Photo Caption & Contact Email

Banner Photograph: Members of the North Nova Scotia Highlanders in England, 1941 (courtesy of Robert MacLellan, Cape Breton Military History Collections)

Contact E-mail Address: brucefrancismacdonald@gmail.com

Wednesday, 7 September 2022

Flight Sergeant Lawrence Fabian Joseph Power—Killed in Action August 18, 1943

 Lawrence Fabian Joseph Power was born in Mulgrave, Guysborough County, on January 16, 1916, the son of Rose (O’Neill) and William Patrick Power. Fabian had Irish roots on both sides of his family. His mother’s patrilineal O’Neill ancestors traced their roots to Henry O’Neill, born at Lisnafudy—now known as Lisnafeedy—Armagh, Ireland. Henry and his Irish wife, Rosanna Donnelly, immigrated to Nova Scotia at an unknown date. The couple settled in the Strait of Canso area, where they raised a family of 11 children—five boys and six girls—all of whom are believed to have been born in Nova Scotia.

Flight Sergeant Fabian Power

Henry and Rosanna’s youngest son, Joseph, was born at Auld’s Cove on August 17, 1852, and married Elizabeth Jane O’Neill, daughter of Samuel Joseph and Mary (Fraser) O’Neill, at St. Lawrence Church, Mulgrave, on January 30, 1873. Samuel Joseph’s grandfather, William O’Neill, was born in Wexford, Ireland, around 1805 and had immigrated to Nova Scotia at an unknown date.

In 1827, William obtained a 100-acre grant at Morristown, Antigonish County. He married Elizabeth Mahoney, an Antigonish County native, and spent at least a decade at Morristown before relocating to Grosvenor, Guysborough County, before 1841. One of William and Elizabeth’s sons, Samuel C., was born at Morristown around 1831 and married Mary Fraser. Samuel and Mary’s oldest child, Elizabeth Jane, was born in Grosvenor on May 29, 1852, and married Joseph, son of Henry and Rosanna O’Neill, thus connecting two separate O’Neill lineages. The first of Joseph and Elizabeth’s 13 children—a daughter, Rose, Fabian’s mother—was born at Cape Porcupine on December 18, 1873.

On his father William Patrick’s side, Fabian was a descendant of David B. Power, born in County Waterford, Ireland, around 1795. David immigrated to Nova Scotia at an unknown date and married Isabella Anderson, a native of Morristown, Antigonish County, in a ceremony held at Arisaig around 1820. The couple followed Isabella’s brother, James Anderson, and her nephew, Donald Daniel Anderson, to Havre Boucher, where the Anderson clan established mercantile, hotel and shipping businesses over the subsequent years.

David Power passed away in Mulgrave on June 21, 1861, while Isabella died in the same community on July 6, 1874. The couple’s second son, William, was born in Havre Boucher on March 15, 1827, and married Mary Sarah Higlan—also spelled “Highland” and “Hyland”—daughter of Bridget (Farrell) and Pierce “Pierre” Highland, at St. Paul’s Church, Havre Boucher, around 1851.

Land records indicate that William and Mary purchased a house and five acres of land at Havre Boucher shortly after their marriage. On April 8, 1862, the couple acquired a second parcel of land at Melford—later known as Mulgrave—from a Thomas and Mary Power. Oral family history claims that Thomas and William were related, but the exact nature of the connection is unknown.

The 1871 Canadian census lists William and Mary, both 44 years of age and natives of Nova Scotia, living in the Melford district of Guysborough County, where William worked as a “fisherman.” At that time, the Power home included eight children—John J., age 17, fisherman; Mary Ann, age 15; Bridget, age 13; William Patrick, age 12; Lawrence B., age nine; Michael J., age seven; Sarah, age four; and Walter, age one.

A decade later, the five youngest children still resided in the Power family’s North Melford home. By 1891, William Sr.’s occupation was listed as “Hotel and Store Keeper.” Still part of the household were sons William Patrick, age 30, and Michael, age 23, both “fishermen” by occupation, and their younger sister Sarah, age 21.

On January 15, 1896, William Patrick Power married Rose O’Neill in a ceremony held at St. Lawrence Roman Catholic Church, Mulgrave. At the time of the 1901 Canadian census, two children—a daughter Mary Elizabeth “Blanche,” age three (DOB September 15, 1897), and a son William Joseph, age one (DOB September 12, 1899)—had joined the family.

Over the ensuing decade, another six children arrived—Francis John “Frank” (DOB January 1902); Samuel Sylvester (DOB October 1903); Bernard Ambrose (DOB January 1905); Margaret Loretta (DOB December 1907); Catherine Clotilda (DOB October 1909); and John O’Neil (DOB April 1911). Also in the home at the time of the 1911 Canadian census was William Patrick’s mother Mary, age 87. His father, William Sr., had passed away at Mulgrave on March 23, 1903.

Three more sons joined the Power household after 1911—Michael William (June 15, 1914); Lawrence Fabian Joseph (January 16, 1916); and Charles Patrick “Pat” (c. 1919). A fourth son, Donald, died in childhood prior to 1921. During these years, William Patrick worked as a carpenter with Canadian National Railways, one of Mulgrave’s main employers. The family also accommodated boarders. On April 13, 1916, William Patrick’s mother Mary passed away at Mulgrave and was laid to rest alongside her husband in St. Lawrence Roman Catholic Cemetery.

Fabian attended Loggie St. School from September 1921 to June 1929. He then moved on to Mulgrave High School, where he completed a year’s studies before leaving in December 1930, midway through his Grade 10 year. It was a difficult time to enter the work world, as the impact of the Great Depression resulted in few employment opportunities. Fabian worked at odd jobs in the community and helped out at home.

Finally, in October 1937, Fabian found work as a miner at the Chester Basin Facey Gold Mine. The following spring, he relocated to a mining operation at Seal Harbour. In September 1938, he was hired as a “rough carpenter” by the “Work Services” branch of the Royal Canadian Engineers. The unit was busy constructing and repairing defensive structures along the Strait of Canso, in anticipation of the outbreak of war in Europe.

The position allowed Fabian to return to the Mulgrave area, where he once again resided with his parents. Following the outbreak of war in Europe in September 1939, he began to contemplate enlistment. Finally, in early March 1940, Fabian submitted an application to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) at Halifax, NS. After a wait of almost eight months, he attested for service with the RCAF on October 26, 1940.

Fabian was initially recommended for “Standard General Duties” and received the rank of Aircraftman Class 2. One month after enlistment, he was assigned to No. 5 Bomber & Gunnery School, Charlottetown, for guard duty. On January 26, 1941, Fabian was promoted to Aircraftman Class 1. In late March, he was attached to No. 17 Elementary Flight Training School, Stanley, NS, for duty. While serving there, Fabian was promoted to Leading Aircraftman (LAC) on April 26, 1941.

On June 4, 1941, Fabian was transferred to No. 2 Air Navigation School, Pennfield Ridge, NB. Three months later, he was promoted to the rank of Acting Corporal with pay. It appears that while serving at these various locations, Fabian was also engaged in training. On November 23, 1941, he qualified as  Security Guard Class C.

