Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Thursday, 4 August 2022

Flying Officer John Andrew "Jack" Diggins—Killed in Action July 13, 1943

 John Andrew “Jack” Diggins was born in Canso, Guysborough County, on January 12, 1912. Jack’s father, Walter Andrew Diggins, was a native of St. Francis Harbour, the son of William and Bridget (Power) Diggins. His mother, Sarah Elizabeth “Bessie,” was the daughter of Dan and Theresa (McNeil) Ryan, Canso.

Flying Officer John Andrew "Jack" Diggins

Walter and Bessie were married at Canso on January 29, 1907, after which the couple established residence in the fishing community. At the time of the 1911 Canadian census, the Diggins household included 30-year-old Walter, fisherman by occupation, his 24-year-old wife Bessie, and their children Theresa B., age two (DOB September 1908), and William D., age four months (DOB January 1911). A third child, daughter Viola M., was born in January 1910 but died in infancy.


During the following decade, four more children joined the Diggins family—John Andrew (January 12, 1912), Mary Agatha (February 19, 1913), Patrick (c. 1915) and Cecilia (c. 1917). Two other daughters died in infancy. Sarah Elizabeth, born February 25, 1914, died of bronchitis on July 30, 1915. Helena Ethel, born April 13, 1918, died of pneumonia on February 7, 1920.

The day before Helena Ethel’s death, Walter Diggins passed away at St. Martha’s Hospital, Antigonish. He suffered an injury to his hand in mid-January and was admitted to hospital with sepsis on January 28. Walter died of pneumonia on February 6, 1920, and was laid to rest in Canso. He was 40 years old at the time of his passing.

Her husband’s unexpected death left Bessie to care for six dependent children. At the time of the 1921 Canadian census, she was living in New Glasgow, her occupation listed as “washer woman.” Records list all six of her children—Theresa, William, John, Agatha, Patrick and Cecilia—as members of the household. Other documents, however, suggest that at least one of her children was residing elsewhere at the time.

Census records for the Mulgrave area list “John Diggins” as a “nephew” living in the household of Hibbert and Sarah Carr, Steep Creek. Sarah was an elder sister to Walter’s mother, Bridget Power, and thus a great-aunt to young Jack. Documents in his service file indicate that he spent his formative years in the Mulgrave area, during which time he developed a strong attachment to the Carr family.

On May 24, 1924, Jack’s mother Bessie married Frederick William Gerroir, a widowed native of Larry’s River and son of William George and Lillie (Pitts) Gerroir. The ceremony took place at St. Bee’s Rectory, Westville. The couple established residence in New Glasgow, where Fred and Bessie raised a family of five children. Three—Mary, Andrew and—were from Fred’s previous marriage, while Bessie gave birth to two daughters—Charlotte “Lottie” (Fennell) and Rita (Lewis}—from her second marriage.

Jack Diggins completed his elementary and secondary education school in Mulgrave, graduating from Grade XII in 1928. The following year, he completed a business course at Shaw Schools, Halifax. Employment prospects, however, were bleak as the effects of the Great Depression devastated the economy. From 1929 to 1934, Jack worked as a “labourer” at “odd jobs.” Finally, in 1934, he was hired as a “fireman” with Canadian National Railway’s Mulgrave operation.

 At the time, Mulgrave was a bustling hub for railway, vehicle and passenger traffic crossing the Canso Strait to and from Cape Breton. The island’s steel and coal industries produced valuable products for export to mainland markets, transported by rail car ferry to the mainland. A letter of recommendation in Jack’s military file, signed by William McMullen, Supervising Engineer, Ferry Services, SS Scotia, provides a brief description of Jack’s duties:

“[Jack] has been in the employ of the Canadian National Railways since November 21, 1934, as fireman, oiler and water tender, and for the last three years has been assisting the machinist, overhauling and repairing the main engines and auxiliaries on the [ferry] boat off service. During this time, I have always found Mr. Diggins sober, willing, a good workman, and very attentive to his various duties.”

Following Canada’s September 10, 1939 declaration of war on Germany, the Canso Strait quickly became a busy hub of military activity. Artillery batteries were established at Auld’s Cove and Sand Point to defend the entrances to the strategic body of water, and a military barracks was erected in Mulgrave. Soldiers from local militia units manned the batteries, defending the strategic location from enemy attack by water.

As he resided in the Strait area, one might expect Jack to be enticed into service with one of the local militia units. However, he chose a different path, applying for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) on January 18, 1941. Almost six months passed before he completed an interview at Halifax. The result was not only his acceptance as a “good Pilot prospect.” Jack’s age and maturity were likely a factor in the interviewer’s recommendation that he be considered for a commissioned rank.

On July 8, 1941, Jack attested with the RCAF at Halifax and commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class. He listed his great-aunt and foster-mother, Mrs. Sarah Margaret Carr, as his next of kin on his attestation form. While Jack was “taken on strength” at No. 1 Military District, Toronto, the same day, he did not commence training until September 14, 1941, when he reported to No. 5 Initial Training School (ITS), Belleville, ON.

Upon completing the initial phase of training, Jack was promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on November 7, 1941. The following day, he was assigned to No 6 Elementary Flight Training School (EFTS), Prince Albert, SK, for the first phase of pilot training. Unfortunately, his service file contains no details on his performance at the facility. The fact that he was transferred to Composite Training School, Trenton, ON, on December 10, 1941, suggests that he did not meet the requirements for the pilot stream.

After a three-week leave, Jack “re-mustered” as an “Air Observer” on December 31, 1941. Three days later, he reported to No. 10 Air Observer School (AOS), Chatham, NB, where he logged 77 hours’ flying time aboard an Anson aircraft, mainly in the role of Navigator. Instructors rated his performance as “above average” and described Jack as “conscientious and keen,” with “lots of backbone and perseverance.”

Jack’s performance in “armament” also impressed his supervisors: “This is a very conscientious observer [who] displayed excellent co-operation in the classroom.” Comments on his evaluation form describe Jack as “older and steadier than most observers. Keen to help others.” He placed fifth in a class of 20 cadets, achieving an average of 79 % in his course work. Jack earned an “above average’ rating and a recommendation for future consideration as an instructor.

