayed Martin’s transfer to an active unit. Hospitalized with diphtheria in late July 1918, he spent more than two months in hospital. By the time that Martin had made a full recovery, the November 11, 1918 Armistice had ended fighting on the continent. He remained in England until late June 1919, when he returned to Canada aboard HMT Mauritania. Martin was formally discharged from military service at Halifax on July 13, 1919, and returned to Port Felix.

Shortly after his return to civilian life, Martin and Clara married and established residence at Port Felix, where Martin worked in the local fishery. Sometime during the 1930s, the family relocated to Havre Boucher, where Martin assumed responsibility for his father-in-law’s local mail delivery route.

Raymond attended public school from 1929 to 1940, during which time he completed Grade 9 and “studied Grade 10.” He left school in the spring of 1940 and moved to Halifax, where he worked as a “handyman” at the Halifax Infirmary from May to August. By that time, Raymond had taken an interest in serving with the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) and submitted an application on August 1, 1940, requesting consideration for a “General Duties” position. 

While awaiting a response, Raymond worked as a “messenger” at the Canadian National Railway Post Office, Halifax. On February 3, 1941, he formally attested for service with the RCAF at Halifax. At that time, he received an initial rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class (AC2) and was assigned to the “General Duties” trade. One week later, Raymond commenced training at Eastern Air Command, Halifax.

After completing the first phase of his training, Raymond was promoted to the rank of Aircraftman 1st Class (AC1), General Duties, on May 3. His courses continued into the summer months, with Raymond receiving a promotion to the rank of Leading Aircraftman (LAC), General Duties Standard, on August 3. After a two-week leave, he returned to Halifax, where he completed the training for the “General Clerk (Standard)” trade before month’s end.

On August 28, Raymond commenced the second phase of his training with the rank of AC2 (Clerk Stenographer). For unspecified reasons, he was admitted to Stationary Hospital, Dartmouth, on November 1 and remained at the facility until December 25. Upon discharge, he completed the requirements for the trade of “General Clerk (Group C),” and advanced to the rank of AC1 (Clerk Stenographer) on March 4, 1942.

Raymond completed the final stage of his Clerk Stenographer training during the spring of 1942 and was promoted to the rank of LAC (Clerk General B) on July 1. One month later, he advanced to the rank of Acting Corporal with pay. For the remainder of the year, Raymond served in the Halifax area, receiving embarkation leave from January 1 to 25, 1943.

After returning to duty, Raymond departed for the United Kingdom on February 3 and arrived overseas 10 days later. On February 27, he was assigned to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre (PRC), Bournemouth, UK. Raymond received an annual week’s leave on March 27. Upon returning to duty, he was promoted to the rank of Temporary Sergeant with pay. 

No. 3 PRC was the depot to which all overseas RCAF personnel reported, prior to dispersal to their respective units. The volume of documents in a typical RCAF service file—most consist of 150 to 200 items, many of which contain hand-written entries—is testimony to the vital work that clerks at such locations completed.

Bournemouth was also home to No. 11 Australian Personnel Dispatch and Receiving Centre.  As a result, its streets were teeming with military personnel throughout the war, a fact that soon drew the enemy’s attention. The city’s two largest hotels—the Metropole and Central—accommodated hundreds of Canadian and Australian personnel respectively. On any given day, thousands of Allied air personnel were stationed at various locations across the city, making it a tempting target for German air raids.

Prior to Raymond’s overseas arrival, Bournemouth had endured 47 air raids, directly targeting air force personnel. The strategy was horrifically simple—given the extensive amount of training required, it was more difficult for the Allies to replace air crew than the aircraft they operated. While the previous raids had inflicted casualties and property damage, none had a notable impact. When the air raid sirens sounded at 12:45 pm Sunday, May 23, 1943, nobody anticipated the immense devastation and loss about to occur.

About 30 minutes prior to the sirens sounding, a total of 46 Focke-Wulf 190 single-seat, single-engine fighter aircraft departed from Caen, France, each carrying one bomb beneath its fuselage. The planes headed northward toward the southern coast of England. As they crossed the English Channel, 20 aircraft veered eastward toward Hastings, approximately 200 kilometres east of Bournemouth.

The remaining Focke-Wulf 190s continued northward and were soon detected by radar installations on the Isle of Wight. While the sirens sounded as the planes passed over Hengistbury Head, near Bournemouth, at an altitude of approximately 50 feet, there was insufficient time to scramble Royal Air Force fighters at two nearby bases before the attackers reached their target. By the time the Spitfires were in the air, the German aircraft were already heading back across the Channel.

Just before 1:00 pm, the planes dropped their first bombs. In the span of one minute, a total of 25 bombs struck targets across Bournemouth, an estimated 21 or 22 detonating upon impact. At the time of the raid, the Metropole Hotel contained hundreds of Allied servicemen, most of whom were having lunch at the time. The majority were Canadians, but Australian and American personnel were also in the building.

One bomb entered the Metropole’s second storey, struck a steel and concrete stairway, and detonated. The explosion almost completely destroyed the entire facade facing Holdenhurst Road. The hotel’s stoker, on lunch break at the time, made his way into the damaged building, turned off the electricity and dampened the fires, thus averting additional explosions that would have resulted in further casualties.

Direct hits on the Metropole and Central Hotels claimed the largest number of lives. An estimated 37 individuals were killed at the Metropole, although it is almost impossible to determine the exact number, as some of the wounded died over subsequent days. Fortunately, firemen were able to rescue 34 airmen trapped on the upper floors after the blast. 

The greatest loss of life occurred at the Central Hotel, where a single bomb resulted in 54 fatalities, including seven Australian airmen and six US Army personnel who were in the city on leave. A total of 59 buildings were destroyed in the raid, while another 3,422 suffered damage. At least 130 fatalities were attributed to the attack. The death toll included 81 civilians, 11 RCAF personnel, seven members of the Royal Australian Air Force, and six United States infantrymen. 

As for the attacking aircraft, one was shot down over Bournemouth, its pilot killed upon impact. A second plane was damaged and crashed as it attempted to land at Caen, killing the pilot. The remaining Focke-Wolf 190s returned safely to base.

Sergeant Raymond Francis Pelrine was inside the Metropole Hotel at the time of the raid and was one of the day’s 11 RCAF fatalities. According to a subsequent hospital report, he was “trapped in building which was bombed by the enemy” and suffered “multiple injuries” in the explosion, resulting in his death. Sgt. Pelrine was laid to rest in North Cemetery, Bournemouth, UK, on May 29, 1943, following a large funeral ceremony and procession.