Throughout the winter of 1942 - 43, Fabian remained on duty at the Pennfield Ridge facility. In the spring of 1942, the trajectory of his military service took a different direction. On May 27, 1942, Fabian was assigned to a Flying Instructor’s Course at No. 34 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Pennfield Ridge. During his time there, he completed more than 90 hours of solo and almost 80 hours of dual flight training aboard Harvard and Moth aircraft.

While instructors commented that he “lacks confidence,” they were certain that “experience should overcome this…. This NCO [non-commissioned officer] will make a steady and conscientious instructor. He has a thorough knowledge of sequence and only needs experience to polish his technique.”

Fabian remained in New Brunswick until October 26, 1942, at which time he was posted to No. 9 Bombing & Gunnery School, Mont Joli, QC. While his service record provides no details, it appears that he was no longer a candidate for flying instructor. Two weeks later, he re-mustered as an “Air Gunner Standard.” The change meant that Fabian now commenced training for active combat duty at Mont Joli.

Over the next three months, Fabian logged 12 hours of flying time as an Air Gunner while completing ground training courses. He placed 21st in a class of 73 cadets, achieving an average of 71.4 % in his course work. On February 5, 1943, Fabian received his Air Gunner’s Badge and was promoted to the rank of Temporary Sergeant. Instructors noted that he was a “good student, co-operative, hard worker, popular, neat in appearance.”

After a two-week embarkation leave, Fabian reported to 1Y Depot, Halifax, on February 20, 1943. Two weeks later, he was formally assigned to the Royal Air Force (RAF) Training Pool and departed for overseas on March 9. Upon arriving in the United Kingdom eight days later, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth.

On April 13, 1943, Fabian was assigned to No. 22 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Wellesbourne Mountford. OTUs provided airmen with the first opportunity to train aboard the aircraft on which they would fly combat missions. Formed in April 1941, No. 22 OTU trained night bomber crews aboard two-engine Vickers Wellington aircraft.

After completing the OTU’s program, Fabian proceeded to No. 1659 Heavy Conversion Unit (HCU) on June 17, 1943. HCUs were designed to transition air crew from two-engine to four-engine aircraft. Based at RAF Topcliffe, No. 1659 HCU provided training experience aboard four-engine Lancaster bombers. Fabian spent three weeks with the unit, after which he was assigned to active duty with No. 419 Squadron on July 10, 1943.

Established at Mildenhall, UK, in mid-December 1941, Fabian’s new unit was known as the “Moose” Squadron, in honour of its first Wing Commander, John “Moose” Fulton. The squadron initially flew two-engine Wellington aircraft, but began the transition to four-engine Halifax bombers in November 1942.

At the time Fabian and his crew mates reported for duty on July 15, 1943, the squadron was “in stand down” for a period of training. The novice airmen completed their maiden mission on the night of July 27/28 when their Halifax II bomber participated in a 14-aircraft raid on Hamburg, Germany. Fabian occupied the second gunner’s position in the aircraft. All planes returned safely to base, although “several sustained damage by flak.”

Two nights later, the crew participated in a second raid on Hamburg. On this occasion, the bomber’s pilot, Flight Sergeant J. M. Batterton, reported “one blinding flash seen immediately after bombing which lit up the whole surroundings.” Engine trouble forced one aircraft to return to base. The remaining 15 bombers successfully completed the mission without incident.

On the night of August 2/3, 15 aircraft once again departed for Hamburg, On this mission, poor weather conditions forced 11 crews to return to base before reaching the target. Three aircraft dropped their bombs on the German city, while one plane failed to return. Three days after his fourth operational mission—August 5, 1943—Fabian was officially promoted to the rank of Temporary Flight Sergeant.

Two weeks passed before Fabian’s crew returned to action. On the night of August 17/18, a fleet of 596 RAF bombers targeted Peenmunde, Germany, located on the Baltic coast. The mission was an attempt to destroy a secret location where Nazi scientists were developing “state of the art” rocket engines. A total of 17 aircraft from 419 Squadron participated in the massive raid.

The Halifax II bomber on which Fabian was second gunner departed from 419 Squadron’s base at 9:25 pm August 17. Also aboard the aircraft were pilot J. M. Batterton, navigator G. F. Parker, bomb aimer O. Jerome, wireless operator/air gunner D. A. Lloyd, flight engineer K. Dixon, and rear gunner Harold Urban Morris.

Fabian’s aircraft was one of three 419 Squadron bombers that failed to return following the mission. According to the unit’s operational records, “[its] last position… was when it was given a second class fix from Hull at 04.26 18/8/41 [at] position 53 [degrees] 57’ N 03 [degrees] 02’ E. Nothing further has been heard from it since that time.”

A later report indicated that the bomber was forced to ditch in the North Sea approximately 24 miles off the coast of Happisburgh, Norfolk, UK. Its circumstances at the time remain a mystery, as no trace of the seven crew members was ever found. On August 18, 1943, RCAF officials notified Rose Power by telegram that her son Fabian was officially “missing.”

Several months passed before the Power family received an update. On June 23, 1944, a second telegram informed Rose that Flight Sergeant Fabian Power was “now ‘presumed dead’ 18-Aug-43 for official purposes.” As none of the crew’s remains were recovered, their names were inscribed on the Air Forces Memorial later erected at Runnymede, UK, in memory of more than 20,000 British and Commonwealth air crew lost during the Second World War, all of whom have no known graves.

Fabian’s loss was the third tragedy to impact the Power family in less than a year. On November 27, 1942, Fabian’s father William Patrick died from injuries received when he was struck by a truck on Main St., Mulgrave, during a snow storm. He was 84 years old at the time of his death. Fabian’s older brother, Michael William, had enlisted for service with the merchant marine and was completing a training program at the Engineer Instructional School, Prescott, ON, when he was killed in a boiler explosion on June 4, 1943, only two and a half months prior to Fabian’s fatal fifth mission. Two other Power boys, John O’Neil and Samuel Sylvester, served during the Second World War and safely returned home.

Portrait of Fabian Power courtesy of his niece, Martina (MacDonald) Hatchette, Antigonish, NS. Special thanks to Dan Fougere, Havre Boucher, NS, who contributed valuable information on Fabian's Power ancestry.

Thursday, 4 August 2022

Flying Officer John Andrew "Jack" Diggins—Killed in Action July 13, 1943

 John Andrew “Jack” Diggins was born in Canso, Guysborough County, on January 12, 1912. Jack’s father, Walter Andrew Diggins, was a native of St. Francis Harbour, the son of William and Bridget (Power) Diggins. His mother, Sarah Elizabeth “Bessie,” was the daughter of Dan and Theresa (McNeil) Ryan, Canso.