On April 12, 1942, Jack was transferred to No. 6 Bombing & Gunnery School (BGS), Mountain View, ON, for the next phase of training. Over the next six weeks, he logged more than 37 hours aboard a Fairey Battle aircraft, placing ninth in a class of 26 cadets. While judged “average” in bombing, his gunnery skills were “quite good in all aspects.” Instructors described Jack’s overall performance as “thorough” and “reliable.”

Having earned his Air Observer’s badge, Jack was promoted to the rank of Temporary Sergeant on May 23, 1942. The following day, he was assigned to No. 1 Air Navigation School (ANS), Rivers, MB, for “advanced air observers” training. He logged more than 30 hours aboard an Anson aircraft while placing 8th in a class of 24 cadets. While instructors described his skills as “slightly above average,” they recommended that Jack be considered for instructor duties and an immediate commission.

On July 3 1942, Jack was promoted to the rank of Flying Officer. He placed 76th in a class of 277 cadets now considered ready for overseas service. After enjoying two weeks’ pre-embarkation leave, he reported to No. 31 General Reconnaissance School (GRS), Charlottetown, PE for a “navigation reconnaissance” course. Jack logged more than 23 hours as navigator aboard an Anson aircraft. Supervisors were impressed with his work ethic and concluded that “[w]ith experience he should prove himself to be a useful G. R. Observer.”

Jack was assigned to No. 1 “Y” Depot, Halifax, on August 16 and departed for overseas five days later. After arriving in the United Kingdom, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Recruitment Centre, Bournemouth, on September 2. At month’s end, Jack was assigned to No. 3 (Coastal) Operational Training Unit (OTU) for the final phase of his pre-service training.

OTUs prepared novice air crew for active duty by providing them with flight experience aboard the aircraft in which they would serve. No. 3 (Coastal) OTU was formed at Royal Air Force (RAF) Base Chivenor, on the north coast of Devon, England, in late November 1940. As its name suggests, its focus was the training of air crew for coastal surveillance, as opposed to bombing missions. Its aircraft, however, were capable of deploying weapons, specifically torpedoes that were delayed against enemy shipping, as well as bombs.

No. 3 OTU trained air crews aboard Bristol Beaufort, Avro Anson, Vickers Wellington and Armstrong Whitworth Whitley aircraft. In late July 1941, its Whitley and Wellington aircraft relocated to RAF Cranwell, while the Beaufort section remained at Chivenor, where it was re-designated No. 5 OTU.

Jack spent five months with No 3. OTU, training aboard a Vickers Wellington bomber. On January 3, 1943, he was officially promoted to the rank of Temporary Flight Officer. Two months later, he was assigned to No. 458 (Royal Australian Air Force) Squadron. Formed in Williamtown, New South Wales, Australia, in July 1941, the unit was officially established in the United Kingdom one month later. Throughout the war, 458 Squadron contained personnel from several countries—Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom—as well as its native Australia.

The unit commenced service in the European theatre in late October 1941, flying Vickers Wellington bombers. In late January 1942, 458 Squadron relocated to the Mediterranean theatre. Delays in the arrival of aircraft meant that it did not commence active operations until September 1942, when it re-formed at El Shallufa, north of Suez, Egypt.

The squadron conducted Maritime patrols, convoy escorts and mine-laying operations while operating Wellington bombers. During the first half of 1943, as Allied forces organized for a planned invasion of Sicily, the unit’s aircraft sank or damaged a number of enemy ships, including an Italian destroyer and cruiser.

No. 458 Squadron deployed its personnel in several locations throughout the Mediterranean theatre. One group operated at El Shallufa until March 1943—around the time of Jack’s transfer—when it relocated to Amiriyah, near Baghdad, Iraq. A second section was located at Luqa, Malta, while a third was based at Protville, Tunisia.

Jack was assigned to the Protville detachment and officially joined its ranks on March 11, 1943. Six days later, he flew his first mission as navigator aboard a Wellington, in search of enemy shipping along the Italian coast. Over the following six weeks, he participated in six more surveillance flights, several of which patrolled the area of Capo Gallo, near Palermo, Sicily.

On April 24, Jack participated in his first convoy escort mission. The following month, assignments focused on the Marsala docks at Trapani, Sicily, where Jack’s crew carried out three bombing missions before mid-month. On June 22, his aircraft conducted a “shipping strike” in the Tyrrhenian Sea, between the island of Sardinia and Italy. The crew reported “no enemy sightings. Weather good, with calm sea and good visibility.”

In July 1943, missions expanded to the Italian mainland. On July 11, the squadron dispatched six Wellingtons “on various anti-shipping searches between Corsica - Sardinia, Italy and Sicily, and round the west coast of Corsica and Sardinia.” A seventh plane containing Jack’s crew conducted an anti-shipping patrol over the Naples area. Its report indicated “no incident. Weather fair, sea moderate.” All aircraft safely returned to their Protville base.

On the night of July 12/13, 1943, ten of the Squadron’s Wellingtons “were engaged in shipping searches and strikes in the Tyrrhenian Seas and in the Straits between Corsica and Sardinia. All aircraft were airborne between 2025 hours and 2132 hours.” Patrol sightings during the day had reported two large vessels believed to be troop ships near the island of La Maddalena, located off the northeast coast of Sardinia. In response, six of the 10 aircraft were dispatched to carry out a night attack on the vessels.

Jack’s Wellington, piloted by Flying Officer William Charles Hailstone, Regina, SK, and two other planes were armed with torpedoes, while the remaining aircraft carried bombs. The unit’s operational records provided details on the mission’s outcome:

“Considerable shipping was noted in La Maddalena Harbour as a result of the thorough reconnaissance made by Col. Mackenzie at 100 ft.[,] in spite of considerable light and medium flak. No torpedo attack could be made, however, owing to the proximity of the ships to the islands and the mainland. The bomb carrying aircraft dropped their loads near the harbour and also the railway but no results were observed. Unfortunately the torpedo carrying aircraft of which F/O Hailstone was the Captain failed to return from this operation. A sighting report of vessels seen at La Maddalena was received from his aircraft but nothing further was heard from it…. The remaining five aircraft landed back at base by 0348 hours.”

Aboard the missing aircraft with F/O John Andrew Diggins and F/O Hailstone were Flight Sergeant Francis Gerald Crocker, RAF; Sergeant William Wallace Wright, Departure Bay, Vancouver Island, BC; Sergeant Howard Eldon Bradley, Moose Jaw, SK; Wireless Operator Donald Hyatt McConechy, Paddockwood, SK; F/O Kenneth John Neill, Campbelltown, South Australia; and Sergeant James Tindall, RAF.

A letter from the RCAF Overseas office to Sarah Carr, dated July 30, 1943, informed her that “your nephew, Flying Officer John Andrew Diggins, was reported missing as a result of air operations on the night of the 12/13 July 1943. Your nephew was Navigator of a Wellington aircraft, which took off on the above mentioned date on a shipping search strike against the enemy and failed to return.”

Over the ensuing months, there was no further information on the crew’s fate. A second letter to Sarah, dated June 30, 1944, stated that “your nephew, Flying Officer John Andrew Diggins, is now for official purposes presumed to have died on Active Service Overseas on July 13, 1943.” In mid-July, a telegram to Jack’s mother, Mrs. Frank Gerroir, New Glasgow, provided her with the same sad news.

Following the end of hostilities, military officials dispatched a set of Operational Wings and Certificate to Sarah in October 1946, “in recognition of the gallant services rendered by your nephew.” The final communication to family occurred in late September 1952, when an RCAF Casualties Officer informed Sarah that, “due to the lack of any information concerning [your nephew] since he was reported missing, it must be regretfully accepted and officially recorded that he does not have a ‘known’ grave.”

The letter also described plans to commemorate all missing air crew on “general memorials,” one of which “will be erected at Malta, and the name of your nephew will appear on that Memorial.” Jack’s name and those of his fellow crew members are among the 2,298 names engraved on the Malta Memorial, unveiled in 1954 in memory of Commonwealth air crew who lost their lives in the Mediterranean theatre and have no known graves.

Private Patrick Diggins (second from left)

Two of Jack’s brothers also served overseas during the Second World War. Jack’s older brother William Daniel “Bill” also enlisted for military service with the Canadian Army. Bill passed away at Stellarton, NS, in 1988. A younger brother, Patrick, enlisted with the North Nova Scotia Highlanders and served overseas with the unit. Upon returning home, Pat remained in uniform, serving with the Canadian Ordnance Corps, Windsor Park, Halifax. After leaving the military, he was employed by Health Canada (Food & Drug Division) and the Victoria General Hospital, Halifax. Pat passed away at Dartmouth on April 2, 2008.

Special thanks to Barry Diggins, Dartmouth, son of Jack's brother Patrick, who proofread the manuscript and provided photographs of Jack and Patrick Diggins.

Monday, 4 July 2022

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris "Burt" Jost, DFC—Killed in Action June 25, 1943

 Burton Norris “Burt” Jost was born on August 2, 1911, the son of Dr. Arthur Cranswick and Carrie Victoria “Tory” (Martin) Jost, Guysborough, NS. The Jost family traces its European roots to Johann Georg Jost, who was born at Strasbourg, Bas-Rhine, Alsace, France, in 1727. Johann immigrated to Nova Scotia in the early 1750s as part of a British initiative to attract “German Protestants” to counter-balance the colony’s predominantly Roman Catholic, Acadian population.

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost
In 1753, Johann married Susanna Catherine Morash (1735 - 1811) at Halifax. The couple lived in Lunenburg for several years before returning to the capital, where they raised a family of eight sons and three daughters. Johann passed away there in 1775.


One of Johann and Susanna’s sons, John Casper Jost, was born at Halifax in 1763 and married Mary Catherine Hirtle/Hartel at Halifax in 1791. The couple raised a family of nine children. In the summer of 1822, John (1797 - 1883), one of John Casper and Mary Catherine’s sons, arrived in Guysborough with his cousin, William Moir. Both men were shoemakers by trade and had travelled to the area in search of work.

Impressed by the community’s business prospects, John returned the following year with a supply of mercantile goods, purchased in a silent partnership with his brother George. A third brother, Christopher Francis (1805 - 1884), accompanied John. Throughout the summer of 1823, the brothers sold their stock and purchased fish from local fishermen for sale in the Halifax market.

The brothers operated the seasonal business for several summers, initially in a space rented from local property owners. By 1827, the venture proved profitable enough to persuade John and Christopher to permanently relocate to Guysborough, where they purchased waterfront property on the village’s Main Street.

Christopher and John bought out George’s share of the business, built a store on the waterfront lot, and established a mercantile operation known as “J & C Jost.” The brothers remained partners until 1838, when Christopher purchased his sibling’s share of the business. “C. Jost” continued to operate in the original location, while John launched a new venture, known as “The British House,” only a few buildings away.

The year prior to purchasing his brother’s share, Christopher married Harriet Hart in a ceremony held in nearby Manchester. Over the ensuing years, seven children—five boys and two girls—joined the Jost household. Cranswick (1838 - 1927), the couple’s eldest son, entered the ministry and served congregations in several New Brunswick and Nova Scotia communities.

Two of Christopher and Harriet’s younger sons, Burton A. (1842 - 1916) and George Edward (1848 - 1939), eventually purchased the business from their father. Renamed “B & G Jost,” the business operated on a cash and barter basis, often exchanging goods for a wide variety of local products, such as butter, eggs, meat and fish.

Burton and George also owned and operated several vessels that engaged in the Grand Banks fishery and coastal trade. In 1890, the brothers built a four-storey structure to replace the original store. Tragically, the building was destroyed by fire in December 1927, only to be replaced by a more modest structure, owned and operated by Burton’s son, Christopher Arnaud Jost. The family name remained on the business until its sale in 1990.

Burton and George raised their families in houses located on the hill above Main Street. While George moved to Ottawa, ON, in his later years, Burton was a lifelong Guysborough resident. On April 27, 1869, he married Sarah Ann Mercy Norris, daughter of George—also a merchant—and Hannah Norris, Canso. The couple raised a family of 12 children—eight boys and four girls—three of whom died in childhood.

Arthur Cranswick Jost, Burton and Sarah’s fifth child and third son, was born on October 17, 1874. While his younger brother, Christopher Arnaud, eventually assumed operation of the family business, Arthur chose a different career path. After completing secondary school studies at age 15, he attended Acadia University, Wolfville, where he completed a Bachelor of Arts degree.