Flying Officer John Andrew "Jack" Diggins

Walter and Bessie were married at Canso on January 29, 1907, after which the couple established residence in the fishing community. At the time of the 1911 Canadian census, the Diggins household included 30-year-old Walter, fisherman by occupation, his 24-year-old wife Bessie, and their children Theresa B., age two (DOB September 1908), and William D., age four months (DOB January 1911). A third child, daughter Viola M., was born in January 1910 but died in infancy.


During the following decade, four more children joined the Diggins family—John Andrew (January 12, 1912), Mary Agatha (February 19, 1913), Patrick (c. 1915) and Cecilia (c. 1917). Two other daughters died in infancy. Sarah Elizabeth, born February 25, 1914, died of bronchitis on July 30, 1915. Helena Ethel, born April 13, 1918, died of pneumonia on February 7, 1920.

The day before Helena Ethel’s death, Walter Diggins passed away at St. Martha’s Hospital, Antigonish. He suffered an injury to his hand in mid-January and was admitted to hospital with sepsis on January 28. Walter died of pneumonia on February 6, 1920, and was laid to rest in Canso. He was 40 years old at the time of his passing.

Her husband’s unexpected death left Bessie to care for six dependent children. At the time of the 1921 Canadian census, she was living in New Glasgow, her occupation listed as “washer woman.” Records list all six of her children—Theresa, William, John, Agatha, Patrick and Cecilia—as members of the household. Other documents, however, suggest that at least one of her children was residing elsewhere at the time.

Census records for the Mulgrave area list “John Diggins” as a “nephew” living in the household of Hibbert and Sarah Carr, Steep Creek. Sarah was an elder sister to Walter’s mother, Bridget Power, and thus a great-aunt to young Jack. Documents in his service file indicate that he spent his formative years in the Mulgrave area, during which time he developed a strong attachment to the Carr family.

On May 24, 1924, Jack’s mother Bessie married Frederick William Gerroir, a widowed native of Larry’s River and son of William George and Lillie (Pitts) Gerroir. The ceremony took place at St. Bee’s Rectory, Westville. The couple established residence in New Glasgow, where Fred and Bessie raised a family of five children. Three—Mary, Andrew and—were from Fred’s previous marriage, while Bessie gave birth to two daughters—Charlotte “Lottie” (Fennell) and Rita (Lewis}—from her second marriage.

Jack Diggins completed his elementary and secondary education school in Mulgrave, graduating from Grade XII in 1928. The following year, he completed a business course at Shaw Schools, Halifax. Employment prospects, however, were bleak as the effects of the Great Depression devastated the economy. From 1929 to 1934, Jack worked as a “labourer” at “odd jobs.” Finally, in 1934, he was hired as a “fireman” with Canadian National Railway’s Mulgrave operation.

 At the time, Mulgrave was a bustling hub for railway, vehicle and passenger traffic crossing the Canso Strait to and from Cape Breton. The island’s steel and coal industries produced valuable products for export to mainland markets, transported by rail car ferry to the mainland. A letter of recommendation in Jack’s military file, signed by William McMullen, Supervising Engineer, Ferry Services, SS Scotia, provides a brief description of Jack’s duties:

“[Jack] has been in the employ of the Canadian National Railways since November 21, 1934, as fireman, oiler and water tender, and for the last three years has been assisting the machinist, overhauling and repairing the main engines and auxiliaries on the [ferry] boat off service. During this time, I have always found Mr. Diggins sober, willing, a good workman, and very attentive to his various duties.”

Following Canada’s September 10, 1939 declaration of war on Germany, the Canso Strait quickly became a busy hub of military activity. Artillery batteries were established at Auld’s Cove and Sand Point to defend the entrances to the strategic body of water, and a military barracks was erected in Mulgrave. Soldiers from local militia units manned the batteries, defending the strategic location from enemy attack by water.

As he resided in the Strait area, one might expect Jack to be enticed into service with one of the local militia units. However, he chose a different path, applying for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) on January 18, 1941. Almost six months passed before he completed an interview at Halifax. The result was not only his acceptance as a “good Pilot prospect.” Jack’s age and maturity were likely a factor in the interviewer’s recommendation that he be considered for a commissioned rank.

On July 8, 1941, Jack attested with the RCAF at Halifax and commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class. He listed his great-aunt and foster-mother, Mrs. Sarah Margaret Carr, as his next of kin on his attestation form. While Jack was “taken on strength” at No. 1 Military District, Toronto, the same day, he did not commence training until September 14, 1941, when he reported to No. 5 Initial Training School (ITS), Belleville, ON.

Upon completing the initial phase of training, Jack was promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on November 7, 1941. The following day, he was assigned to No 6 Elementary Flight Training School (EFTS), Prince Albert, SK, for the first phase of pilot training. Unfortunately, his service file contains no details on his performance at the facility. The fact that he was transferred to Composite Training School, Trenton, ON, on December 10, 1941, suggests that he did not meet the requirements for the pilot stream.

After a three-week leave, Jack “re-mustered” as an “Air Observer” on December 31, 1941. Three days later, he reported to No. 10 Air Observer School (AOS), Chatham, NB, where he logged 77 hours’ flying time aboard an Anson aircraft, mainly in the role of Navigator. Instructors rated his performance as “above average” and described Jack as “conscientious and keen,” with “lots of backbone and perseverance.”

Jack’s performance in “armament” also impressed his supervisors: “This is a very conscientious observer [who] displayed excellent co-operation in the classroom.” Comments on his evaluation form describe Jack as “older and steadier than most observers. Keen to help others.” He placed fifth in a class of 20 cadets, achieving an average of 79 % in his course work. Jack earned an “above average’ rating and a recommendation for future consideration as an instructor.

On April 12, 1942, Jack was transferred to No. 6 Bombing & Gunnery School (BGS), Mountain View, ON, for the next phase of training. Over the next six weeks, he logged more than 37 hours aboard a Fairey Battle aircraft, placing ninth in a class of 26 cadets. While judged “average” in bombing, his gunnery skills were “quite good in all aspects.” Instructors described Jack’s overall performance as “thorough” and “reliable.”

Having earned his Air Observer’s badge, Jack was promoted to the rank of Temporary Sergeant on May 23, 1942. The following day, he was assigned to No. 1 Air Navigation School (ANS), Rivers, MB, for “advanced air observers” training. He logged more than 30 hours aboard an Anson aircraft while placing 8th in a class of 24 cadets. While instructors described his skills as “slightly above average,” they recommended that Jack be considered for instructor duties and an immediate commission.

On July 3 1942, Jack was promoted to the rank of Flying Officer. He placed 76th in a class of 277 cadets now considered ready for overseas service. After enjoying two weeks’ pre-embarkation leave, he reported to No. 31 General Reconnaissance School (GRS), Charlottetown, PE for a “navigation reconnaissance” course. Jack logged more than 23 hours as navigator aboard an Anson aircraft. Supervisors were impressed with his work ethic and concluded that “[w]ith experience he should prove himself to be a useful G. R. Observer.”