In the autumn of 1893, Arthur enrolled in the Medicine program of studies at Dalhousie University, Halifax. He subsequently transferred to McGill University, Montreal, QC, where he graduated with a medical degree. Dr. Jost then returned to Nova Scotia, practising medicine at Neil’s Harbour and Advocate before returning to Guysborough.

On July 23, 1906, Arthur married Carrie Victoria “Tory” Martin, daughter of Joseph and Henrietta Martin, Sand Point, in a ceremony held in Guysborough. The couple’s first child, Clyde, was born on September 18, 1907, but died three months later. A second son, Victor Arthur, was born on March 5, 1910. The couple’s youngest child, Burton Norris, joined the family on August 2, 1911.

While operating a medical practice in the Guysborough area, Arthur also served with the Canadian Corps of Guides. The organization was established in 1903 for the purpose of providing intelligence information to the Non-Permanent Active Militia, in the event of war on Canadian soil. A Company operated in each of the country’s 12 military districts and was responsible for providing information to its units. The detachment responsible for Military District No. 6 (Nova Scotia) established its headquarters in New Glasgow, NS.

At the time of the outbreak of war in Europe, Arthur had risen to the rank of “Officer Commanding” (OC), No. 6 Detachment, Corps of Guides. While his age and family obligations presented significant obstacles to active military service, he eventually enlisted with the Canadian Army Medical Corps (CAMC) at Halifax, NS, on March 6, 1916. At that time, a wave of recruitment campaigns were sweeping across the province as representatives of three infantry battalions canvassed rural communities, in search of personnel for the Nova Scotia Highland Brigade.

Almost 42 years old at the time of his enlistment, Arthur volunteered to serve as the 64th Battalion’s Medical Officer and received the commissioned rank of Major. The unit, recruited across the three Maritime Provinces, departed for overseas aboard SS Adriatic at the end of March 1916 and set foot in the United Kingdom on April 9.

When the 64th was dissolved several months later, Arthur was briefly assigned to the 40th Battalion (Halifax Rifles), which soon suffered the same fate as the 64th. Arthur’s age made service on the continent unlikely. As a result, he was transferred to the CAMC Training School, Cheriton Camp, Folkestone, Kent, England, on July 13, 1916.

Before month’s end, Arthur was “detailed for duty as Senior Medical Officer, 6th CTB [Canadian Training Battalion].” During his time at Cheriton Camp, he made a four-day trip to France in late September, probably to visit CAMC facilities in the Étaples area.

In late October, Arthur was posted to the office of the Assistant Director of Medical Services, London Area.  Initially “detailed for duty” at Seaford Camp, Arthur relocated to nearby Brighton on November 19 and assumed the position of ADMS [Assistant Director of Medical Service] Canada for the area. He served in that capacity until early January 1917, when he became ADMS at nearby Shoreham.

The Brighton-Seaford-Shoreham area was dotted with military camps that contained thousands of Canadian soldiers awaiting orders to cross the English Channel to the continent. In addition to providing personnel with routine medical services as required, the CAMC operated Medical Boards responsible for assessing the fitness of wounded or ill soldiers for combat.

As spring approached, unexpected events at home brought Arthur’s overseas service to an abrupt end. In early March 1917, his 43-year-old wife wife Tory suffered an embolism that resulted in paralysis. She passed away on March 25. Six days later, Arthur was granted leave to Canada and departed the United Kingdom aboard a troop transport on April 4. Before month’s end, he was “permitted to resign” his commission.

Arthur remained in Guysborough for six months, during which time his younger sister Bessie (1876 - 1970) agreed to care for his sons, Victor and Burton. On October 15, 1917, he re-enlisted with the CAMC and was appointed Assistant Director of Medical Services for Military District No. 7 (New Brunswick), Saint John, NB. Promoted to the rank of Temporary Lieutenant Colonel in late March 1918, Arthur supervised the provision of medical services to departing and returning soldiers. On August 1, 1919, he was formally discharged from military service and returned to Guysborough.

While Arthur was residing in Guysborough at the time of the 1921 Canadian census, his two sons were living nearby with their aunt Bessie. Arthur eventually relocated to Halifax, where he assumed the duties of public health officer for the province of Nova Scotia. In December 1928, he accepted a position as Executive Secretary, State Board of Health, for the state of Delaware, and established residence in Dover City, Delaware. Arthur became an American citizen in 1934. That same year, he married Mrs. Clara Delene “Dell” (Bastian) Reed in a ceremony that took place in Denton, Maryland, on July 30.

Arthur’s sons spent their formative years in Nova Scotia. Burt commenced his schooling at Guysborough Academy, where he completed Grades I to V. Following his father’s appointment as public health officer for Nova Scotia, Burt relocated to Halifax, where he attended the Morris St. School and went on to complete his high school education at Halifax County Academy. In the autumn of 1928, just prior to his father’s departure for the United States, Burt commenced post-secondary studies at Dalhousie University and graduated in the spring of 1931 with a Bachelor of Science and Diploma in Engineering.

On May 15, 1931, Burt and his brother Victor crossed the United States border by rail at Vanceboro, ME, on their way to visit their father. Six weeks later, Burt completed a Declaration of Intention at Dover, Delaware, stating that he intended to seek American citizenship. In the autumn of 1934, he commenced Mining Engineering studies at Pennsylvania State College, known today as Pennsylvania State University.

Burt had shown an interest in geology while attending Dalhousie University. During one of his summer breaks, he worked as an assistant with the Geological Survey of Canada. While attending Pennsylvania State College, he completed two work terms as an “assistant right of way engineer” with the Delaware State Highway Department. Burt graduated from Penn State College with a Bachelor of Science in Mining in the spring of 1934 and returned to Canada to pursue a career as a mining engineer.

In August 1934, Burt commenced work as a miner with Buffalo-Ankerite Gold Mines, Deloro Township, Timmons, Ontario. Two months later, he accepted a position as a mine engineer with nearby Marbuan Gold Mines. In May 1936, Burt was promoted to chief engineer and mine captain. After three years at the Marbuan operation, he returned to the Buffalo-Ankerite mine, which had purchased Marbuan in 1936.

Burton Norris Jost (civilian photograph)

A passage from a letter of recommendation in Burt’s RCAF service file described the scope and quality of his work at Marbuan and Buffalo-Ankerite:

“His duties are to shape the policy of the underground workings and also to supervise all employees underground…. Mr. Jost is recognized as one of the best mine captains in this district. He is very well liked by all the miners at the mine and is well regarded by the staff there…. He presents a good appearance at all times and has a very good personality. Mr. Jost lives at the property in company-provided quarters and he mixes with the best people in the district. He belongs to the best clubs and is active in local sports…. He is well recommended by his employer for any position of trust.”

On June 10, 1940, Burt applied for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). The following day, he sat for an interview at Sudbury, ON. The interviewer noted that Burt was “well educated” and “”keen,” and rated him an “above average” candidate. Perhaps considering his age and educational background—Burt was almost 30 years old at the time—the interviewer judged him an excellent candidate for “Navigation Instructor.” A second assessment, dated four months later, mentioned the initial recommendation but commented that Burt had “no teaching experience.”

Burt formally enlisted with the RCAF at North Bay, ON, on December 20, 1940. He commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class and was placed in the “Pilot/Observer Standard” stream. At the time of his enlistment, he signed an “Air Crew Enlistment Agreement,” acknowledging that he would be called upon to perform “other than Air Crew duties” until such time as the RCAF “was in a position to commence” his training.

In mid-January 1941, Burt was assigned to No. 17 Flight Training School, Stanley, approximately 35 kilometers northeast of Windsor, NS. As the facility was still under construction—it did not open its doors to trainees until mid-March 1941—Burt was assigned to “guard duty” at the facility. On March 24, he commenced the first stage of flight instruction at No. 3 Initial Training School (ITS), Victoriaville, QC.

At the end of the three-and-a-half week program, Burt placed 17th in a class of 370 cadets and was recommended for the “Pilot” stream. An instructor observed that he was “quick on the trigger and has a mind of his own - should do well.” Promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on April 20, Burt was assigned to No. 2 Elementary Flight Training School (EFTS), Fort William, ON, the following day.

Over the next two months, Burt logged more than 90 hours flying time in a Tiger Moth trainer, earning the highest possible pilot’s rating of “AA.” A comment on his assessment record described him as “a good steady pilot…. Keen and willing.” Burt’s ground training performance was also impressive—he placed 2nd in a class of 23 pilots and was described as possessing “exceptional ability.” Instructors recommended “bomber squadron training (twin engine),” as well as consideration for a commissioned rank.

On July 3, Burt report to No. 6 Service Flight Training School (SFTS), Dunville, ON. Once again, he logged more than 90 hours’ flying time—dual and solo, daytime and night-time—over the summer months. While his instructor rated Burt “an average pilot,” he noted that he was “above average in navigation. This pilot is very smooth on controls, will improve greatly with more time.”

Burt received an Officer’s Commission and promotion to the rank of Pilot Officer on September 13. the same day on which he received his Pilot’s Flying Badge. Two weeks later, he departed for overseas. Shortly after arriving in the United Kingdom, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth, on October 13 and was immediately assigned to No. 12 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Chipping Warden, Banbury, UK.

Formed in April 1940 to train light bomber air crew, No. 12 OTU was part of No. 1 Group, Royal Air Force (RAF) Bomber Command. OTUs offered air force personnel the first opportunity to train aboard the aircraft they would operate on active service. Burt’s new unit operated two-engine Fairey Battle I aircraft. OTUs also provided the first opportunity for establishment of air crews and their development into cohesive combat units.

Burt spent three months with No 12 OTU, honing is pilot skills. On January 25, 1942, he was assigned to No. 419 Squadron. Formed at Mildenhall in mid-December 1941, the unit became known as the “Moose” Squadron, after the nickname of its first Wing Commander, John “Moose” Fulton.  The unit initially operated two-engine Wellington bombers, but later converted to Halifax (November 1942) and Lancaster (March 1944) aircraft.

On February 16, 1942, Burt flew his first mission with 419 Squadron as “2nd pilot” aboard a Wellington bomber. The aircraft set off on “a nickel raid”—dropping leaflets over Lille, France—but “had to land shortly after taking off as the inter-com failed.” Two nights later, the same crew completed a successful “nickel raid” over the French city.

On February 23, the Squadron became “non-operational” as personnel “commenced intensive training for conversion to Mark III’s, the latest Wellington model to enter combat service. Burt’s missions resumed in early April, at which time he completed seven flights as 2nd pilot in a Wellington piloted by the Squadron Leader. On one occasion, the starboard side of the fuselage was “hit by heavy flak,” but the aircraft safely returned to base.

Burt piloted his first mission on May 17, flying a Wellington bomber on a planned raid on Boulogne, France. Unfortunately, heavy cloud cover meant that the aircraft was not able to drop its bombs. His crew carried out a successful second mission—a bombing raid on the German city of Cologne—in late May.

During June and July 1942, Burt and his crew completed 17 missions without serious incident. While the vast majority were bombing raids on German cities, the air crew also carried out several “gardening” operations, planting “vegetables”—mines—along the approaches to several ports. Burt’s record was quite remarkable, considering the perils involved—the aircraft he piloted suffered no damage during any of its summer missions.

Flt. Lt. Jost (2nd from right) meets King George VI (2nd from left)—June 12, 1942

Over the next two months, Burt logged only two additional missions—August 6 and September 1—as he completed his “operational tour.” Altogether, he logged a total of 31 missions over a six-month span. As a result, Burt was “struck off strength” on September 22 and assigned to No. 22 OTU, Wellesbourne Mountford, Warwickshire, where he used his flying expertise and combat experience to instruct trainees in the operation of Wellington bombers.

On November 2, 1942, Flight Lieutenant Burton Jost was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross, in recognition of the “courage and determination [displayed] in his operational sorties against the enemy….[W]hile acting as flight commander, [he] has set an inspiring example to those subordinate to him.”

Burt served as an instructor with No. 22 OTU throughout the winter of 1942 - 43, enjoying 10 days of personal leave in mid-March 1943. At some point after returning to duty, he volunteered for a second operational tour. On May 21, Burt was assigned to No. 1659 Heavy Conversion Unit, Topcliffe, Yorkshire, which trained air crew in the operation of four-engine Halifax and Lancaster bombers. He spent three weeks with the unit before returning to No. 419 Squadron on June 12.