Jack was assigned to No. 1 “Y” Depot, Halifax, on August 16 and departed for overseas five days later. After arriving in the United Kingdom, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Recruitment Centre, Bournemouth, on September 2. At month’s end, Jack was assigned to No. 3 (Coastal) Operational Training Unit (OTU) for the final phase of his pre-service training.

OTUs prepared novice air crew for active duty by providing them with flight experience aboard the aircraft in which they would serve. No. 3 (Coastal) OTU was formed at Royal Air Force (RAF) Base Chivenor, on the north coast of Devon, England, in late November 1940. As its name suggests, its focus was the training of air crew for coastal surveillance, as opposed to bombing missions. Its aircraft, however, were capable of deploying weapons, specifically torpedoes that were delayed against enemy shipping, as well as bombs.

No. 3 OTU trained air crews aboard Bristol Beaufort, Avro Anson, Vickers Wellington and Armstrong Whitworth Whitley aircraft. In late July 1941, its Whitley and Wellington aircraft relocated to RAF Cranwell, while the Beaufort section remained at Chivenor, where it was re-designated No. 5 OTU.

Jack spent five months with No 3. OTU, training aboard a Vickers Wellington bomber. On January 3, 1943, he was officially promoted to the rank of Temporary Flight Officer. Two months later, he was assigned to No. 458 (Royal Australian Air Force) Squadron. Formed in Williamtown, New South Wales, Australia, in July 1941, the unit was officially established in the United Kingdom one month later. Throughout the war, 458 Squadron contained personnel from several countries—Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom—as well as its native Australia.

The unit commenced service in the European theatre in late October 1941, flying Vickers Wellington bombers. In late January 1942, 458 Squadron relocated to the Mediterranean theatre. Delays in the arrival of aircraft meant that it did not commence active operations until September 1942, when it re-formed at El Shallufa, north of Suez, Egypt.

The squadron conducted Maritime patrols, convoy escorts and mine-laying operations while operating Wellington bombers. During the first half of 1943, as Allied forces organized for a planned invasion of Sicily, the unit’s aircraft sank or damaged a number of enemy ships, including an Italian destroyer and cruiser.

No. 458 Squadron deployed its personnel in several locations throughout the Mediterranean theatre. One group operated at El Shallufa until March 1943—around the time of Jack’s transfer—when it relocated to Amiriyah, near Baghdad, Iraq. A second section was located at Luqa, Malta, while a third was based at Protville, Tunisia.

Jack was assigned to the Protville detachment and officially joined its ranks on March 11, 1943. Six days later, he flew his first mission as navigator aboard a Wellington, in search of enemy shipping along the Italian coast. Over the following six weeks, he participated in six more surveillance flights, several of which patrolled the area of Capo Gallo, near Palermo, Sicily.

On April 24, Jack participated in his first convoy escort mission. The following month, assignments focused on the Marsala docks at Trapani, Sicily, where Jack’s crew carried out three bombing missions before mid-month. On June 22, his aircraft conducted a “shipping strike” in the Tyrrhenian Sea, between the island of Sardinia and Italy. The crew reported “no enemy sightings. Weather good, with calm sea and good visibility.”

In July 1943, missions expanded to the Italian mainland. On July 11, the squadron dispatched six Wellingtons “on various anti-shipping searches between Corsica - Sardinia, Italy and Sicily, and round the west coast of Corsica and Sardinia.” A seventh plane containing Jack’s crew conducted an anti-shipping patrol over the Naples area. Its report indicated “no incident. Weather fair, sea moderate.” All aircraft safely returned to their Protville base.

On the night of July 12/13, 1943, ten of the Squadron’s Wellingtons “were engaged in shipping searches and strikes in the Tyrrhenian Seas and in the Straits between Corsica and Sardinia. All aircraft were airborne between 2025 hours and 2132 hours.” Patrol sightings during the day had reported two large vessels believed to be troop ships near the island of La Maddalena, located off the northeast coast of Sardinia. In response, six of the 10 aircraft were dispatched to carry out a night attack on the vessels.

Jack’s Wellington, piloted by Flying Officer William Charles Hailstone, Regina, SK, and two other planes were armed with torpedoes, while the remaining aircraft carried bombs. The unit’s operational records provided details on the mission’s outcome:

“Considerable shipping was noted in La Maddalena Harbour as a result of the thorough reconnaissance made by Col. Mackenzie at 100 ft.[,] in spite of considerable light and medium flak. No torpedo attack could be made, however, owing to the proximity of the ships to the islands and the mainland. The bomb carrying aircraft dropped their loads near the harbour and also the railway but no results were observed. Unfortunately the torpedo carrying aircraft of which F/O Hailstone was the Captain failed to return from this operation. A sighting report of vessels seen at La Maddalena was received from his aircraft but nothing further was heard from it…. The remaining five aircraft landed back at base by 0348 hours.”

Aboard the missing aircraft with F/O John Andrew Diggins and F/O Hailstone were Flight Sergeant Francis Gerald Crocker, RAF; Sergeant William Wallace Wright, Departure Bay, Vancouver Island, BC; Sergeant Howard Eldon Bradley, Moose Jaw, SK; Wireless Operator Donald Hyatt McConechy, Paddockwood, SK; F/O Kenneth John Neill, Campbelltown, South Australia; and Sergeant James Tindall, RAF.

A letter from the RCAF Overseas office to Sarah Carr, dated July 30, 1943, informed her that “your nephew, Flying Officer John Andrew Diggins, was reported missing as a result of air operations on the night of the 12/13 July 1943. Your nephew was Navigator of a Wellington aircraft, which took off on the above mentioned date on a shipping search strike against the enemy and failed to return.”

Over the ensuing months, there was no further information on the crew’s fate. A second letter to Sarah, dated June 30, 1944, stated that “your nephew, Flying Officer John Andrew Diggins, is now for official purposes presumed to have died on Active Service Overseas on July 13, 1943.” In mid-July, a telegram to Jack’s mother, Mrs. Frank Gerroir, New Glasgow, provided her with the same sad news.

Following the end of hostilities, military officials dispatched a set of Operational Wings and Certificate to Sarah in October 1946, “in recognition of the gallant services rendered by your nephew.” The final communication to family occurred in late September 1952, when an RCAF Casualties Officer informed Sarah that, “due to the lack of any information concerning [your nephew] since he was reported missing, it must be regretfully accepted and officially recorded that he does not have a ‘known’ grave.”

The letter also described plans to commemorate all missing air crew on “general memorials,” one of which “will be erected at Malta, and the name of your nephew will appear on that Memorial.” Jack’s name and those of his fellow crew members are among the 2,298 names engraved on the Malta Memorial, unveiled in 1954 in memory of Commonwealth air crew who lost their lives in the Mediterranean theatre and have no known graves.

Private Patrick Diggins (second from left)

Two of Jack’s brothers also served overseas during the Second World War. Jack’s older brother William Daniel “Bill” also enlisted for military service with the Canadian Army. Bill passed away at Stellarton, NS, in 1988. A younger brother, Patrick, enlisted with the North Nova Scotia Highlanders and served overseas with the unit. Upon returning home, Pat remained in uniform, serving with the Canadian Ordnance Corps, Windsor Park, Halifax. After leaving the military, he was employed by Health Canada (Food & Drug Division) and the Victoria General Hospital, Halifax. Pat passed away at Dartmouth on April 2, 2008.