One week later, Burt flew his first mission as pilot of a Halifax II aircraft—a successful bombing raid on the Schneider Works, an iron and steel mill located at Le Creusot, France. Two days later, his crew completed a successful mission over Krefeld, near Düsseldorf, Germany. It appeared that Burt’s second operational tour was off to a successful start.

At 10:40 pm June 24, 1943, Burt and his crew departed from No. 419 Squadron’s base at Middle St. George aboard Halifax JD147 on their third mission since Burt’s return. The bomber was one of 16 aircraft assigned to a 600-plane bombing raid on Wuppertal, approximately 35 kilometres east of Düsseldorf, Germany. Aboard the aircraft with Burt was Sergeant Ernest Bailey Pope, RAF, navigator; Flight Sergeant Ashley William Bruce, Royal New Zealand Air Force, bomb aimer; Flight Officer Robert Oscar Goodwin, Niagara Falls, ON, wireless operator/air gunner; Sergeant Julius Bjorn Johnson, Kirkland Lake, ON, flight engineer; Flight Sergeant Lesley Barker, RAF, second gunner; and Sergeant Robert Edward Austin, RAF, rear gunner.

While the 600 bombers shared a common target, the aircraft travelled in small groups and followed different routes to avoid detection. Based on information later provided by surviving crew members and civilian witnesses on the ground, a narrative of the eventful flight was later assembled.

As Halifax JD147 crossed Belgian air space and headed northeastward toward the border with the Netherlands, a German Luftwaffe Messerschmitt Bf 110 night fighter, piloted by Obw. Reinhard Kollak, made contact with the aircraft north of Maastricht, Netherlands. Kollak opened fire on the plane, his first volley missing its target. Managing to avoid return fire from tail gunner Austin, the German pilot brought his aircraft around and below the bomber for a second round of gunfire.

Shells from Kollak’s cannon struck the bomber’s starboard wing, causing its outer engine to burst into flames. The fire quickly spread to the wing, prompting Burt to put the plane into a nose dive in an attempt to extinguish the flames. The maneuver proved unsuccessful and the fire quickly spread to the aircraft’s fuselage. As the incident unfolded, the bomber crossed into Dutch air space.

Realizing that the aircraft was disintegrating, Burt gave orders to jettison its bombs and instructed the crew to exit the plane. He and Sgt. Johnson wrestled with the controls, attempting to maintain an altitude and level flight path to allow the crew to safely evacuate. Bomb aimer Sgt. Bruce jumped out of the burning fuselage near Maastricht, while rear gunner Sgt. Austin left the plane near Leropperweg. As the bomber continued its descent, navigator Sgt. Pope and second gunner Flight Sgt. Barker jumped out.

From his vantage point in the cockpit, Burt could see that the aircraft was heading toward a settled area—the town of Roermond. He fired several flares in a desperate search for open ground where he could make a crash landing. By this time, only three crew members remained on board—Burt, flight engineer Sgt. Johnson and bomb aimer Flight Officer Goodwin. The aircraft was flying at a low altitude, heading directly for the town.

At a height of approximately 900 feet, Goodwin made his way out of the burning plane. Burt and Sgt. Johnson, however, remained aboard, managing to steer the aircraft away from Roermond as it disintegrated in the air. What remained of the bomber struck the ground in a field known locally as Hammer Feld, located between the village of Herten and Roermond. Local firefighters located the separated cockpit section and, after extinguishing the flames, recovered Burt’s and Johnson’s remains.

German soldiers on the ground eventually located and detained Flight Sgt. Bruce, Sgt. Austin, Sgt. Pope and Flight Sgt. Barker. Flight Officer Goodwin’s parachute failed to properly deploy and he was severely injured when he struck the ground. While local residents later recounted hearing his cries for help, he was not located that evening. His remains were found several weeks after the crash, as German authorities removed debris from the site.

At the time of the crash in the early hours of June 25, 1943, the fate of Halifax JD147 was a mystery. No 419 Squadron’s operational record noted that the bomber was one of three aircraft that failed to return to base. Until further details on the crew’s fate surfaced, for official purposes the crew was considered to be “missing.”

On June 30, No. 419 Squadron wrote to Dr. Jost, informing him that Burt was “missing” after an operation on the night of June 24, 1943:

“He was Captain of an aircraft detailed to attack a target in Germany on that night and unfortunately has been unreported since take-off, and I am afraid his loss can only be through enemy action. There is, of course the possibility that he may be a prisoner of war, but news of this could not be expected for some time yet. Burt as you know finished his first tour of operations with us and after a period of rest at a Conversion Unit came back to his old Squadron as Flight Commander of ‘A’ Flight. I had recommended him for Squadron Leader rank…. Your son and I were old and fast friends and I can assure you that I had great respect for his ability as a pilot and Captain of aircraft as well as for his many fine qualities. His happy carefree manner was a real tonic to all who came in contact with him and his knowledge of Bomber tactics was a great assistance to the newer lads on the Squadron. The news of his being missing has certainly thrown quite a cloud over his flight and the Squadron as a whole.”

The news of Burt’s fate reached Arthur at a difficult time. Only days earlier—June 19, 1943—his second wife Dell had passed away at Dover, Delaware. The two incidents may have persuaded Arthur to return to his roots. A note in Burt’s service file, dated December 8, 1943, noted a change in Dr. Jost’s address to Guysborough, NS.

As the months passed, RCAF officials gradually began to assemble information on the fate of Halifax JD147’s crew members. Flight Sgt. Bruce and Flight Sgt. Barker were transported to Stalag Luft L6, Heydekrug, Lithuania, while Sgt. Pope and Sgt. Austin were detained at Stalag 357, near Fallingbostel, Germany. The fate of Flight Lieutenant Jost, Sgt. Johnson and Flight Officer Goodwin, however, remained a mystery.

A statement from Flight Sgt. Barker, obtained on May 7, 1944, through Red Cross channels, indicated that both Sgt. Johnson and Lt. Jost were aboard the aircraft when it crashed. Barker stated: “I don’t know whether they were killed or wounded. I was unconscious for 10 days in a Dutch hospital and don’t remember what happened.”