Special thanks to Barry Diggins, Dartmouth, son of Jack's brother Patrick, who proofread the manuscript and provided photographs of Jack and Patrick Diggins.

Monday, 4 July 2022

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris "Burt" Jost, DFC—Killed in Action June 25, 1943

 Burton Norris “Burt” Jost was born on August 2, 1911, the son of Dr. Arthur Cranswick and Carrie Victoria “Tory” (Martin) Jost, Guysborough, NS. The Jost family traces its European roots to Johann Georg Jost, who was born at Strasbourg, Bas-Rhine, Alsace, France, in 1727. Johann immigrated to Nova Scotia in the early 1750s as part of a British initiative to attract “German Protestants” to counter-balance the colony’s predominantly Roman Catholic, Acadian population.

Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost
In 1753, Johann married Susanna Catherine Morash (1735 - 1811) at Halifax. The couple lived in Lunenburg for several years before returning to the capital, where they raised a family of eight sons and three daughters. Johann passed away there in 1775.


One of Johann and Susanna’s sons, John Casper Jost, was born at Halifax in 1763 and married Mary Catherine Hirtle/Hartel at Halifax in 1791. The couple raised a family of nine children. In the summer of 1822, John (1797 - 1883), one of John Casper and Mary Catherine’s sons, arrived in Guysborough with his cousin, William Moir. Both men were shoemakers by trade and had travelled to the area in search of work.

Impressed by the community’s business prospects, John returned the following year with a supply of mercantile goods, purchased in a silent partnership with his brother George. A third brother, Christopher Francis (1805 - 1884), accompanied John. Throughout the summer of 1823, the brothers sold their stock and purchased fish from local fishermen for sale in the Halifax market.

The brothers operated the seasonal business for several summers, initially in a space rented from local property owners. By 1827, the venture proved profitable enough to persuade John and Christopher to permanently relocate to Guysborough, where they purchased waterfront property on the village’s Main Street.

Christopher and John bought out George’s share of the business, built a store on the waterfront lot, and established a mercantile operation known as “J & C Jost.” The brothers remained partners until 1838, when Christopher purchased his sibling’s share of the business. “C. Jost” continued to operate in the original location, while John launched a new venture, known as “The British House,” only a few buildings away.

The year prior to purchasing his brother’s share, Christopher married Harriet Hart in a ceremony held in nearby Manchester. Over the ensuing years, seven children—five boys and two girls—joined the Jost household. Cranswick (1838 - 1927), the couple’s eldest son, entered the ministry and served congregations in several New Brunswick and Nova Scotia communities.

Two of Christopher and Harriet’s younger sons, Burton A. (1842 - 1916) and George Edward (1848 - 1939), eventually purchased the business from their father. Renamed “B & G Jost,” the business operated on a cash and barter basis, often exchanging goods for a wide variety of local products, such as butter, eggs, meat and fish.

Burton and George also owned and operated several vessels that engaged in the Grand Banks fishery and coastal trade. In 1890, the brothers built a four-storey structure to replace the original store. Tragically, the building was destroyed by fire in December 1927, only to be replaced by a more modest structure, owned and operated by Burton’s son, Christopher Arnaud Jost. The family name remained on the business until its sale in 1990.

Burton and George raised their families in houses located on the hill above Main Street. While George moved to Ottawa, ON, in his later years, Burton was a lifelong Guysborough resident. On April 27, 1869, he married Sarah Ann Mercy Norris, daughter of George—also a merchant—and Hannah Norris, Canso. The couple raised a family of 12 children—eight boys and four girls—three of whom died in childhood.

Arthur Cranswick Jost, Burton and Sarah’s fifth child and third son, was born on October 17, 1874. While his younger brother, Christopher Arnaud, eventually assumed operation of the family business, Arthur chose a different career path. After completing secondary school studies at age 15, he attended Acadia University, Wolfville, where he completed a Bachelor of Arts degree.

In the autumn of 1893, Arthur enrolled in the Medicine program of studies at Dalhousie University, Halifax. He subsequently transferred to McGill University, Montreal, QC, where he graduated with a medical degree. Dr. Jost then returned to Nova Scotia, practising medicine at Neil’s Harbour and Advocate before returning to Guysborough.

On July 23, 1906, Arthur married Carrie Victoria “Tory” Martin, daughter of Joseph and Henrietta Martin, Sand Point, in a ceremony held in Guysborough. The couple’s first child, Clyde, was born on September 18, 1907, but died three months later. A second son, Victor Arthur, was born on March 5, 1910. The couple’s youngest child, Burton Norris, joined the family on August 2, 1911.

While operating a medical practice in the Guysborough area, Arthur also served with the Canadian Corps of Guides. The organization was established in 1903 for the purpose of providing intelligence information to the Non-Permanent Active Militia, in the event of war on Canadian soil. A Company operated in each of the country’s 12 military districts and was responsible for providing information to its units. The detachment responsible for Military District No. 6 (Nova Scotia) established its headquarters in New Glasgow, NS.

At the time of the outbreak of war in Europe, Arthur had risen to the rank of “Officer Commanding” (OC), No. 6 Detachment, Corps of Guides. While his age and family obligations presented significant obstacles to active military service, he eventually enlisted with the Canadian Army Medical Corps (CAMC) at Halifax, NS, on March 6, 1916. At that time, a wave of recruitment campaigns were sweeping across the province as representatives of three infantry battalions canvassed rural communities, in search of personnel for the Nova Scotia Highland Brigade.

Almost 42 years old at the time of his enlistment, Arthur volunteered to serve as the 64th Battalion’s Medical Officer and received the commissioned rank of Major. The unit, recruited across the three Maritime Provinces, departed for overseas aboard SS Adriatic at the end of March 1916 and set foot in the United Kingdom on April 9.

When the 64th was dissolved several months later, Arthur was briefly assigned to the 40th Battalion (Halifax Rifles), which soon suffered the same fate as the 64th. Arthur’s age made service on the continent unlikely. As a result, he was transferred to the CAMC Training School, Cheriton Camp, Folkestone, Kent, England, on July 13, 1916.

Before month’s end, Arthur was “detailed for duty as Senior Medical Officer, 6th CTB [Canadian Training Battalion].” During his time at Cheriton Camp, he made a four-day trip to France in late September, probably to visit CAMC facilities in the Étaples area.

In late October, Arthur was posted to the office of the Assistant Director of Medical Services, London Area.  Initially “detailed for duty” at Seaford Camp, Arthur relocated to nearby Brighton on November 19 and assumed the position of ADMS [Assistant Director of Medical Service] Canada for the area. He served in that capacity until early January 1917, when he became ADMS at nearby Shoreham.

The Brighton-Seaford-Shoreham area was dotted with military camps that contained thousands of Canadian soldiers awaiting orders to cross the English Channel to the continent. In addition to providing personnel with routine medical services as required, the CAMC operated Medical Boards responsible for assessing the fitness of wounded or ill soldiers for combat.

As spring approached, unexpected events at home brought Arthur’s overseas service to an abrupt end. In early March 1917, his 43-year-old wife wife Tory suffered an embolism that resulted in paralysis. She passed away on March 25. Six days later, Arthur was granted leave to Canada and departed the United Kingdom aboard a troop transport on April 4. Before month’s end, he was “permitted to resign” his commission.

Arthur remained in Guysborough for six months, during which time his younger sister Bessie (1876 - 1970) agreed to care for his sons, Victor and Burton. On October 15, 1917, he re-enlisted with the CAMC and was appointed Assistant Director of Medical Services for Military District No. 7 (New Brunswick), Saint John, NB. Promoted to the rank of Temporary Lieutenant Colonel in late March 1918, Arthur supervised the provision of medical services to departing and returning soldiers. On August 1, 1919, he was formally discharged from military service and returned to Guysborough.

While Arthur was residing in Guysborough at the time of the 1921 Canadian census, his two sons were living nearby with their aunt Bessie. Arthur eventually relocated to Halifax, where he assumed the duties of public health officer for the province of Nova Scotia. In December 1928, he accepted a position as Executive Secretary, State Board of Health, for the state of Delaware, and established residence in Dover City, Delaware. Arthur became an American citizen in 1934. That same year, he married Mrs. Clara Delene “Dell” (Bastian) Reed in a ceremony that took place in Denton, Maryland, on July 30.

Arthur’s sons spent their formative years in Nova Scotia. Burt commenced his schooling at Guysborough Academy, where he completed Grades I to V. Following his father’s appointment as public health officer for Nova Scotia, Burt relocated to Halifax, where he attended the Morris St. School and went on to complete his high school education at Halifax County Academy. In the autumn of 1928, just prior to his father’s departure for the United States, Burt commenced post-secondary studies at Dalhousie University and graduated in the spring of 1931 with a Bachelor of Science and Diploma in Engineering.

On May 15, 1931, Burt and his brother Victor crossed the United States border by rail at Vanceboro, ME, on their way to visit their father. Six weeks later, Burt completed a Declaration of Intention at Dover, Delaware, stating that he intended to seek American citizenship. In the autumn of 1934, he commenced Mining Engineering studies at Pennsylvania State College, known today as Pennsylvania State University.

Burt had shown an interest in geology while attending Dalhousie University. During one of his summer breaks, he worked as an assistant with the Geological Survey of Canada. While attending Pennsylvania State College, he completed two work terms as an “assistant right of way engineer” with the Delaware State Highway Department. Burt graduated from Penn State College with a Bachelor of Science in Mining in the spring of 1934 and returned to Canada to pursue a career as a mining engineer.

In August 1934, Burt commenced work as a miner with Buffalo-Ankerite Gold Mines, Deloro Township, Timmons, Ontario. Two months later, he accepted a position as a mine engineer with nearby Marbuan Gold Mines. In May 1936, Burt was promoted to chief engineer and mine captain. After three years at the Marbuan operation, he returned to the Buffalo-Ankerite mine, which had purchased Marbuan in 1936.

Burton Norris Jost (civilian photograph)

A passage from a letter of recommendation in Burt’s RCAF service file described the scope and quality of his work at Marbuan and Buffalo-Ankerite:

“His duties are to shape the policy of the underground workings and also to supervise all employees underground…. Mr. Jost is recognized as one of the best mine captains in this district. He is very well liked by all the miners at the mine and is well regarded by the staff there…. He presents a good appearance at all times and has a very good personality. Mr. Jost lives at the property in company-provided quarters and he mixes with the best people in the district. He belongs to the best clubs and is active in local sports…. He is well recommended by his employer for any position of trust.”

On June 10, 1940, Burt applied for admission to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). The following day, he sat for an interview at Sudbury, ON. The interviewer noted that Burt was “well educated” and “”keen,” and rated him an “above average” candidate. Perhaps considering his age and educational background—Burt was almost 30 years old at the time—the interviewer judged him an excellent candidate for “Navigation Instructor.” A second assessment, dated four months later, mentioned the initial recommendation but commented that Burt had “no teaching experience.”

Burt formally enlisted with the RCAF at North Bay, ON, on December 20, 1940. He commenced service with the rank of Aircraftman 2nd Class and was placed in the “Pilot/Observer Standard” stream. At the time of his enlistment, he signed an “Air Crew Enlistment Agreement,” acknowledging that he would be called upon to perform “other than Air Crew duties” until such time as the RCAF “was in a position to commence” his training.

In mid-January 1941, Burt was assigned to No. 17 Flight Training School, Stanley, approximately 35 kilometers northeast of Windsor, NS. As the facility was still under construction—it did not open its doors to trainees until mid-March 1941—Burt was assigned to “guard duty” at the facility. On March 24, he commenced the first stage of flight instruction at No. 3 Initial Training School (ITS), Victoriaville, QC.

At the end of the three-and-a-half week program, Burt placed 17th in a class of 370 cadets and was recommended for the “Pilot” stream. An instructor observed that he was “quick on the trigger and has a mind of his own - should do well.” Promoted to the rank of Leading Aircraftman on April 20, Burt was assigned to No. 2 Elementary Flight Training School (EFTS), Fort William, ON, the following day.

Over the next two months, Burt logged more than 90 hours flying time in a Tiger Moth trainer, earning the highest possible pilot’s rating of “AA.” A comment on his assessment record described him as “a good steady pilot…. Keen and willing.” Burt’s ground training performance was also impressive—he placed 2nd in a class of 23 pilots and was described as possessing “exceptional ability.” Instructors recommended “bomber squadron training (twin engine),” as well as consideration for a commissioned rank.

On July 3, Burt report to No. 6 Service Flight Training School (SFTS), Dunville, ON. Once again, he logged more than 90 hours’ flying time—dual and solo, daytime and night-time—over the summer months. While his instructor rated Burt “an average pilot,” he noted that he was “above average in navigation. This pilot is very smooth on controls, will improve greatly with more time.”

Burt received an Officer’s Commission and promotion to the rank of Pilot Officer on September 13. the same day on which he received his Pilot’s Flying Badge. Two weeks later, he departed for overseas. Shortly after arriving in the United Kingdom, he reported to No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre, Bournemouth, on October 13 and was immediately assigned to No. 12 Operational Training Unit (OTU), Chipping Warden, Banbury, UK.

Formed in April 1940 to train light bomber air crew, No. 12 OTU was part of No. 1 Group, Royal Air Force (RAF) Bomber Command. OTUs offered air force personnel the first opportunity to train aboard the aircraft they would operate on active service. Burt’s new unit operated two-engine Fairey Battle I aircraft. OTUs also provided the first opportunity for establishment of air crews and their development into cohesive combat units.