A second statement, obtained from Sgt. Pope on May 15, 1944, corroborated Flight Sgt. Barker’s recollections:

“Our machine was attacked by enemy fire and set on fire. None of the crew were hit by gun fire. After a futile attempt to put the fire out F/Lt. Jost gave the orders to bale out, which were received by all members as far as I know. The plane was still flying at good altitude in an easterly direction, and F/Lt. Jost was still at his post when I baled out. I was second out of the plane which was by then a mass of flames.”

Sgt. Pope also recalled that the incident occurred near Venlo, Netherlands, which proved to be an important piece of information.

Following the end of hostilities in Europe in May 1945, the search for missing RCAF crew members intensified. RCAF investigators spread out across France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany, gathering information on lost aircraft and attempting to locate missing airmen.

Through a family connection, Dr. Jost was able to do some detective work on his own, in hopes of locating his missing son. On August 3, 1945, RCAF officials in Canada forwarded correspondence they had received from Arthur to the Canadian Casualty Branch, London, England. An excerpt from the letter contained specific information about the crash of Burt’s aircraft:

“Two bodies were found in the wreckage of the plane at once. The person first on the scene was C. Van Dyck, a Dutch Police Constable… One injured man, Sgt. Barker, was then found, he being an RAF man. The body of the third airman [Goodwin] was not found for several weeks when the wreckage of the plane was being removed. The first two bodies are in a cemetery, one marked the grave of an unknown RCAF airman, the other as the grave of an unknown RAF airman. This is an error as it is known that all the RAF men were accounted for otherwise. I have other addresses, the Hospital, the address of the physician who looked after Barker, etc. Just now the locality where the third body was buried is not yet known. And I believe that it is yet impossible to identify the individual graves. I still think it is damnably little to your credit that you are only now commencing to trace your missing men.”

An additional letter in Burt’s file, dated September 14, 1945, noted that four of Halifax JD147’s crew—former prisoners of war—were now safely in the United Kingdom. Flight Officer Goodwin’s grave had been located in a Roermond cemetery. The two remaining crew members—Flight Lieutenant B. N. Jost and Sgt. J. R. Johnson—were presumed to have been killed in the crash but the whereabouts of their graves was unknown. The letter concluded with a recommendation that “an investigation be carried out in the vicinity of Venlo in an effort to find out if the above noted officer and airman are buried there.”

The information led investigators to a cemetery in Venlo, where the two unidentified bodies from the June 25, 1943 crash had been buried. The remains, identified as Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost and Sergeant J. R. Johnson, were initially re-interred in Venlo Military Cemetery. As time passed, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission decided to consolidate the remains of soldiers and airmen buried in small cemeteries into larger military cemeteries. On October 2, 1947, Burt and his crew mate were re-interred in Jonkerbosch British Cemetery, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

During the years following the war, the residents of Roermond did not forget Halifax JD147’s crash landing in a nearby field. Determined to preserve the memory of the two crew members who remained aboard until impact, thus sacrificing their lives, the town named a local street “Burton Jostweg” in honour of the Canadian pilot who steered the burning aircraft clear of its boundaries. A plaque bearing the names of Flight Lieutenant Jost and Sergeant Johnson was also erected at the crash site. In Canada, a lake in the Northwest Territories was named “Jost Lake” in memory of Burt.

Burton Jostweg, Roermond, Netherlands (Google Maps street view)

Dr. Jost spent his final years in Guysborough. During that time, he researched and wrote several articles on local history and gathered genealogical information, all of which was compiled into a volume, Guysborough Sketches and Essays, published in 1950. Dr. Jost also provided funds for the establishment of the Burton Norris Jost Scholarship, awarded to a graduate of Guysborough Academy—now Guysborough High School. The scholarship is still awarded annually.

Dr. Arthur Cranswick Jost passed away on March 24, 1958, at the Nova Scotia Hospital, Dartmouth, where he had been a patient for seven and a half months. He was laid to rest in Guysborough, NS.

Arthur’s older son Victor became an American citizen on June 21, 1937, and later went to work as a draftsman with the Delaware State Highway Department’s engineering corps. He enlisted in the United States Army on February 27, 1942, and was stationed at Headquarters, 44 Division Army, Tacoma, Washington, at the time of his brother Burt’s death.

Victor served overseas as a T/4 [Technician 4th Grade] Sergeant with the 44th Division. Upon arriving home, Victor returned to his previous position with the Delaware State Highway Department. On June 3, 1950, Victor married Lillian R. Clarke, a native of Ohio. The couple had no children. Lillian passed away at Dover, Delaware, on May 15, 1972, while Victor died at Ocean City, Worcester, Maryland, on March 30, 1989. He was laid to rest in Odd Fellows Cemetery, Camden, Kent, Delaware, beside his wife Lillian.

Information on the Jost family’s arrival in Guysborough and the operation of the family business obtained from two sources: a) John N. Grant’s “Historic Guysborough—Images of Our Past” and Christopher Cook’s “Along the Streets of Guysborough,” Second Edition.

Tuesday, 7 June 2022

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron—Died of Illness June 20, 1943

 Allan Cantley Cameron was born in New Glasgow, NS, on October 16, 1921, the son of Alexander Christopher and Queenie Mae (Fanning) Cameron. Alexander was the son of Allan and Annie (Dort) Cameron, Canso, while Queenie was the daughter of Andrew and Isabella (Davidson) Fanning, Drum Head.

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron

According to census records, Alexander Cameron spent his early life in Canso, where his father Allan worked as a stone mason. Sometime after 1911, Alexander moved to Pictou County. He was working as a baker at the time of his December 24, 1920, marriage to Queenie Fanning in a ceremony that took place in the United Church Baptist Parsonage, New Glasgow.

Alexander and Queenie’s first child, Allan Cantley, was born at New Glasgow on October 16, 1921. Two more children—Cyril (c. 1925) and Isabelle (c. 1930)—later joined the household. At an unknown date, the family returned to the Canso area. Cantley left school at age 16, having completed Grade VIII. He was working for A. E. Cousins, Canso, as a “truck driver’s helper” when he enlisted with the 86th Heavy Battery, 6th Coastal Brigade, Royal Canadian Artillery, at Antigonish, NS, on October 11, 1939.