Burt spent three months with No 12 OTU, honing is pilot skills. On January 25, 1942, he was assigned to No. 419 Squadron. Formed at Mildenhall in mid-December 1941, the unit became known as the “Moose” Squadron, after the nickname of its first Wing Commander, John “Moose” Fulton.  The unit initially operated two-engine Wellington bombers, but later converted to Halifax (November 1942) and Lancaster (March 1944) aircraft.

On February 16, 1942, Burt flew his first mission with 419 Squadron as “2nd pilot” aboard a Wellington bomber. The aircraft set off on “a nickel raid”—dropping leaflets over Lille, France—but “had to land shortly after taking off as the inter-com failed.” Two nights later, the same crew completed a successful “nickel raid” over the French city.

On February 23, the Squadron became “non-operational” as personnel “commenced intensive training for conversion to Mark III’s, the latest Wellington model to enter combat service. Burt’s missions resumed in early April, at which time he completed seven flights as 2nd pilot in a Wellington piloted by the Squadron Leader. On one occasion, the starboard side of the fuselage was “hit by heavy flak,” but the aircraft safely returned to base.

Burt piloted his first mission on May 17, flying a Wellington bomber on a planned raid on Boulogne, France. Unfortunately, heavy cloud cover meant that the aircraft was not able to drop its bombs. His crew carried out a successful second mission—a bombing raid on the German city of Cologne—in late May.

During June and July 1942, Burt and his crew completed 17 missions without serious incident. While the vast majority were bombing raids on German cities, the air crew also carried out several “gardening” operations, planting “vegetables”—mines—along the approaches to several ports. Burt’s record was quite remarkable, considering the perils involved—the aircraft he piloted suffered no damage during any of its summer missions.

Flt. Lt. Jost (2nd from right) meets King George VI (2nd from left)—June 12, 1942

Over the next two months, Burt logged only two additional missions—August 6 and September 1—as he completed his “operational tour.” Altogether, he logged a total of 31 missions over a six-month span. As a result, Burt was “struck off strength” on September 22 and assigned to No. 22 OTU, Wellesbourne Mountford, Warwickshire, where he used his flying expertise and combat experience to instruct trainees in the operation of Wellington bombers.

On November 2, 1942, Flight Lieutenant Burton Jost was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross, in recognition of the “courage and determination [displayed] in his operational sorties against the enemy….[W]hile acting as flight commander, [he] has set an inspiring example to those subordinate to him.”

Burt served as an instructor with No. 22 OTU throughout the winter of 1942 - 43, enjoying 10 days of personal leave in mid-March 1943. At some point after returning to duty, he volunteered for a second operational tour. On May 21, Burt was assigned to No. 1659 Heavy Conversion Unit, Topcliffe, Yorkshire, which trained air crew in the operation of four-engine Halifax and Lancaster bombers. He spent three weeks with the unit before returning to No. 419 Squadron on June 12.

One week later, Burt flew his first mission as pilot of a Halifax II aircraft—a successful bombing raid on the Schneider Works, an iron and steel mill located at Le Creusot, France. Two days later, his crew completed a successful mission over Krefeld, near Düsseldorf, Germany. It appeared that Burt’s second operational tour was off to a successful start.

At 10:40 pm June 24, 1943, Burt and his crew departed from No. 419 Squadron’s base at Middle St. George aboard Halifax JD147 on their third mission since Burt’s return. The bomber was one of 16 aircraft assigned to a 600-plane bombing raid on Wuppertal, approximately 35 kilometres east of Düsseldorf, Germany. Aboard the aircraft with Burt was Sergeant Ernest Bailey Pope, RAF, navigator; Flight Sergeant Ashley William Bruce, Royal New Zealand Air Force, bomb aimer; Flight Officer Robert Oscar Goodwin, Niagara Falls, ON, wireless operator/air gunner; Sergeant Julius Bjorn Johnson, Kirkland Lake, ON, flight engineer; Flight Sergeant Lesley Barker, RAF, second gunner; and Sergeant Robert Edward Austin, RAF, rear gunner.

While the 600 bombers shared a common target, the aircraft travelled in small groups and followed different routes to avoid detection. Based on information later provided by surviving crew members and civilian witnesses on the ground, a narrative of the eventful flight was later assembled.

As Halifax JD147 crossed Belgian air space and headed northeastward toward the border with the Netherlands, a German Luftwaffe Messerschmitt Bf 110 night fighter, piloted by Obw. Reinhard Kollak, made contact with the aircraft north of Maastricht, Netherlands. Kollak opened fire on the plane, his first volley missing its target. Managing to avoid return fire from tail gunner Austin, the German pilot brought his aircraft around and below the bomber for a second round of gunfire.

Shells from Kollak’s cannon struck the bomber’s starboard wing, causing its outer engine to burst into flames. The fire quickly spread to the wing, prompting Burt to put the plane into a nose dive in an attempt to extinguish the flames. The maneuver proved unsuccessful and the fire quickly spread to the aircraft’s fuselage. As the incident unfolded, the bomber crossed into Dutch air space.

Realizing that the aircraft was disintegrating, Burt gave orders to jettison its bombs and instructed the crew to exit the plane. He and Sgt. Johnson wrestled with the controls, attempting to maintain an altitude and level flight path to allow the crew to safely evacuate. Bomb aimer Sgt. Bruce jumped out of the burning fuselage near Maastricht, while rear gunner Sgt. Austin left the plane near Leropperweg. As the bomber continued its descent, navigator Sgt. Pope and second gunner Flight Sgt. Barker jumped out.

From his vantage point in the cockpit, Burt could see that the aircraft was heading toward a settled area—the town of Roermond. He fired several flares in a desperate search for open ground where he could make a crash landing. By this time, only three crew members remained on board—Burt, flight engineer Sgt. Johnson and bomb aimer Flight Officer Goodwin. The aircraft was flying at a low altitude, heading directly for the town.

At a height of approximately 900 feet, Goodwin made his way out of the burning plane. Burt and Sgt. Johnson, however, remained aboard, managing to steer the aircraft away from Roermond as it disintegrated in the air. What remained of the bomber struck the ground in a field known locally as Hammer Feld, located between the village of Herten and Roermond. Local firefighters located the separated cockpit section and, after extinguishing the flames, recovered Burt’s and Johnson’s remains.

German soldiers on the ground eventually located and detained Flight Sgt. Bruce, Sgt. Austin, Sgt. Pope and Flight Sgt. Barker. Flight Officer Goodwin’s parachute failed to properly deploy and he was severely injured when he struck the ground. While local residents later recounted hearing his cries for help, he was not located that evening. His remains were found several weeks after the crash, as German authorities removed debris from the site.

At the time of the crash in the early hours of June 25, 1943, the fate of Halifax JD147 was a mystery. No 419 Squadron’s operational record noted that the bomber was one of three aircraft that failed to return to base. Until further details on the crew’s fate surfaced, for official purposes the crew was considered to be “missing.”