In fact, Cantley’s service record indicates that he joined the unit’s ranks on September 20, only 11 days after Canada’s declaration of war on Nazi Germany. He was five days shy of his 18th birthday at the time, which may explain the incorrect birth year of 1920 recorded on his attestation. Two later documents in Cantley’s service file indicate that he was born in 1921.

The 86th Heavy Battery, a Canadian militia unit, was officially established at Antigonish in 1920 as a field artillery battery. Its predecessor, the 18th Field Battery, had operated in the community since 1905 and was responsible for coastal defences in the Strait of Canso area. The 18th was dissolved in a post-war reorganization of Canada’s militia. Its replacement, the 86th, was a sub-unit of a newly created 16th Coastal Artillery Brigade, headquartered in Sydney. The battery consisted of two sections, each armed with three 18-pounder field guns.

In June 1938, the unit was redesigned the 86th Coastal Battery and was outfitted with a four-inch naval gun. At the same time, military authorities developed plans in the event of war to establish two batteries on the mainland side of the Strait of Canso. The rail terminals and ferry operation located there were considered vital transportation links, as coal and steel produced in Sydney would be critical wartime resources.

While hostile surface vessels were not expected to enter the Strait of Canso in wartime, submarines posed a real threat. In response, following Canada’s September 12, 1939 declaration of war on Nazi Germany, military authorities responsible for home defence established two batteries on the mainland. Beacon Battery, equipped with two four-inch guns, was located at Auld’s Cove to defend the Northumberland Strait entrance and commenced operation on October 1, 1939. The second battery, located at Melford, overlooked the Atlantic entrance and entered service three days later.

To provide the required personnel, the 86th expanded its manpower to 180 men. Each battery also possessed two long-range search lights, while the Canadian Navy provided patrol vessels. Radar defence systems were also placed at Auld’s Cove and Sand Point to guard against air attack. While anti-submarine netting was discussed, military authorities considered its use in defending Sydney and Halifax harbours a higher priority. In any case, the strong currents passing through the Strait would have made installation difficult.

Following his enlistment, Cantley served with the 86th Battery in the Sydney and Strait of Canso areas. He spent several days in Sydney Military Hospital with influenza in early February 1940 and was granted two weeks’ furlough at Melford on April 30, 1940. He also spent several days in Port Hawkesbury Military Hospital in late June for treatment of influenza.

Cantley served in the Strait area until October 11, 1940, when he was transferred to No. 6 District Depot, Halifax. One month later, he departed for overseas and disembarked at Gourock, Scotland, on November 28, 1940. The following day, he was assigned to No. 1 Canadian Artillery Holding Unit (CAHU), Bordon, UK.

Established as reinforcement pools for active artillery units, holding units were not intended to function as training centres. However, many of the recruits arriving overseas were not ready for active duty. As a result, holding units established an “instructional wing” with “training batteries,” each connected to an active field unit.

Following a 10-day landing leave, Cantley was admitted to British Isolation Hospital, Bordon, on December 14. Documents in his service file provide no details as to the reason. Discharged after a two-week stay, Cantley remained with No. 1 CAHU until mid-February 1941, when he was transferred to No. 2 CAHU. Among its responsibilities was anti-aircraft defence.

On March 15, Cantley was attached to No. 1 LAA (Light Anti-Aircraft) Regiment, based at Colchester, UK. During the war’s first months, the unit had served in France and Belgium with the British Expeditionary Force. Its personnel saw combat during the German invasion of France and Belgium in May 1940 and were evacuated from Dunkirk in late May and early June. Following its return to the United Kingdom, No. 1 LAA re-formed with personnel from the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Light Anti-Aircraft Batteries and was assigned to “Home Defence Duties” during the Battle of Britain.

Cantley’s time with No. 1 LAA would have provided valuable instruction from experienced gunners. He received one week’s “privilege leave” in early May 1941 and once again was hospitalized for a week after returning to duty. His service file provides no information as to the nature of his illness. On September 20, 1941, Cantley was awarded a Good Conduct Badge, having completed two years of military service without a disciplinary infraction.

Throughout the autumn and winter of 1941-42, Cantley remained on duty in the United Kingdom. On July 1, 1942, he was issued an identification card for “Mechanical Transport Drivers,” indicating that he had completed a driver’s training course. In September, Cantley received a second Good Conduct badge. He spent almost three weeks in hospital in November, again for reasons that are not explained in his service file.

Following a week’s leave in late January 1943, Cantley returned to duty on February 4. One month later, he was admitted to Military Hospital, Reading. An entry on a later “Medical Report on Death” states that he was diagnosed with “ptosis left eyelid” on March 3, 1943. The medical term describes a “drooping” of the eyelid, caused by damage to the nerve that controls its muscles.

On March 24, Cantley was transferred to No. 4 Casualty Clearing Station (CCS). Two days later, he was admitted to No. 1 Neurological Hospital. A comment on his “Medical Report on Death” form states that medical staff had determined “involvement [of] both third, both fourth, both seventh cranial nerves” in causing Cantley’s eye condition.

Cantley spent six weeks at the neurological facility, departing the United Kingdom for Canada on May 13, 1943. Upon disembarking, Cantley travelled by train to Toronto, where he was admitted to Christie St. Hospital on May 23. An examination at the time of his admission “showed cranial nerves involved as above, with periods of drowsiness or lethargy of variable degree and duration.”

While Cantley’s condition initially improved, a June 14 entry on his medical records reported a “very obvious relapse, with increasing temperature and pulse rate, marked increase in drowsiness.” Over the next several days, his “condition rapidly progressed with marked morning temperature and increasing pulse rate.”

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron's headstone, Fourth Hill Cemetery, Canso, NS

Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron passed away at Christie St. Hospital, Toronto, on June 20, 1943. His Ontario death certificate lists the cause of death as encephalitis (inflammation of the brain caused by an infection). Cantley’s remains were transported home to Canso, where he was laid to rest in Fourth Hill Cemetery. Queenie Cameron passed away at Canso in 1979, while her husband Alexander died the following year. Both were laid to rest in Fourth Hill Cemetery, near their eldest son’s grave.

Photograph of Gunner Allan Cantley Cameron courtesy of his niece, Sandra Beaumaster, St. Andrews, NB.