On June 30, No. 419 Squadron wrote to Dr. Jost, informing him that Burt was “missing” after an operation on the night of June 24, 1943:

“He was Captain of an aircraft detailed to attack a target in Germany on that night and unfortunately has been unreported since take-off, and I am afraid his loss can only be through enemy action. There is, of course the possibility that he may be a prisoner of war, but news of this could not be expected for some time yet. Burt as you know finished his first tour of operations with us and after a period of rest at a Conversion Unit came back to his old Squadron as Flight Commander of ‘A’ Flight. I had recommended him for Squadron Leader rank…. Your son and I were old and fast friends and I can assure you that I had great respect for his ability as a pilot and Captain of aircraft as well as for his many fine qualities. His happy carefree manner was a real tonic to all who came in contact with him and his knowledge of Bomber tactics was a great assistance to the newer lads on the Squadron. The news of his being missing has certainly thrown quite a cloud over his flight and the Squadron as a whole.”

The news of Burt’s fate reached Arthur at a difficult time. Only days earlier—June 19, 1943—his second wife Dell had passed away at Dover, Delaware. The two incidents may have persuaded Arthur to return to his roots. A note in Burt’s service file, dated December 8, 1943, noted a change in Dr. Jost’s address to Guysborough, NS.

As the months passed, RCAF officials gradually began to assemble information on the fate of Halifax JD147’s crew members. Flight Sgt. Bruce and Flight Sgt. Barker were transported to Stalag Luft L6, Heydekrug, Lithuania, while Sgt. Pope and Sgt. Austin were detained at Stalag 357, near Fallingbostel, Germany. The fate of Flight Lieutenant Jost, Sgt. Johnson and Flight Officer Goodwin, however, remained a mystery.

A statement from Flight Sgt. Barker, obtained on May 7, 1944, through Red Cross channels, indicated that both Sgt. Johnson and Lt. Jost were aboard the aircraft when it crashed. Barker stated: “I don’t know whether they were killed or wounded. I was unconscious for 10 days in a Dutch hospital and don’t remember what happened.”

A second statement, obtained from Sgt. Pope on May 15, 1944, corroborated Flight Sgt. Barker’s recollections:

“Our machine was attacked by enemy fire and set on fire. None of the crew were hit by gun fire. After a futile attempt to put the fire out F/Lt. Jost gave the orders to bale out, which were received by all members as far as I know. The plane was still flying at good altitude in an easterly direction, and F/Lt. Jost was still at his post when I baled out. I was second out of the plane which was by then a mass of flames.”

Sgt. Pope also recalled that the incident occurred near Venlo, Netherlands, which proved to be an important piece of information.

Following the end of hostilities in Europe in May 1945, the search for missing RCAF crew members intensified. RCAF investigators spread out across France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany, gathering information on lost aircraft and attempting to locate missing airmen.

Through a family connection, Dr. Jost was able to do some detective work on his own, in hopes of locating his missing son. On August 3, 1945, RCAF officials in Canada forwarded correspondence they had received from Arthur to the Canadian Casualty Branch, London, England. An excerpt from the letter contained specific information about the crash of Burt’s aircraft:

“Two bodies were found in the wreckage of the plane at once. The person first on the scene was C. Van Dyck, a Dutch Police Constable… One injured man, Sgt. Barker, was then found, he being an RAF man. The body of the third airman [Goodwin] was not found for several weeks when the wreckage of the plane was being removed. The first two bodies are in a cemetery, one marked the grave of an unknown RCAF airman, the other as the grave of an unknown RAF airman. This is an error as it is known that all the RAF men were accounted for otherwise. I have other addresses, the Hospital, the address of the physician who looked after Barker, etc. Just now the locality where the third body was buried is not yet known. And I believe that it is yet impossible to identify the individual graves. I still think it is damnably little to your credit that you are only now commencing to trace your missing men.”

An additional letter in Burt’s file, dated September 14, 1945, noted that four of Halifax JD147’s crew—former prisoners of war—were now safely in the United Kingdom. Flight Officer Goodwin’s grave had been located in a Roermond cemetery. The two remaining crew members—Flight Lieutenant B. N. Jost and Sgt. J. R. Johnson—were presumed to have been killed in the crash but the whereabouts of their graves was unknown. The letter concluded with a recommendation that “an investigation be carried out in the vicinity of Venlo in an effort to find out if the above noted officer and airman are buried there.”

The information led investigators to a cemetery in Venlo, where the two unidentified bodies from the June 25, 1943 crash had been buried. The remains, identified as Flight Lieutenant Burton Norris Jost and Sergeant J. R. Johnson, were initially re-interred in Venlo Military Cemetery. As time passed, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission decided to consolidate the remains of soldiers and airmen buried in small cemeteries into larger military cemeteries. On October 2, 1947, Burt and his crew mate were re-interred in Jonkerbosch British Cemetery, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

During the years following the war, the residents of Roermond did not forget Halifax JD147’s crash landing in a nearby field. Determined to preserve the memory of the two crew members who remained aboard until impact, thus sacrificing their lives, the town named a local street “Burton Jostweg” in honour of the Canadian pilot who steered the burning aircraft clear of its boundaries. A plaque bearing the names of Flight Lieutenant Jost and Sergeant Johnson was also erected at the crash site. In Canada, a lake in the Northwest Territories was named “Jost Lake” in memory of Burt.

Burton Jostweg, Roermond, Netherlands (Google Maps street view)

Dr. Jost spent his final years in Guysborough. During that time, he researched and wrote several articles on local history and gathered genealogical information, all of which was compiled into a volume, Guysborough Sketches and Essays, published in 1950. Dr. Jost also provided funds for the establishment of the Burton Norris Jost Scholarship, awarded to a graduate of Guysborough Academy—now Guysborough High School. The scholarship is still awarded annually.

Dr. Arthur Cranswick Jost passed away on March 24, 1958, at the Nova Scotia Hospital, Dartmouth, where he had been a patient for seven and a half months. He was laid to rest in Guysborough, NS.

Arthur’s older son Victor became an American citizen on June 21, 1937, and later went to work as a draftsman with the Delaware State Highway Department’s engineering corps. He enlisted in the United States Army on February 27, 1942, and was stationed at Headquarters, 44 Division Army, Tacoma, Washington, at the time of his brother Burt’s death.

Victor served overseas as a T/4 [Technician 4th Grade] Sergeant with the 44th Division. Upon arriving home, Victor returned to his previous position with the Delaware State Highway Department. On June 3, 1950, Victor married Lillian R. Clarke, a native of Ohio. The couple had no children. Lillian passed away at Dover, Delaware, on May 15, 1972, while Victor died at Ocean City, Worcester, Maryland, on March 30, 1989. He was laid to rest in Odd Fellows Cemetery, Camden, Kent, Delaware, beside his wife Lillian.

Information on the Jost family’s arrival in Guysborough and the operation of the family business obtained from two sources: a) John N. Grant’s “Historic Guysborough—Images of Our Past” and Christopher Cook’s “Along the Streets of Guysborough,” Second Edition.